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Measure Description: 
Requires police officers to be trained in airway and circulatory anatomy and physiology and certified in 
cardiopulmonary resuscitation. 
 
Government Unit(s) Affected:  
Cities, Oregon Judicial Department (OJD), Oregon State Police (OSP), Counties, School Districts, Oregon Health 
Sciences University (OHSU), Oregon State Lottery, Office of the Governor, Department of Justice (DOJ), Oregon 
Liquor Control Commission (OLCC), Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Higher Education Coordinating 
Commission (HECC), Public Universities, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) 
 
Summary of Fiscal Impact: 
Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action - See analysis. 
 
Analysis: 
HB 2513 requires the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) to provide airway anatomy and 
physiology education as well as cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training to officers as part of basic police 
certificate training. The measure creates continuing education and CPR certification requirements for police 
officers and requires officers to call for emergency medical services within sixty seconds of encountering a 
restrained person suffering from respiratory or cardiac compromise if it is tactically feasible and the officer has 
access to communications.  
 
Current administrative rule requires all public safety agency officers have valid first aid and CPR certifications and 
maintain these certifications throughout their employment in public safety. DPSST keeps a record of officers’ 
certifications and expiration. 
 
Oregon State Police (OSP) 
Oregon State Police anticipate a minimal fiscal impact from this measure due to the increased frequency of CPR 
training. If these additional costs could not be absorbed within current resources, the agency anticipates that it 
would request additional funding from the Emergency Board or during a Legislative session.  
 
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) 
This measure does not specify whether the additional hours of training in airways and circulatory anatomy and 
physiology must be part of DPSST’s 640-hour Basic Police Course. If the 3-hour training is in addition to the 
existing 640-hour training, there would be a fiscal impact on DPSST by requiring an additional day of meals and 
lodging for students, and compensation for instructors providing the training. DPSST estimates these costs to be 
$91,823 per biennium from Other Funds.  
 
If the training required by this measure replaces 3 of the hours of the existing Basic Police Course, the fiscal 
impact on DPSST would be limited. However, the training requirements may be transferred to another agency.  
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Finally, this measure does not specify which entity would be responsible for developing the curriculum for the 
training. If this responsibility falls to DPSST, the agency reasonably anticipates additional staff needs to develop 
and deliver the curriculum, necessarily incurring some cost.  
 
 
Department of Justice 
The Department of Justice anticipates a minimal fiscal impact for training agents, which the agency should be 
able to absorb. 
 
The Oregon State Lottery, Office of the Governor, Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC), Department of 
Administrative Services (DAS), Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), Public Universities do not 
anticipate a fiscal impact from this measure. 
 
Cities, Counties 
Both cities and counties anticipate a fiscal impact around the requirement to provide additional training for their 
law enforcement officers. At roughly 3 hours of training per officer, the costs to cities is estimated to be $409,500 
and $185,063 to counties to complete the required training. 
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