
 
 
February 7, 2020 
 
Judiciary Committee 
Oregon House of Representatives 
Re: HB 4005 
 
Dear Chair Sanchez and Members of the House Judiciary Committee, 
 
Ceasefire Oregon thanks you for addressing the problem of unsecured firearms and the need to 
report lost or stolen firearms. We recommend additional evidence-based measures be added to 
HB 4005 so the bill will be effective at increasing rates of gun storage, reducing gunshot death 
and injury, and stopping gun traffickers. 

• Laws requiring the reporting of lost or stolen guns largely address the issue of 
gun trafficking. Ceasefire Oregon calls for escalating penalties for not reporting 
lost or stolen guns, including a criminal penalty to prohibit gun traffickers from 
purchasing more guns. Without a criminal penalty, gun traffickers will be cited 
with a violation, given a modest fine, and leave the state before they can be sued 
under the strict liability clause in HB 4005. 

• Studies show that storage laws without criminal penalties are not effective at 
reducing gunshot death and injury.  Ceasefire Oregon calls for escalating 
penalties including a felony for failure to secure a firearm. Webster and Starnes 
stated in Pediatrics, “…the beneficial effects of CAP (child access prevention) 
laws were limited to states that allow for felony prosecution of violators.” 
(Pediatrics 2000;106;1466-1469). In 2018, Dr. Emma Hamilton, et al, found, 
“Weak CAP laws, which only impose liability for reckless endangerment, were 
associated with an increased risk of all pediatric firearm injuries.” Journal of 
Trauma and Acute Care Surgery (2018).  

o Safe storage laws in Washington, California, and Texas, among others, 
include felony penalties, 

o Penny Okamoto discussed Dr. Hamilton’s findings in a phone call with her 
on January 24, 2020.  Dr. Hamilton reiterated her findings that weaker 
firearm laws lead to increased death and injury from firearms. The 
increased rate of all pediatric injuries (unintentional, homicide, suicide) 
reflects a state’s permissive attitude toward guns and sends a message 
that firearm storage is not a serious issue, therefore gun owners will not 
be seriously penalized by the state for irresponsible gun storage.  

• Violations and strict liability have not been shown to be effective means to 
improve gun storage rates, reduce gun violence, or stop gun traffickers. 

• The strict liability timeframe in HB 4005 only provides the ability to sue if the 
injury occurs within two years. The ATF states the average “time to crime” for a 
gun recovered in Oregon is 9.79 years yet strict liability timeframe is only for two 
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years. Over the past few years, only 18% to 28% of firearms were recovered 
within the two-year timeframe provided by HB 4005. 

• The language describing the storage of handguns and long guns in vehicles is 
vague. All firearms in an unattended vehicle must be locked . 

• Section 5(c): Knowing the serial number of a gun is necessary for law 
enforcement to trace the firearm. A serial number is so vital to law enforcement 
that a federal law requires a new firearm to have a serial number. The language 
in Section 5(c) should be changed to, “A person SHALL provide the serial 
number of the firearm in a report…”  and the permissive “may” removed. 

• Reporting of lost or stolen firearms must be within a 24 hour period after 
discovery of loss or theft. In particular, stolen firearms are likely to be used in a 
crime or trafficked out of state. 

Public policy must be evidence-based. No studies have shown that strict liability and violations 
are effective at increasing rates of gun storage or reducing rates of gunshot death and injury. 
Ceasefire Oregon’s recommendations are evidence-based and supported by research dating 
back twenty years. 

Enacting weak laws lulls people into a false sense of security and undermines support for future 
bills. Ceasefire Oregon urges the House Judiciary Committee to amend HB 4005 to include the 
measures listed above to create an effective, strong safe firearm storage law based on years of 
evidence that will truly reduce the rate of gunshot injury and death, increase rates of firearm 
storage, and stop gun traffickers. 
  
Studies and a list of frequently asked questions are below. 
  
Thank you for the opportunity to submit testimony. 
  
Penny Okamoto 
Executive Director 
Ceasefire Oregon 
  
HB 4005 can be broken into two separate concepts. One is the requirement to report lost or 
stolen (RLS) firearms. The other is to encourage gun owners to securely store all firearms. 
Reporting Lost or Stolen Guns 

• Why should legal gun owners be required to report a gun that has been lost or 
stolen? 

o Every year, hundreds of thousands of guns are lost or stolen in America. 
Stolen guns can be diverted to the illegal gun market, where they are used 
to fuel crime across the country. 

o Lost and stolen reporting laws help reduce gun trafficking by requiring 
individuals to report loss or theft to law enforcement shortly after 
discovering the loss or theft. 

o These laws help law enforcement recover and return lost or stolen guns to 
their rightful owners. 

o They can also help law enforcement disarm individuals who become 
ineligible to possess firearms. 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC5385318/


• Will HB 4005 stop gun trafficking? 
o Under HB 4005, the penalties for reporting lost or stolen guns include a 

fine and the threat of a lawsuit if the gun is used to injure a person or 
property within two years of the loss or theft. 

o A Class B violation (not a criminal penalty) will not stop gun traffickers. 
They will only add the fine to the cost of doing business and nothing in HB 
4005 will make them a prohibited purchaser–so the gun traffickers can still 
buy guns.  

• What about strict liability? 
o The liability expires only two years after the loss or theft. 
o The ATF states the average “time to crime” for a gun recovered in Oregon 

is 9.79 years yet strict liability timeframe is only for two years.  
o In Oregon in 2018, fewer than 28% of guns are recovered within the two-

year time frame allowed in HB 4005. (ATF) The rate was even lower for 
the previous years. 

• What would make HB 4005 stronger? 
o To be effective, a repeat offense of failure to report lost or stolen must 

include escalating penalties, a criminal penalty, and forfeiture of the right 
to bear arms. 

o The first offense need not be criminal–legal gun owners should not be 
facing a criminal penalty for the first offense of failure to report a lost or 
stolen firearm. 

Safe Gun Storage 

• Are safe storage laws effective at reducing gun violence? 
o Yes. Studies over the past 20 years show that strong storage laws with 

penalties that escalate from a fine to a felony (depending on how the 
firearm was used and where it was taken) significantly reduce firearm 
injury and death. The studies are listed below. 

• Are safe storage laws supported by gun owners? 
o Yes. National polling shows that safe storage bills enjoy the support of 

78% of voters–including 66% of gun owners.   
• Is a criminal penalty necessary? 

o Yes.  Studies show that storage laws without criminal penalties are not 
effective at reducing gunshot death and injury.  Ceasefire Oregon calls for 
escalating penalties including a felony for failure to secure a firearm. 
Webster and Starnes stated in Pediatrics, “…the beneficial effects of CAP 
laws were limited to states that allow for felony prosecution of violators.” 
(Pediatrics 2000;106;1466-1469). In 2018, Dr. Emma Hamilton, et al, 
found, “Weak CAP laws, which only impose liability for reckless 
endangerment, were associated with an increased risk of all pediatric 
firearm injuries.” Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery (2018)  

• Isn’t it better to just get a safe storage law on the books? 
o Weak gun laws send a message to gun owners that secure storage is not 

viewed as a critical component to reducing gun death and injury. We know 
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that Oregon law makers take this issue very seriously. Our laws should 
reflect a culture of smart, responsible gun ownership. 

o Ceasefire Oregon applauds legislators for addressing this issue but 
passing weak bills lulls people into a false sense of security and 
undermines support for future firearm legislation. 

• Do other states include a felony penalties? 
o Yes. Safe storage laws in Washington and Texas include felony penalties. 
o From Giffords.org: 

▪ States Imposing Criminal Liability for Allowing a Child to Gain 
Access: The broadest laws apply regardless of whether the child 
even gains possession of the firearm. California, Massachusetts, 
Minnesota, Nevada, and the District of Columbia impose criminal 
liability in circumstances where a child may (Massachusetts and 
Nevada) or is likely to (California, Minnesota, District of Columbia) 
gain access to a firearm. The laws in Hawaii,41 Maryland, New 
Jersey, and Texas apply whenever a child gains access to an 
improperly stored firearm. In these states, it is not necessary for the 
child to actually use the firearm or cause any injury. 

▪ States Imposing Criminal Liability When a Child “May” or “Is Likely 
To” Gain Access to the Firearm: California, District of Columbia, 
Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, and New York 

▪ States Imposing Criminal Liability for Allowing a Child to Gain 
Access to the Firearm, Regardless of Whether the Child Uses the 
Firearm or Causes Injury: California, District of Columbia, Hawaii, 
Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, and 
Texas. 

• Okay, so the bill is not perfect but let’s not let the perfect get in the way of the 
good. 

o HB 4005 as written needs improvement to be effective and the lives of 
Oregonians are stake.  Let’s work together to draft amendments that will 
provide real protection for all Oregonians, especially our children. 

Studies 

 
Variability of child access prevention laws and pediatric firearm injuries, Emma, C. Hamilton, 
MD; Charles C Miller, III, PhD; Charles S Cox, Jr., MD; Kevin P. Lally,, MD; Mary T. Austin, MD, 
MPH Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery (2018)Key  Findings:  After adjusting for race, 
sex, age, and socioeconomic income quartile, strong child access prevention (CAP) laws were 
associated with a significant reduction in all, self-inflicted , and unintentional pediatric firearm 
injuries. Weak CAP laws, which only impose liability for reckless endangerment, were 
associated with an increased risk of all pediatric firearm injuries. The association of CAP laws 
on hospitalizations for pediatric firearm injuries differed greatly depending on whether a state 
had adopted a strong CAP law or a weak CAP law. Implementation of strong CAP laws by each 
state, which require safe storage of firearms, has the potential to significantly reduce pediatric 
firearm injuries. 
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https://www.dps.texas.gov/RSD/LTC/documents/SafeStorage.pdf
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State Firearm Laws, Firearm Ownership, and Safety Practices Among Families of Preschool-
Aged Children, Kate C. Prickett, MPAff, Alexa Martin-Storey, PhD, and Robert Crosnoe, PhD 
American Journal of Public Health (2014) 
Findings: Firearm legislation and CAP laws interacted to predict ownership and storage 
behaviors, with unsafe storage least likely among families in states with both CAP laws and 
stronger firearm legislation. 

 
The Effect of Child Access Prevention Laws on Non-Fatal Gun Injuries 
Jeff DeSimone and Sara Markowitz, National Bureau of Economic Research (2005) 
Key findings: Results from Poisson regressions that control for various hospital, county and 
state characteristics, including state-specific fixed effects and time trends, indicate that CAP 
laws substantially reduce non-fatal gun injuries among both children and adults (a unique point 
about this study is that it looked at non-fatal injuries, which are much more common than 
deaths). 
 When CAP laws are implemented, self-inflicted gun injuries fall by 64 percent for youth age 18 
and under but do not decrease for adults. 

 
The Effect of Child Access Prevention Laws on Unintentional Child Firearm Fatalities, 1979-
2000, Lisa Hepburn, PhD, MPH, Deborah Azrael, PhD, MS, Matthew Miller, MD, ScD, MPH, 
and David Hemenway, PhD, Journal of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery (2005) 
Key findings: Most states that enacted CAP laws experienced greater subsequent declines in 
the rate of unintentional firearm deaths for children age 0 to 14 compared with states not 
enacting the laws; however when adjusted for firearm prevalence and state and national effects 
the laws were associated with statistically significant declines only in Florida and California.  
Florida’s law, which is the oldest and one of the toughest (violation is a felony) resulted in a 51% 
reduction in accidental firearm deaths among children in that state over the eight years for which 
there was data. 

 
Association Between Youth-focused Firearm Laws and Youth Suicides Daniel W. Webster, Jon 
S. Vernick, April M. Zeoli, Jennifer A. Manganello, Journal of the American Medical Association 
(2004) 
Key findings: “We did find convincing evidence that the 18 CAP laws adopted during the study 
period led to an 8.3% reduction in suicide rates among youth aged 14 to 17 years. Firearms are 
used in approximately half of all youth suicides. 

 
State Gun Safe Storage Laws and Child Mortality Due to Firearms Peter Cummings, David 
Grossman, Frederick Rivara, and Thomas Koepsell, Journal of the American Medical 
Association (1997) 
Key findings: CAP laws associated with a  23% decrease in unintentional shootings among 
children under 15 years old. 

 
Note: Please use discretion with your personal information in written testimony (i.e., do not add 
personal information you do not want the public to see). All meeting materials, including your name and 
any personal information contained in the submitted documents, are posted to the Oregon Legislative 
Information System (OLIS) and are accessible to all major search engines, including Google, Bing, and 
Yahoo. 
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