
 
 

 

Senate Committee on Judiciary 

Testimony in Support of SB 1540: Licensing of Student Loan Servicers 

 

Chair Prozanski, Vice Chairs Thatcher and Dembrow and members of the Committee.   

 

 My name is Trish Garner and I am the State Public Policy Chair of the American 

Association of University Women of Oregon.  AAUW has been empowering women 

since 1881 by advancing equity through advocacy, education, and research. 

 

 Student loan debt has risen to epidemic proportions.  It has been estimated that 45 

million borrowers collectively owe $1.6 trillion of student loan debt, falling second only 

to mortgages in the amount of consumer debt.1  On a dollar basis, the highest increase in 

student loan debt is among 30 to 39-year-olds, who as a group now holds $461 billion in 

student loans. 

 

 The provision of student loans is big business and the consequences of failing to 

pay a student loan bill can be serious and long lasting.  The entire amount of the debt may 

be accelerated and immediately payable -- and collectible, without the availability of 

relief under bankruptcy laws.  The student debtor may face wage garnishment, lost 

federal and state tax refunds, increased late fees, a ruined credit report, expensive 

lawsuits, not to mention losing eligibility for additional loans and grants, deferments, 

forbearances and flexible repayment options.2  Liens can also be placed on one's home or 

other assets. 

 

 Given the size of the student loan servicing business and the potential negative 

impact on Oregon's students, it is important for Oregon to ensure that its students are 

fairly treated.  Just as with similar businesses such as debt collection and mortgage 

servicing, at minimum they should be required to obtain a license.  

 

 SB 1540 also contains important provisions that are designed to make sure that 

student loan servicers do as promised.  They are required to maintain sufficient liquidity, 

operating reserves and tangible net worth.  They must credit payments received, correct 

any errors and maintain records.  They must respond to complaints within 21 days and 

promise not to commit unethical business activities.  The Department of Consumer and 

Business Services is authorized to oversee these protections and if violations are found, 

remedies are provided to student borrowers.  These requirements represent limited and 

common-sense oversight. 

                                                 
1 Zack Freidman, Student Loan Debt Statistics In 2019: A $1.5 Trillion Crisis, Forbes, February 2, 2019, 

https://www.forbes.com/sites/zackfriedman/2019/02/25/student-loan-debt-statistics-2019/ - 64604a80133f. 

 
2 Legal Consumer: Oregon Legal Guide, Student Loan Default Consequences and Penalties 

https://www.forbes.com/sites/zackfriedman/2019/02/25/student-loan-debt-statistics-2019/#64604a80133f
/Users/patriciagarner/Desktop/LEGISLATURE%202020/Opportunity%20Zones/Student%20Loan%20Default%20Consequences%20and%20Penalties


 

 Many of the loans taken out by students are entered into by those who are looking 

to better their lives and rise above underprivileged circumstances.  The stakes for these 

individuals are high and the potential for failure if a student loan payment is missed great.  

Low income borrowers can find it particularly challenging to navigate the pre- and post-

loan small print that is often found in student loan documents.   Oregon needs to step up 

and provide these individuals a fair opportunity to move forward and achieve success by 

making sure they are treated fairly by student loan servicers. 

 

 AAUW of OR urges you to adopt SB 1540. 

 
 Thank you. 
 

Trish Garner, State Public Policy Chair, AAUW of OR, garner37@mac.com 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


