HB 2846-1 (LC 3101) 5/10/19 (HE/ps)

Requested by Representative KENY-GUYER

## PROPOSED AMENDMENTS TO HOUSE BILL 2846

1 On page 1 of the printed bill, delete lines 4 through 24 and insert:

SECTION 1. (1) The Oregon Transportation Commission shall conduct an evaluation that identifies highways suitable for jurisdictional transfer in each of the five regions described in subsection (3) of this section. The commission shall take into consideration the following factors when identifying highways suitable for jurisdictional transfer:

"(a) The number of crashes each year that result in fatalities or
serious injuries and safety improvements needed to reduce or prevent
fatalities and serious injuries on the highway;

11 "(b) The need for pedestrian mobility and access;

12 "(c) The need for freight mobility and access;

13 "(d) The need for accessibility to transit services;

"(e) The potential impacts and benefits to vulnerable and under served populations;

16 "(f) Regional and local land use transportation plans;

"(g) Regional and local designations of functional classification of
 the highway;

"(h) Economic development opportunities potentially impacted by
 the transfer of the highway;

21 "(i) The possibility of leveraging other funds to improve the high-

1 way after transfer; and

"(j) The condition of the highway and the improvements necessary
to bring the highway up to a fair or better condition.

4 "(2) In conducting the evaluation, the commission shall:

5 "(a) Collaborate with metropolitan planning organizations, counties
6 and cities;

7 "(b) Assess the readiness of counties and cities to receive jurisdic8 tion of transferred highways;

9 "(c) Provide a description of best practices for transfers; and

"(d) Provide a description of strategies for joint management of
 highways before or after a transfer.

12 "(3) For purposes of this section:

"(a) Region one consists of Clackamas, Hood River, Multnomah and
 Washington Counties.

"(b) Region two consists of Benton, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane,
 Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Polk, Tillamook and Yamhill Counties.

"(c) Region three consists of Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson and
 Josephine Counties.

"(d) Region four consists of Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Jefferson,
 Klamath, Lake, Sherman, Wasco and Wheeler Counties.

"(e) Region five consists of Baker, Grant, Harney, Malheur,
 Morrow, Umatilla, Union and Wallowa Counties.

"(4) The commission shall present the results of the evaluation, in
 the manner provided under ORS 192.245, in a report to the Joint
 Committee on Transportation on or before September 15, 2020.".

26 On page 2, after line 5, insert:

27 "<u>SECTION 4.</u> The Oregon Transportation Commission shall develop 28 guidelines to assist the Department of Transportation in collaborating 29 with metropolitan planning organizations, counties and cities in 30 jointly managing those highways that the commission identifies as

HB 2846-1 5/10/19 Proposed Amendments to HB 2846 suitable for jurisdictional transfer but that are unlikely to be trans ferred before January 1, 2025.

3 "SECTION 5. Section 4 of this 2019 Act is repealed on January 2,
4 2030.

"SECTION 6. (1) The Oregon Transportation Commission shall pre- $\mathbf{5}$ pare and submit a report on how the Department of Transportation 6 might be able to achieve design flexibility to improve the safety of 7 highways that are located in urban environments and that the com-8 mission identifies as suitable for jurisdictional transfer. The commis-9 sion shall consult with metropolitan planning organizations, counties 10 and cities in developing any recommendations for design flexibility and 11 take into account local transportation system plans. The report must 12 include suggested legislative changes to better manage these highways 13 in advance of a jurisdictional transfer. In preparing the report, the 14 commission shall consider any highway that does not have an executed 15 jurisdictional transfer agreement. 16

"(2) The commission shall present the report, in the manner provided under ORS 192.245, to the interim committees of the Legislative
Assembly related to transportation on or before September 15, 2019.

"<u>SECTION 7.</u> Section 6 of this 2019 Act is repealed on January 2,
2020.".

In line 6, delete "4" and insert "8".

23