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Solar Property Tax Exemption

* Property Tax in Oregon is an ad-valorem tax
* PiLoT exempts property tax and imposes a fee
* SB 154 Extends sunset to Jan 2, 2028
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2.047 SOLAR PROJECTS

Oregon Statute: Note 3 following 307.175
Sunset Date: 01-01-2022 (for new agreements)
Year Enacted: 2015

2019-20 Estimated Reduction in the Taxable Assessed Value: $196 million

Loss Shift
2019-21 Revenue Impact: $6,800,000 $1,200,000
2021-23 Revenue Impact: $14.,700,000 $2,700,000

Department of

R eve n U e DESCRIPTION: Property constituting a solar project located in an unincorporated county area is
exempt from property taxes when an agreement has been made between the
governing body of the county and the owner of the solar project. A portion of the
solar project may be located within the boundaries of an incorporated city, however
in that case, the governing body of the city must also be a party to the agreement. A
fee in lieu of property taxes is required as part of the agreement.

NOTE: The revenue impact estimate includes the effect of the sunset.

Tax Expenditure Report

The agreement is limited to 20 consecutive years. The last day an agreement can be
made is January 1, 2022.

If the owner of the solar project fails to pay the fee in lieu of property taxes by the
prescribed date, the property does not receive an exemption the following property
tax year. If the owner pays the delinquent fee plus interest within a year, the property
can resume the exemption for the subsequent property tax year. However, if the
owner fails to pay the fee in lieu of property taxes for more than one year, the
property is disqualified from receiving this exemption from property taxes.

Legislation in 2019 (SB 769) changed the administrative process for counties doing
the billing, collection, and distribution of the fee in lieu of property taxes, to integrate
it into the existing property tax system.
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The End
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