Kate Brown Governor



4107 Testimony in Support Senate Committee on Labor and Business February 25, 2020 at 3pm, HR B

Chair Taylor, Vice Chair Knopp, Senators Hansell, Hass, and Monnes Anderson,

The Oregon Commissions on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs, Black Affairs, Hispanic Affairs, and Commission for Women, in their roles of policy advisors and advocates for under-represented communities across Oregon, strongly support HB 4107, public locations must accept U.S. coins or currency as payment for goods and services.

People who do not have access to credit or debit cards and use only paper currency include Oregon's most vulnerable, including those with poor credit, those escaping abuse and unable to access their banks or credit, and those whose sole income comes to them as cash. The ability of Oregon's areas of public accommodation that include public venues, some types of transportation, shelters, and other locations serve everyone including those carrying disproportionate burdens that correlate with mental health, poverty, racism, and trauma. HB 4107 assures that all Oregonians are able to purchase their needs at any business using legal tender in paper or coins. Allowing only electronic transactions in areas of public accommodation places a disproportionate burden on those without access to credit, debit, or mobile devices.

The Oregon Advocacy Commissions urge you to vote Aye on HB 4107.

Sincerely,

Hussein Al-Baiaty and Mohamed Alyajouri OCAPIA Co-Chairs

Irma Linda Castillo OCHA Chair

Jamal T. Fox OCBA Chair

Robin Morris Collin OCFW Chair

Oregon Advocacy Commissions Office "Advocating Equality and Diversity" 421 SW Oak Street, Portland, OR 97204 O 503.302.9725 Email: oaco.mail@oregon.gov

> OR Commission on Asian and Pacific Islander Affairs

Hussein Al-Baiaty, Co-Chair Mohamed Alyajouri, Co-Chair Bennie Moses Mesubed, Vice Chair Legislative members: Senator Michael Dembrow Representative Carla Piluso

OR Commission on Black Affairs

Jamal T. Fox, Chair Lawanda Manning, Vice Chair Legislative member: Representative Janelle Bynum

OR Commission on Hispanic Affairs

Irma Linda Castillo, Chair Dr. Daniel López-Cevallos, Vice Chair Legislative members: Vacant

OR Commission for Women

Robin Morris Collin, Chair Kassandra Krifka, Vice Chair Legislative members: Senator Laurie Monnes Anderson Representative Sheri Schouten

Staff

Lucy Baker, Administrator Nancy Kramer, Executive Assistant Dr. Connie Kim-Gervey, Researcher/Policy Analyst