HB 2078 A
Boater Education Card

({111} Boater Education Card
.. John Q. Boater

CARD NUMEBER 10100
DATE OF BERTH 021855

HARCOLOR  BROWN
EYE COLOR  BLUE
GENDER  MALE
ISSUE DATE  02/02/2005

Card MUST be carried on board

h when operating powerboat
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HB 2078 A

Mandatory Boater Education
Program Update & Summary

Goal: “To reduce accidents, injuries, deaths, and property
damage, and to reduce conflict, on Oregon’s waterways.”
than 10 hp.

HB 2977 was passed by the 1999 Oregon Legislature.
Applies to persons 12 and older operating any craft greater

Age-based phase-in from 2003 to 2009.

355,000 Boater Education Cards issued to date.
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Boater Education Benefits

BEC NoBEC

1999 108 5.4

Oregon Fatality Trends 2018 72 68

(per 100,000 registered boats) %
“hange -33% 25%

(5 Year Average. Deaths
per year, unadjusted)
Oregon Fatal Rate - All

Oregon Fatal Rate - BEC
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Issue: 60 Day Exemption BN -
Then:

Oregon was the first state west of the Mississippi to
iImplement Mandatory Boater Education.

Broad education infrastructure was not in place.

Legislators supported a 60 day exemption to minimize
Impact to tourism and marine retailers.
Now:

43 of 50 states now have some form of mandatory boater
education.

Online and classroom education is broadly available,
affordable and effective. m
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concern

Oregon has a high rate of “churn,”
- lots of novices.

Boating diversity has increased dramatically.
Power boats are getting larger, heavier and faster.
More manually powered boats than ever.

New Opportunity

Novice boaters have ample access to quality boater
education courses prior to purchasing a boat.

Many visitors have state boater education requirements, or
have easy access to the training.

Educated boaters see the exemption as a loophole that
endangers others on the water.
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Solution:

Remove the 60-day exemption for people who
purchase a new or used boat.

Remove the 60-day exemption for out-of-state visitors.
Oregon would recognize certifications issued by home
state.

Require all boat operators to complete an approved
boating safety course BEFORE operating vessel.
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