80th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2019 Regular Session

## Enrolled House Bill 3138

Sponsored by Representative MARSH; Representatives FINDLEY, GOMBERG, KENY-GUYER, MITCHELL, Senator JOHNSON

CHAPTER .....

## AN ACT

Relating to transient lodging taxation; amending ORS 320.308; and prescribing an effective date.

## Be It Enacted by the People of the State of Oregon:

SECTION 1. ORS 320.308 is amended to read:

320.308. The following are exempt from the state transient lodging tax:

(1) A dwelling unit in a hospital, health care facility, long term care facility or any other residential facility that is licensed, registered or certified by the Department of Human Services or the Oregon Health Authority.[;]

(2) A dwelling unit in a facility providing treatment for drug or alcohol abuse or providing mental health treatment.[;]

(3) A dwelling unit that is used by members of the general public for temporary human occupancy for fewer than 30 days per year.[;] The exemption granted under this subsection does not apply to a dwelling unit that is rented out as transient lodging using a platform of any kind provided in any manner by a transient lodging intermediary.

(4) A dwelling unit, the consideration for which is funded through a contract with a government agency and the purpose of which is to provide emergency or temporary shelter.[;]

(5) A dwelling unit at a nonprofit youth or church camp, nonprofit conference center or other nonprofit facility.[; or]

(6) A dwelling unit that is leased or otherwise occupied by the same person for a consecutive period of 30 days or more during the year. The requirements of this subsection are satisfied even if the physical dwelling unit changes during the consecutive period, if:

(a) All dwelling units occupied are within the same facility; and

(b) The person paying consideration for the transient lodging is the same person throughout the consecutive period.

<u>SECTION 2.</u> This 2019 Act takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2019 regular session of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly adjourns sine die.

Passed by House May 29, 2019	Received by Governor:
Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House	Approved:
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House	
Passed by Senate June 17, 2019	Kate Brown, Governor
	Filed in Office of Secretary of State:
Peter Courtney, President of Senate	

Bev Clarno, Secretary of State