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The mission of  the Board of  

Licensed Social Workers is to 

“protect the citizens of  

Oregon through the 

licensing and regulation of  

social workers.”



Total Licensed Social Workers 

• Registered Baccalaureate Social Worker – RBSW

• ~40 RBSW licensees

• Licensed Master Social Worker – LMSW

• ~320 LMSW licensees

• Clinical Social Worker Associate – CSWA

• ~1450 CSWA licensees

• Licensed Clinical Social Worker – LCSW

• ~5200 LCSW licensees



Social Work Licensing Requirements

• Education

• Master of  Social Work or Bachelor of  Social Work degree 

from a Council of  Social Work Education accredited school

• Experience 

• For clinical licenses, a period of  supervised employment

• Passing score on national exam

• Safety

• Background check



Two mandatory and two optional 

licenses

• CSWA or LCSW 
required to practice 
clinical social work in 
Oregon

• Either license gives 
licensee the authority to 
use the professional title 
“Social Worker”

• RBSW and LMSW are 
optional, but do not 
give the licensee the 
ability to practice 
clinical social work.

• Either license gives the 
licensee the authority to 
use the professional title 
“Social Worker”



Licensing Process – Application 

Requirements

1) A Master of  Social Work degree (CSWA, LMSW, LCSW) or 

Bachelor of  Social Work degree (RBSW)

2) Passing score on appropriate national exam

3) Passing score on the BLSW Rules and Laws exam

4) For CSWA, an approved plan of  supervision or a completed 

plan of  supervision

5) Background check

6) Fees



Plan of  Supervision - Approval

• Approved supervisor – must have clinical license, at 
least 2 years experience, recent Oregon rules/laws 
exam and specific supervision training

• Appropriate work site – must occur at an “agency”

• Regular supervision meetings – must occur at least 2 
times per month, each meeting for at least an hour 

• Regular status reporting – status reports must be 
submitted every six months 



Plan of  Supervision - Completion

• CSWA must work under an approved Plan of  
Supervision for at least 2 years

• CSWA must accrue at least 3500 work experience 
hours that are social work-related

• Of  the 3500 total work experience hours, at least 
2000 must be “direct client” clinical social work

• CSWA must accrue at least 100 hours meeting with 
the supervisor



National Examination – Administered by 

Association of  Social Work Boards (ASWB)

• RBSW must pass Association of  Social Work Boards 

(ASWB) Bachelor-level exam

• LMSW must pass ASWB Master-level exam

• LCSW must pass ASWB Clinical-level exam

• CSWA must work under an approved plan for at least 

2 years (ASWB requirement) and have completed at 

least 75 hours of  the required 100 hours supervision 

meetings to be approved to take the LCSW exam



Initial License and Renewal Fees

• RBSW Initial License - $150 for two years

• Renewal $110 for two years

• LMSW Initial License - $200 for two years

• Renewal $220 for two years

• CSWA Initial License - $260 for one year

• Renewal $66 for one year

• LCSW Initial License - $460 for two years

• Renewal $286 for two years



Contact the Board of  

Licensed Social 

Workers

It is the duty of  

government to make 

it difficult for people 

to do wrong, easy to 

do right.

William E. Gladstone

Email:

Oregon.blsw@Oregon.gov

Randy.harnisch@Oregon.gov

Phone:

(503) 378-5735 or (503) 373-1163

Website:

www.oregon.gov/BLSW/Pages/index.aspx
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