

## LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

# EXECUTIVE APPOINTMENTS LEGISLATIVE REVIEW

- OFFICE: Transportation Commission, Oregon
- <u>APPOINTEE:</u> Sharon Smith of Bend; New Appointment
- <u>TERM:</u> September 1, 2019 June 30, 2023

# APPOINTMENT/CONFIRMATION AUTHORITY: ORS 184.612

### STATEMENT OF ECONOMIC INTEREST (ORS 244.050): Required

### STATUTORY QUALIFICATIONS: ORS 184.612 and 184.613

Affirmative action policy: See ORS 182.100. Diversity criteria: See ORS 236.115.

- Five members with consideration given to geographic representation, including one member from east of the Cascades (SMITH)
- No more than three members from the same political party
  - o BROWN (R)
  - o SIMPSON (D)
  - o SMITH (D)
  - o VAN BROCKLIN (NAV)
  - o CALLERY (NAV)
- Governor appoints chair and vice-chair

### DUTIES AND AUTHORITY: ORS 184.615 to 184.619, ORS 366.205

- General supervision and control over all matters related to selection, establishment, construction, improvement and maintenance of state highways
- Prepare state transportation policy and comprehensive long-range plan for a safe multi-modal transportation system
- Adopt policies relating to coordination and administration of programs relating to highways, motor vehicles, public transit, transportation and the Maritime Pilots Board
- Adopt policies and rules governing divisions of the Department of Transportation consistent with ORS 184.610 to 184.647
- Meet at least once per month
- Give priority to projects that enhance the safety of the users of highways

<b>Franspor</b>	tation Commission, Oregon				
Agency: Transportation Authorization: ORS 184.612 Members: Min: 5 Max: 5 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2		Policy Area: Transportation Board Contact: Jacque Carlisle			
			Senate conf	Senate confirmation required? Yes	355 Capitol Street NE, MS #11 Salem, OR 97301-3871 503-986-3450 Fax: 503-986-3291
		Jacque.l.carlisle@odot.state.or.us			
		OTCAdmin@odot.state.or.us			
	oointments: me and Address (Alphabetical)				
Tammy T Baney					
	Cascades; Republican	Position Number: 5			
Term(s):	07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019				
	07-01-2011 - 06-30-2015				
Julie A Brow	vn				
Republican		Position Number: 1			
Term(s):	09-28-2018 - 06-30-2020				
Martin L Cal	llery				
		Position Number: 2			
Term(s):	05-25-2018 - 06-30-2020				
Alando L Sir	mpson				
Democrat					
		Position Number: 4			
Term(s):	07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022	Position Number: 4			
	07-01-2018 - 06-30-2022 07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 4			
	07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018	Position Number: 4			
Term(s):	07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018 mith Cascades	Position Number: 4 Position Number: 5			
Term(s): Sharon R Si	07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018 mith				
Term(s): Sharon R Si East of the (	07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018 mith Cascades 09-01-2019 - 06-30-2023				
Term(s): Sharon R Si East of the ( Term(s):	07-01-2014 - 06-30-2018 mith Cascades 09-01-2019 - 06-30-2023				