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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Authorizes Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) to adopt minimum content and label requirements for wine
bottled on or after January 1, 2023, if wine label includes certain American Viticultural Area (AVA) in Oregon and
designates a single grape variety type. Requires OLCC to adopt rules identifying AVAs and grape varieties for
which labeling requirements apply. Specifies that Willamette Valley AVA or AVAs within its boundaries are subject
to the requirements. Allows OLCC to classify one or more grape varieties used as a type designation on a wine
label as an exempt variety subject to different content standards and establishes 18 grape varieties as exempt.
Revises content and label requirements for wine bottled on or after January 1, 2030 to require wine labeled with
an Oregon AVA and a single grape variety to be made entirely from the grape variety used on the label with
certain exceptions for exempt varieties and nonexclusive grape varieties. Allows OLCC to classify one or more
grape varieties as a nonexclusive grape variety and makes Pinot Gris a nonexclusive grape variety. Prohibits Pinot
Noir from being an exempt or nonexclusive grape variety. Allows OLCC to require a wine labeled with an Oregon
AVA to be made entirely from grapes grown within that AVA as of January 1, 2035. Requires OLCC to appoint
advisory committee with expertise in the production and labelling of Oregon wine and consisting of members
from certain AVAs to assist with rulemaking, including AVAs subject to wine labeling requirements, standards for
requests to use existing label stocks, grape varieties to be classified as exempt or nonexclusive, and a penalty
schedule for violations. Sunsets advisory committee January 2, 2023. Requires OLCC to adopt penalty schedule for
violations of label requirements by January 1, 2023. Requires OLCC to report to Legislative Assembly regarding the
recommendations made by the advisory committee no later than September 15, 2020. Takes effect on 91st day
following adjournment sine die.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

An American Viticultural Area (AVA) is a designated grape-growing region defined by soil types, elevation,
topography, and microclimate and approved by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB). AVAs allow
vintners and consumers to attribute a given quality, reputation, or other characteristics of a wine to the grapes
grown in a specific geographic region. Oregon contains 19 AVAs. Five more AVAs in the Willamette Valley are
pending federal approval.

Wine containers must have a certificate of label approval or an exemption certificate from the TTB before being
sold in the United States. TTB standards require at least 75 percent of grapes used to make wine to be of the
named variety. TTB standards also require at least 75 percent of the wine to be produced from grapes grown in
the place named, and at least 85 percent if the label lists a specific AVA.

Oregon regulations require 95 percent or more of the wine to be from the named variety, and if the label claims
or implies “Oregon,” an Oregon county, or an AVA wholly within Oregon, 100 percent of the grapes must be from
Oregon and 95 percent from the specified AVA.
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Wine labeling and the content requirements for wine produced in Oregon will change under HB 3448. The OLCC
may require a single grape variety wine labeled with the Willamette Valley AVA or another designated Oregon
AVA to contain at least 95 percent of the grape variety used on the label as of January 1, 2023 and increase to 100
percent on January 1, 2030. Wines made from exempt varieties classified by the OLCC must be made from at least
75 percent, by volume, of the exempt variety. Wines from AVAs not designated by the OLCC and bearing the
name of a single grape variety must be made from at least 90 percent from the grape variety listed. Starting on
January 1, 2030, the OLCC may also designate one or more grape varieties as a nonexclusive grape variety with a
content standard of 95 percent from the nonexclusive grape variety. The measure also allows the OLCC to require
a wine labeled with an Oregon AVA to be made entirely from grapes grown within that AVA as of January 1, 2035.
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