HB 3280 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Carrier: Rep. Evans

House Committee On Education

Action Date:	04/03/19
Action:	Do Pass.
Vote:	5-3-1-0
Yeas:	5 - Alonso Leon, Doherty, Hernandez, Neron, Reardon
Nays:	3 - Helt, Reschke, Sollman
Exc:	1 - Wallan
Fiscal:	No fiscal impact
Revenue:	No revenue impact
Prepared By:	Alethia Miller, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates:	4/3

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Alters commissioner composition of Higher Education Coordinating Commission by redesignating five nonvoting positions as voting members, and adding one position from a public university. Redesignates the following members as voting members: undergraduate student at public university, faculty member at public university, student at community college, faculty member at community college, and non-faculty member at community college or public university; and adds graduate student at public university. Applies to appointments made on or after effective date.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- History of composing Higher Education Coordinating Commission in statute
- Importance in having student and faculty voices as voting members

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Senate Bill 242 (2011) created the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), a volunteer commission responsible for advising the Governor and Legislative Assembly on post-secondary education. House Bill 3120 (2013) defined the role of the HECC as a policy and budgetary authority for higher education in Oregon, while establishing specific roles and oversight responsibilities. The HECC is charged with approving academic programs for public universities and colleges, allocating the Oregon Opportunity Grant, authorizing private career schools and private degree-granting institutions to operate, and other duties.

House Bill 3280 would alter the composition of the HECC to raise the total number of voting members from 9 to 15 voting members. It makes five nonvoting positions as voting positions, and adds another commissioner to represent the public universities as a student. It redesignates the following positions as voting members: faculty member at public university, student at community college, faculty member at community college, and non-faculty member of staff. The measure changes the student representing a public university to include both an undergraduate and graduate student.