

# **M**EMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: January 15, 2020 By: Tyler Larson, Analyst

Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

#### **OREGON BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT BOARD**

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Business Development Board subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

## **Appointees**

Raymond Cheung of Portland; New Appointment

#### Term

March 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021

## **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 285A.040

#### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Required

## Statutory Requirements<sup>3</sup>

The Board consists of nine members.<sup>4</sup> Seven members are appointed by the Governor. Subject to Senate approval, the Governor appoints one of the voting commissioners as presiding officer of the commission (GOPALPUR, D). Not more than five members may belong to one political party.

At least one member must be a resident of the area east of the Cascade Range (INSKO, R).

Consideration must be given to the following areas of expertise or training (**CHEUNG, NA**; GOMEZ, R; HAYES, D; LAM, D; LEAVITT, R):

- International trade:
- Traded sector business development;
- Small business development;
- Local economic development;
- Finance and business development;
- Innovation; or,

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> See Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562, ORS 171.565.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See ORS 244.050.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See ORS 182.100 for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 for diversity criteria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 285.040.

Other areas of training or expertise identified by the Governor.

One member with expertise or training in local development must also be an elected local government official with experience in economic development (MINTY MORRIS, R).

The President of the Senate appoints one nonvoting member of the Senate to a four year term (JOHNSON, D).

The Speaker of the House appoints one nonvoting member of the House to a two year term (BYNUM, D).

Members serve four year terms. Gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor and may be reappointed.

## **Duties and Authority**

The commission:5

- Must develop and maintain the economic development policy and strategy for the state;
- Must provide oversight and direction to the Oregon Business Development Department in carrying out the economic development policies and strategy established by the commission;
- Must keep complete and accurate records of all the meetings, transactions and business of the commission:
- May delegate power, duties, or functions to designated department officers, agents, employees or committee members;
- Must coordinate its activities with federal, state and local agencies, community partners and regions;
- May prepare and submit suggested administrative rules to the Director of the Oregon Business Development Department that the commission determines are necessary for the objectives and programs of the department;
- Must report biennially to the Governor and the Legislative Assembly on the success of economic development efforts;
- Must make specified findings prior to the approval of bond financing or economic development projects; and,
- May establish advisory and technical committees as it considers necessary to aid and advise the commission in the performance of its duties.

February 26, 2020 Page | 2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 285A.045-060.

#### **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

#### **Business Development Commission, Oregon**

Agency: Economic Development

Authorization: ORS 285A.040 Members: Min: 9 Max: 9

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes Policy Area: Jobs/Economy

**Board Contact:** Gina Wiedrick

Business Development Department 121 SW Salmon Street, Ste #205

Portland, OR 97204 503-229-5009 Fax: 503-986-0256 gina.wiedrick@oregon.gov

#### **Current Appointments:**

#### Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Janelle Bynum

House of Represenatives; Non-voting

Term(s):

Raymond C Cheung

Not a member of a party

Term(s): 03-01-2020 - 06-30-2021

Position Number: 4

Position Number: 9

Position Number: 6

Jessica L Gomez

Republican

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023

07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019

Chandrakanth C Gopalpur, Chair

Democrat

Term(s): 07-01-2017 - 06-30-2021

02-17-2016 - 06-30-2017

Position Number: 3

Paula J Hayes

Democrat Position Number: 2

Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 06-30-2020

Thomas A Insko

Republican Position Number: 1

Term(s): 07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022

Betsy Johnson, Senator

Senate President's Appointment; Non-voting Ex-Officio Position Number: 7

Term(s): 01-24-2013 - 01-23-2017

09-18-2007 - 09-17-2011

Katherine Lam

Democrat Position Number: 4

Term(s): 11-17-2017 - 06-30-2021

Printed Date: 1/12/2020 Page 1 of 2

## **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

Policy Area: Jobs/Economy

# **Business Development Commission, Oregon**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Keith A Leavitt

Republican Position Number: 8

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023

07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019

Kelley M Minty Morris

Republican Position Number: 5

Term(s): 09-25-2017 - 06-30-2021

Printed Date: 1/12/2020 Page 2 of 2