

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: February 23, 2021

- By: Leslie Porter, Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

TRUST FOR CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Trust for Cultural Development Board subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Sean Andries of Tigard, New Appointment Bereniece Jones-Centeno of Astoria, Reappointment Myong-Hui Murphy of Aloha, New Appointment

Term

Andries: March 15, 2021 – October 31, 2023 Jones-Centeno: November 1, 2020 – October 31, 2024 Murphy: March 15, 2021 – October 31, 2024

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 359.410 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The board consists of 11 members appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the Senate (**ANDRIES**, DOWNES-LE GUIN, JOHNSON, **JONES-CENTENO**, KRAMER, MORALES, **MURPHY**, PRICE, SAMS, VAN DYKE, YAMASAKI).⁴ The membership of the board must reflect the geographical and cultural diversity of the state. Each member must have a background that demonstrates a commitment to Oregon's culture.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate must each appoint a member of the Legislative Assembly to be a nonvoting advisory member of the board (VACANT, HANSELL).

¹ See Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 (2019), ORS 171.565 (2019).

² See ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ See ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 394.410 (2019).

Members serve four-year terms at the pleasure of the appointing authority. The board must elect one of its voting members as chairperson and another as vice chairperson. Their terms and duties and powers are determined by the board. The board must meet at least once every three months.⁵ A majority of members constitutes a quorum for the transaction of business.

Duties and Authority

The board oversees management of the Trust for Cultural Development Account and provides direction to the Administrator of the Arts Program for the coordination, administration, and evaluation of grant programs and the use of funds received by core partner agencies.⁶

The board acts as the custodian of any property accepted by the board and holds the property as trustee for the state.⁷

The board may:⁸

- adopt rules necessary to administer the Trust for Cultural Development;
- solicit and accept gifts, bequests or devises of money, securities, or other property of any kind; and
- sell or exchange any property accepted as a gift, bequest or devise as the board determines appropriate.

⁵ ORS 359.413 (2019).

⁶ ORS 359.416 (2019).

⁷ ORS 359.423 (2019). ⁸ ORS 359.416 to 359.423 (2019).

Trust for Cultural Development Board Agency: Consumer & Business Services Authorization: ORS 359.410 Members: Min: 13 Max: 13 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Arts and Culture Board Contact: Brian Rogers 775 Summer Street NE, Suite 200 Salem, OR 97301-1280 503-986-0082 brian.rogers@oregon.gov aili.schreiner@oregon.gov
urrent Appointments: Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	
Sean P Andries Term(s): 03-01-2021 - 10-31-2023	Position Number: 2
Margaret Doherty, Rep House of Representatives; Non-voting Term(s):	Position Number: 7
Theo Downes-Le Guin	Position Number: 8
Term(s): 11-17-2017 - 10-31-2021	
John F Goodwin Term(s): 11-01-2016 - 10-31-2020 11-01-2012 - 10-31-2016	Position Number: 9
Bill Hansell Senate President's Appointment Term(s):	Position Number: 6
Nathalie G Johnson Term(s): 11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021 03-01-2014 - 10-31-2017	Position Number: 11
Bereniece Jones-Centeno Term(s): 11-01-2020 - 10-31-2024 12-19-2016 - 10-31-2020	Position Number: 10
Bereniece Jones-Centeno Term(s): 11-01-2020 - 10-31-2024 12-19-2016 - 10-31-2020	Position Number: 10

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Frust for Cultural Development Board Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)		Policy Area: Arts and Culture	Policy Area: Arts and Culture	
George Kramer				
Term(s):	11-17-2017 - 10-31-2021	Position Number: 1		
Gustavo M	orales			
Term(s):	11-01-2019 - 10-31-2023 02-17-2016 - 10-31-2019	Position Number: 12		
Myong-Hui B Murphy				
Term(s):	03-01-2021 - 10-31-2024	Position Number: 9		
Niki Price				
Term(s):	11-01-2019 - 10-31-2023 02-17-2016 - 10-31-2019	Position Number: 13		
Chuck Sams, III				
Term(s):	11-01-2018 - 10-31-2022 12-12-2014 - 10-31-2018	Position Number: 4		
Chris Van Dyke				
Term(s):	11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021 11-22-2013 - 10-31-2017	Position Number: 5		
Gayle S Yamasaki		Desition Number 2		
Term(s):	11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021 12-12-2014 - 10-31-2017	Position Number: 3		