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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Ceases annual one-hour change in time from standard time to daylight saving time and maintains Oregon on
daylight saving time. Exempts portion of state in Mountain Time Zone from permanent daylight time. Makes
change to permanent daylight time in first November after California and Washington elect to maintain
permanent daylight time. Repeals proposed time change if not operative by December 1, 2029.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

Daylight saving time is the practice of setting the clock one hour forward for 34 weeks of the year, allowing for
more daylight in the evening hours. The United States used daylight saving time at times during World War | and
I, with some state and local governments persisting in the practice. The Uniform Time Act of 1966 standardized
the practice nationwide, and allowed states to exempt themselves. Hawaii and Arizona, with the exception of the
Navajo Nation, do not observe daylight saving time. Measures introduced in Congress, California, and Washington
would end the twice-yearly time change and permanently maintain daylight saving time. According to the
National Conference of State Legislatures, 26 states have introduced measures ending the practice of twice-yearly
time changes.

A 2008 study concluded that the time spent changing clocks represented a $1.7 billion opportunity cost to the U.S.
population. Another study found that daylight saving time costs the U.S. economy more than $433 million each
year in the form of cardiac incidents, workplace injuries in the mining and construction sectors, and "cyberloafing"
in office settings. A 2014 study found a 6.3 percent increase in fatal automobile accidents over the six days
following the time change.

Senate Bill 320-A ceases the one-hour time change and places Oregon permanently on daylight saving time. The
measure exempts the portion of the state in the Mountain Time Zone, and becomes operative after California and
Washington also adopt permanent daylight saving time.
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