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LICENSE ON CONDITIONAL STATUS
LICENSE NO: 13821

Dear Mr. Pace:

This letter is your notice that the Office of Licensing (OL) of the Utah Department of Human Services has
placed the Red Rock Canyon School (RRCS), Mt. Pleasant Academy license to provide Residential
Treatment Care at the Mt. Pleasant, Utah location on Conditional Status. This action is taken pursuant to
the Department of Human Services’ legal authority and jurisdiction, and in accordance with the Utah
Administrative Procedures Act (Utah Code Ann. 63G-4-101 et. seq.); Utah Human Services Code (Utah
Code Ann. 62A-2-111 and 112); and Utah Department of Human Services Administrative Rules (Title
501). The Conditional Status will become final 10 working days after receipt of this notice unless you
request an adjudicative proceeding as described below.

This action is based on the following:

The Office of Licensing has noted violation of Administrative Rule
R501-2-6.E.8.d.1. and 2.

Administrative Rule R501-2-6.E.8.d. states, “when an incident involves abuse, neglect, serious illness,
violations of the Provider Code of Conduct or death of a consumer, a program shall:
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1. notify the Office of Licensing, legally responsible person and any applicable agency which
may include law enforcement.

2. a preliminary written report shall be submitted to the Office of Licensing within 24 hours of the
incident.”

Violation #1:

The governing body of RRCS and the Director of Mt. Pleasant Academy (Matt Keifer) did not
report incidents dated 12/15/2015 and 1/3/2016 of child abuse to the appropriate agencies and law
enforcement.

RRCS did not report or submit a written report to the Office of Licensing within 24 hours of the
incidents.

The Office of Licensing has noted violation of Administrative Rule R501-2-2.G
Administrative Rule R501-2-2.G. states, “All programs which serve minors or vulnerable adults shall
submit identifying information for background screening of all adult persons associated with the licensee
and board members who have access to children and vulnerable adults in accordance with R501-14 and
R501-18.”

Violation #2:
On January 26, 2016, Mt. Pleasant academy had 18 of the 34 employees without a current
Criminal Background Screening.

The Office of Licensing has noted violation of Administrative Rule R501-16-4.D
Administrative Rule R501-16-4.D states, “Programs shall comply with R501-14, BCI/MIS clearance
requirements.” See also R501-2-2.G

Violation #3:
Background screenings through the Department of Human Services were not submitted prior to
employees beginning to work in positions with access to clients or client information.

The Office of Licensing has noted violation of Administrative Rule R501-2-3.A.
Administrative Rule R501-2-3.A .states, “The program shall have a governing body which is responsible
for and has authority over the policies, training and monitoring of staff and consumer activities for all
phases of the program. The governing body's responsibilities shall include the following:

1. to ensure program policy and procedures compliance,

Violation #4

RRCS violated their own policy which states: A number of behaviors are deemed particularly
serious and dangerous, and for safety, may warrant a clinical assessment, increased supervision
or the implementation of a restrictive intervention, development of a behavioral stabilization plan
or an off-privilege restriction of one week. The specific unsafe behaviors are: 1. Communication
a threat to physically harm self (suicide precaution) 2. Communication a threat to physically
harm others 3. Assaultive behavior or fighting 4. Self-injury or self-mutilation 5. Out of
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control behavior 6. Runaway or attempted Runaway 7. Sexual Misconduct 8. Major
destruction of facility property or the property of others 9. Possession or use of drugs, weapons
or dangerous contraband item 10. Failure to follow staff direction in a potentially dangerous
situation.

RRCS/MPA accepted a student into the program who had previously had problems with
sexual misconduct in another facility. Recommendations that RRCS/MPA had from the
previous residential treatment center indicated that: “It is recommended that (student)
enter a more restrictive environment given his continual sexual acting out in two different
sex-specific residential treatment facilities. At this time it does not appear that
supervision and monitoring is enough to keep him and others safe.”

The office of licensing has noted violation of Administrative Rule R501-2-8 (3)
Administrative Rule R501-2-8 (3) The program shall have a written policy for consumer rights to
include the following:

3. Freedom from potential harm or acts of violence to consumer of others.

Despite that clear documentation and RRCS/MPA’s own policies that recognized such
behavior as “serious and dangerous” possibly warranting a “restrictive intervention”, the
facility failed to adequately put safeguards in place to prevent harm from occurring. This
circumstance resulted in Matt Kiefer, the Director, being supported for multiple “Failure
to Protect” neglect allegations by the Division of Child and Family Services. Clients did
not enjoy freedom from potential harm or acts of violence as a result of how this situation
was handled.

Conditions Being Placed on License
To have your license removed from Conditional Status, the following conditions will be placed on the
license until resolved according to the Office of Licensing’s satisfaction, and no sooner than 180 days:

1. All Red Rock Canyon School (RRCS) employees including management staff, therapists, nurses,
teachers, and line staff will be retrained specifically on Utah Abuse and Neglect Reporting Law,
Behavior Management, Incident Reporting and Background Check policies and procedures.
Documentation of the training will include the name of the trainer, the date and time the training
took place, and signatures of all staff stating that they have received, understand, and agree to
comply with the policy presented. Training will be completed no later than May 1*, 2016, and
documentation verifying compliance will be submitted to the Office of Licensing no later than
May 15, 2016.

2. RRCS will complete incident reports of any and all incidents that occur. RRCS will compile
weekly reports regarding these incidents. These reports will include the incident packet, all
documentation regarding the incident, and any video of the incident. RRCS will make these
reports available to the Office of Licensing if requested. If an incident involves abuse, neglect, or
physical injury to a client, in which case the report will be provided to the Office of Licensing
within 24 hours (Referring to rule R501-2-6.E.8 Incident Reports).

3. Every RRCS employee file will be audited by RRCS for expired or missing background
screenings, Code of Conduct forms, First Aid and CPR training and professional License
requirements. Any missing forms or documentation will be noted, addressed and updated. Any
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deficient staff will have their current background screening application submitted to the Office of
Licensing within one week of receipt of this notice. Any staff who has not submitted an
application for background screening to OL may not have any contact with clients, even if
supervised, in accordance with Utah Administrative Code 62A-2-120(9). Once an application is
submitted to OL, staff may have supervised access to clients. RRCS will assign a staff member
who has a current background check to directly supervise, at all times, each staff who is working
on campus whose background check has been submitted to OL but has not yet been approved.
The name and title of supervising staff will be recorded for each shift. Staff may not have access
to client files, or unsupervised access to clients, until their background screening applications are
cleared by DHS OL.

RRCS will revise and update their policy and procedure to introduce safeguards for the
compliance monitoring of employee background screenings. This policy should specifically
address how RRCS will ensure there are no gaps between approved background screenings. The
policy will describe detailed timeframes for submitting initial and renewal background
screenings. This policy will also describe how Red Rock Canyon School will ensure that
employees do not have “direct access” to clients prior to the approval of background screenings
and if there ever is a gap in background screenings. RRCS will identify the specific person by
name/role who will be responsible for overseeing background screening compliance. This policy
shall be submitted to the Office of Licensing by May 1*, 2016, and immediately implemented.
Effective 10 days after receipt of this Notice of Agency Action and pursuant to Utah Code
62A-2-112(2), RRCS will not be allowed to admit any new clients to the Mt. Pleasant Academy
site at the Mt. Pleasant, Utah location for a minimum of 30 days and until there is written
approval from the Office of Licensing. In addition, the Office of Licensing may take further
action upon completion of the pending law enforcement investigation.

RRCS will supply a copy of this Notice of Agency Action to every current or prospective child
consumer’s parent/guardian, every state that they contract with, including Medicaid contracts, and
notify them that your license is on Conditional Status within 10 days of receipt of this notice.
You are required to post this letter prominently on your website and in a public location at the
facility where it may be read by prospective or current clients and the parents or guardians of
prospective or current clients at Red Rock Canyon School’s Mt. Pleasant Academy within 10
days of receipt of this notice.

RRCS will provide a copy of this NAA to all of the administration in direct supervision of RRCS
clients or other applicable RRCS administration. RRCS will send documentation to the Office of
Licensing no later than May 1, 2016 that a copy of the NAA was received.

When the above conditions are met to the satisfaction of the Office of Licensing, the Conditional Status
will be lifted; however, not prior to Octoberl, 2016. If the program does not comply within the above

stated time frames, then additional sanctions may be imposed.

The Office of Licensing reserves the right to amend this Notice of Agency Action.

In accordance with the Department of Human Services Administrative Hearing Procedures (Title 497),

you may request an administrative hearing if there is a disputed issue of fact. Administrative Rule
497-100-5 explains that there is no issue of fact if you present facts that on their face establish the right of
the Office of Licensing to take the action, or if the facts do not conflict with the facts relied upon by the
Office of Licensing in taking its action. This adjudicative proceeding, if requested and granted, shall be
conducted informally.
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If you choose to request an administrative hearing regarding a disputed issue of fact, you must submit
your request of appeal to the Office of Licensing in writing within 10 working days of the receipt of this
letter pursuant to Rule 497-100. Pursuant to Rule 501-1-8, a licensee shall not accept any new clients
while an appeal is pending.

All correspondence concerning this action should be addressed to:

Lisa Carter, Licensing Specialist
ldcarter@utah.gov

Utah Department of Human Services
Office of Licensing

1409 South Main Street

Nephi, Utah 84648

Please include reference to licenses 13821 on all correspondence.

Sincerely,

Jim Jennings
Licensing Specialist

Cc: Debbie Kurzban, Assistant Attorney General
195 North 1950 West
Salt Lake City, Utah 84116

Diane Moore, Director
Department of Human Services
Office of Licensing

195 North 1950 West, Suite 1101
Salt Lake City, Utah 84116
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