HB 2076 Aquatic Invasive Species (Boat Inspections)



Larry Warren, Director

### Background

- 2009 HB 2220: established Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) Prevention Program (Boat permits + voluntary boat inspections)
- 2009 -HB 2583: illegal to launch a boat with AIS attached to the exterior of a boat or present within the interior
- 2011 HB 3399: created mandatory boat inspection station authority
- 2017 –HB 2321: failed due to session ending with no concurrence between House & Senate amendments



#### **Boat Inspection Station Locations**



#### **Contaminated Boats are Coming**









### Western States with Invasive Mussel Contaminated Waters

- Southern California
- Arizona
- Nevada
- Utah
- North Dakota
- South Dakota
- Nebraska

- Kansas
- Oklahoma
- Texas
- Montana (Positive water sample for juvenile life stage confirmed in 2016, no new positive samples since then)





# **Inspection Station Activity**





### **Boats With AIS Attached**



AIS contaminated boats found with snails, aquatic vegetation or various salt water species attached



### **Boat Inspection Station State-wide Compliance**





### **Boat Inspection Station Enforcement**



Law Enforcement agencies spend four hours per week at inspection stations monitoring for compliance Lack authority to direct people who bypass a station to return for inspection/decontamination



## HB 2076

# Requires all boaters to drain standing water after retrieving their boat:

- Open all drain plugs, bailers, valves or other devices used to control the draining of water from ballast tanks, bilges, live wells and motor wells
- Boats must be transported within the state with no standing water and all drain plugs removed
- Class D violation (presumptive \$30 fine for nonmotorized, \$50 fine for motorized)
- Exemptions for law enforcement and emergency responders





States that already have a similar law in-place: AZ, CO, KA, MN, MT, ND, NM, NV, SD, TX, UT, VT, WY



## HB 2076

Gives law enforcement the authority to require a vehicle transporting a boat that bypasses an open inspection station, to return to the station for inspection/decontamination if the station is open and within five miles of the location of the enforcement stop

- Failure to return to the station –Class C misdemeanor; language modeled after ODOT check station language
- Class D violation for bypassing an open station (existing law)





### HB 2076

Requires a person to cooperate with the recommended boat decontamination process at an inspection station

• Class D violation for not complying with a decontamination order





#### **Questions?**



Boat from Oklahoma encrusted with mussels found through inspection