From the Desk Pallo Rep. Evans

## Please Vote Yes on HB 3280 - HECC Voting Rights for Students, Faculty and Staff in Higher Education

HB 3280 extends voting rights to the existing Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC) positions for students, faculty, and non-faculty higher education staff and creates just one new position to extend much-needed representation to graduate students. The HECC is the primary state entity tasked with providing a strategic vision for accessibility and affordability of higher education in Oregon.

"In the 2011 and 2013 sessions, the Legislature restructured the governance of our public higher education system and created the Higher Education Coordinating Commission to oversee the public universities and community colleges while also allowing public universities to form their own institutional governing boards. The decision was made to allow faculty, staff and students to be voting members on the institutional boards, but to have those positions on the HECC be non-voting. In the years since, it has become clear that the faculty, staff and student members of these boards have been valuable, productive contributors who work closely with the other members. It is time to grant voting rights to these positions on the HECC, bring them to parity with their counterparts on the institutional boards, and ensure that every member of the HECC has an equal voice at the table." **Senator Michael Dembrow SD 23 – Co-sponsor of HB 3280** 

"This measure is about fairness: all too often it is assumed (perhaps wrongly) that the perspectives of all university administration, faculty, staff, and students are "the same." In truth, the dynamic realities associated with the recent de facto dissolution of the university "system" and its governance mechanisms has yet to realize the promise so loudly advanced by past advocates." **Representative Paul Evans HD 20 – Co-sponsor of HB 3280** 

Please join bill sponsors Representatives Evans; Alonso Leon, Bynum, Doherty, Hernandez, McLain, Mitchell, Neron, Nosse, Smith Warner, Wilde; and Senators Dembrow; Fagan, Gelser, Golden, Manning Jr, Prozanski and the following groups in supporting HB 3280.











