Date: 1/14/2020

To: Joint Committee on Transportation Sen. Lee Beyer Co-Chair Rep. Caddy McKeown Co-Chair

From: Boost Southern Oregon

Boost Southern Oregon is a grass roots group of over 1,300 members of business owners, elected officials, and other individual supporters of economic development on the south coast. Boost is made up of members from Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, and Klamath counties.

Boost Southern Oregon is supportive of removing the sunset clause contained in HB 2075, on the 2¢ increase in aviation fuel taxes enacted under that bill. Our organization is also supportive of adding an additional 2¢ increase in aviation fuel taxes.

Removing the sunset contained in HB 2075 is vitally important. But of equal importance, is adding an additional 2 cent increase in the aviation fuel tax since Airports have lost the opportunity for millions of dollars, for much needed infrastructure, that was previously provided through Connect Oregon.

There is no near-term expectation that the Legislature will provide funds to make up for that lost Connect Oregon funding. For this reason, we support an additional 2¢ increase in the aviation fuel tax.

This is a reasonable and important request based on what we view is the only viable option on the table for providing stable funding for aviation facilities across Oregon. According to estimates by the Legislative Revenue Office, every 1¢ cent per gallon of additional tax (on both Avgas and Jet-A combined), would raise \$2.5M per year. Therefore, a 2¢ increase would raise \$5M per year, or \$10M per biennium.

Oregon's airports provide increased economic stability and development for their communities. Rural airports are important for General Aviation, they provide critical bases for Military aviation operations and vital state Fire-Fighting operations. It is critical that these facilities have a funding stream for important maintenance and upgrades to enhance safety and allow for greater use.

Signed
Co-Chair, Todd Goergen
Co-Chair, Rick Skinner Kiek Blenner
Executive Director, Tera Martinez Terra Menlonk
Board Member, Ken Messerle durch Nen Neosant
Board Member, Dick Leshley TA Render
Board Member, Jon Barton Grantes D
Board Member, Barry Winters _ Alarmy Winter
Board Member, Gary Jackson
Board Member, George Wales
Board Member, Bob Westerhan
Member, Rick Osborn March Contract
Member, Michele Hampton Michel Hampton
Member, Michele Hampton Michel Hampton Member, Ron Kutch Bron Lute