HB 2080 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Prepared By: Tim Walker, Budget Analyst **Meeting Dates:** 5/7, 5/10

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases fee for boating safety certificate from \$10 to \$20. Increases biennial fee for original or renewal certificate of identification number or registration for all sailboats 12 feet and longer and all motorboats from \$4.50 to \$5 plus \$5.95 per foot. Specifies that \$5 of each original or renewal certificate be deposited in the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund. Removes existing biennial fee for motorboat aquatic invasive species prevention permit. Increases application fee for original boat title or title transfer from \$50 to \$75.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Oregon State Marine Board budget
- Boat registration revenue
- Fees for non-motorized boats
- Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund
- Law enforcement contracts

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The Oregon State Marine Board (OSMB) is the state's regulatory agency for recreational boating. OSMB provides education, enforcement, access, and environmental stewardship to help make boating a safe and enjoyable experience. In 2015, the Legislature passed HB 2459, which increased the biennial fee for boat registration from \$3 to \$4.50 and increased the original boat title or title transfer application fee from \$30 to \$50. According to OSMB, registration revenue has decreased by 10% since 2015.

HB 2080 would increase fees for boating safety certificates, registration, or identification number certificates for sailboats over 12 feet and motorboats, and boat title or title transfers, and would specify that \$5 of each registration or identification number certificate be deposited in the Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention Fund.