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HB 4122 “Ezra’s Law”

Applies to ADULTS convicted of:
*Assault in the First Degree
*Assault in the Second Degree
e Attempted Murder (*First or Second)
* Attempted Aggravated Murder



HB 4122 “Ezra’s Law”

State must prove at trial that the
defendant intentionally or knowingly
caused PERMANENT INJURY during the
commission of one of the above serious
felony crimes



HB 4122 “Ezra’s Law”

Defines PERMANENT INJURY as injury
that significantly impairs

Cognitive Functioning

JVision or hearing

JADbility to walk, breathe, eat or move
the person’s limbs




HB 4122 “Ezra’s Law”

*Requires sentence of 300 months in prison,
similar to Jessica’s Law

eJessica's Law was passed in a special session of
the Oregon Legislature in 2006. The vote in the
House was 54-6 and in the Senate it was 30-0.

*Jessica’s Law requires a 25 year mandatory
minimum sentence for adults convicted of

raping, sodomizing or sexually penetrating a
child under 12 years of age.



HB 4122 “Ezra’s Law”

e Like Jessica’s Law, this law would
protect our state’s most vulnerable



Oregon Law — Physical Injury and
Serious Physical Injury

* Physical Injury: an injury that causes substantial pain or
impairment of physical condition

*Serious Physical Injury: a physical injury that creates a
substantial risk of death, or which causes serious and
protracted dlsflgurement protracted impairment of health
or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any
bodily organ

l-Permanent Injury: currently no definition under Oregon
aw



The Oregon
Sentencing
Guidelines

Grid

Crime Prob Max
Seriousness A B C D E F G H l Term | Depart PPS
11 225- | 196- | 178- | 164- | 149- | 135-  129- | 122- | 120-
269 224 | 194 | 177 | 163 | 148 134 128 | 121
10 121- | 116- | 111-| 91- | 81- | 71-  66- 61- | 58- 5
130 120 | 115 | 110 | 90 80 70 65 60 | Years
9 66- | 61- | 56- | 51- | 46- | 41- 39-  37- | 34- 3
72 65 60 55 50 45 40 38 36 Years
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