

To:

From: Richard Donovan, Legislative Services SpecialistRe: House Bill 4079Date: February 4, 2020

House Committee on Revenue

Chair Nathanson, Vice Chairs Marsh and Reschke, members of the committee:

On behalf of OSBA membership, including 197 school districts, 19 Education Service Districts, and 17 community colleges throughout the state of Oregon, thank you for the opportunity to testify in support of House Bill 4079 and the concepts contained therein.

Lack of broadband internet access is a challenge for Oregon's rural school districts and communities. Thousands of students in multiple Oregon school districts have limited- or no-access to high speed internet. This shortage of broadband providers directly impacts student access to information.

In 2019 the Legislature took steps to address this shortfall with the passage of HB 2173, which codified the existence of the Oregon Broadband Office. Now is the right time to fund that office, and to provide funding to increase access to the parts of Oregon that are still lacking.

HB 4079 would do that. It would add revenue necessary for broadband expansion. This expansion will benefit schools and students. It will also benefit those communities, potentially enabling business development and innovation that was previously not possible. It is a responsible policy change that will expand infrastructure and respond to the changing telecommunications landscape of the past two decades. I encourage your support of HB 4079.

OFFICERS

President Kevin Cassidy Baker SD President-elect

Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD Vice President Liz Hartman

Lake Oswego SD Secretary-Treasurer

Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Past President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

DIRECTORS

Chris Cronin John Day SD

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD

Bill Graupp Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

Linda Hamilton

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD Greg Kintz

Vernonia SD Melissa LaCrosse

Jefferson SD Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Sonja Mckenzie

Patti Norris

Crook County SD Brandy Penner Newberg SD

Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD

Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools Michelle Vo

Corbett SD EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Rose Wilde OCCA Annette Mattson State Board of Education Anthony Veliz

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson