

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: January 15, 2020 By: Tyler Larson, Analyst

Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

ALCOHOL DRUG AND POLICY COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Nathan Gaoiran of Medford; Reappointment Morgan Godvin of Portland; New Appointment

Term

Gaoiran: February 17, 2020 – February 16, 2024 Godvin: February 14, 2020 – February 28, 2022

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 430.241

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

No more than 17 members appointed, as the Governor deems practicable, to ensure representation from stakeholders directly impacted by the work of the commission.⁴

At least 75 percent of the members appointed must be representatives of the following public health and health care stakeholder groups:

- County commissioners, managers, and administrators (DOHERTY);
- Indian tribes (CRUZ);
- Providers of addiction prevention and recovery services (ANDERSON, CANODE, HOLTON, JORDAN);
- Alcohol or drug treatment researchers or epidemiologists (NISSEN, WADDELL);
- The health insurance industry or hospitals;
- Consumer of addiction recovery services who are in recovery and the family members of consumers (GODVIN, SHAFFER, WEINHOLD);

³ See ORS 182.100 for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 for diversity criteria.

¹ See Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562, ORS 171.565.

² See ORS 244.050.

⁴ ORS 430.241. Amended by House Bill 2638 (2019).

- Experts in addiction medicine;
- Entities that provide housing to individuals who are in recovery (MAZZIOTTI); and,
- Social service providers.

Up to 25 percent of the members appointed must be representatives of one or more of the following stakeholder groups:

- District attorneys (CLARKSON);
- County sheriffs (GARRETT);
- Chiefs of police;
- Criminal defense attorneys (GRIFFIN); and,
- County community corrections agencies (GAOIRAN).

The President of the Senate appoints one nonvoting member of the Senate (MONNES ANDERSON).

The Speaker of the House appoints one nonvoting member of the House of Representatives (SOLLMAN).

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court appoints one nonvoting judge of the circuit court (BLOCH).

Members serve four year terms. The Governor appoints a Director and all gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Non-legislative members are entitled to per diem.

Duties and Authority

The Alcohol Drug and Policy Commission must develop, review, and update a comprehensive addiction, prevention, treatment and recovery plan for this state which must include, but is not limited to, recommendations regarding:⁵

- Capacity, type and utilization of programs;
- Methods to assess the effectiveness and performance of programs;
- The best use of existing programs;
- Budget policy priorities for participating state agencies;
- Standards for licensing programs;
- Minimum standards for contracting for, providing and coordinating alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment services among programs that use federal, private or state funds administered by the state; and
- The most effective and efficient use of participating state agency resources to support programs.

The Commission may also conduct studies related to the duties of the commission in collaboration with other state agencies.⁶

February 11, 2020 Page | 2

⁵ ORS 430.242. Amended by House Bill 4137 (2018).

³ Id.

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Agency: Oregon Health Authority

Authorization: ORS 430.241; 430.242 Members: Min: 16 Max: 19 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes Policy Area: Health

Board Contact:Reginald Richardson
Salem, OR 97301
971-720-0532

reginald.richardson@state.or.us

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Brad Anderson, MD

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

Position Number: 16

Eric J Bloch

Circuit Court Judge; non-voting

Term(s):

Position Number: 14

Brent Canode

Term(s): 03-01-2018 - 02-28-2022

09-25-2017 - 02-28-2018

Position Number: 10

Paige E Clarkson

District Attorney

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

Position Number: 1

Caroline M Cruz

Tribal Representative

Term(s): 12-17-2018 - 09-27-2022

Position Number: 4

Jim Doherty

County Commissioner

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

Position Number: 19

Nate Gaoiran

Director, Josephine County Corrections

Term(s): 02-17-2020 - 02-16-2024

02-17-2016 - 02-16-2020

Position Number: 3

Nate Gaoiran

Director, Josephine County Corrections

Term(s): 02-17-2020 - 02-16-2024

02-17-2016 - 02-16-2020

Position Number: 3

Printed Date: 1/12/2020 Page 1 of 3

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Policy Area: Health

Position Number: 13

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Patrick J Garrett

Sheriff Position Number: 2

Term(s): 03-01-2016 - 02-29-2020

03-01-2012 - 02-29-2016

Morgan E Godvin

Person Seeking Treatment Position Number: 11

Term(s): 02-14-2020 - 02-13-2024

Kat Griffin

Defense Attorney Position Number: 9

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

Dwight C Holton

Prevention Representative Position Number: 6

Term(s): 10-01-2017 - 09-30-2021

09-19-2014 - 09-30-2017

Anthony Jordan

Donald F Mazziotti, JD

Position Number: 18 Term(s): 11-17-2017 - 11-16-2021

Position Number: 5

Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020

Laurie Monnes Anderson

Senate President Appointment; non-voting Term(s):

Laura B Nissen

Prevention Representative Position Number: 12

Term(s): 09-28-2018 - 09-27-2022

Willie J Shaffer
Position Number: 7

Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020

House of Representatives; non-voting Position Number: 15

Term(s):

Janeen Sollman

Elizabeth Waddell
Position Number: 8

Term(s): 11-17-2017 - 11-16-2021

Printed Date: 1/12/2020 Page 2 of 3

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Policy Area: Health

Cindy L Weinhold

Parent of consumer Position Number: 17

Term(s): 06-01-2016 - 05-31-2020

Printed Date: 1/12/2020 Page 3 of 3