

Co-Chairs Roblan and Smith Warner, Co-Vice Chairs Knopp and Smith, and members of the Joint Committee on Student Success:

Thank you for the continued opportunities you have provided for school board members across the state to provide input as you build momentum toward this oncein-a-generation investment in education. Our more than 581,000 students in Oregon's public K-12 schools desperately need your support, and you are paving a path toward their success.

As a local school board member, and now as president of the Oregon School Boards Association's Board of Directors, I have watched with mounting frustration as our state has failed its students over the past three decades by underfunding our schools. Our organization over the past several years has made it our chief legislative priority to reverse this trend by agreeing on a system of revenue reform and working to contain spiraling costs.

Over the past year-plus, the members of the Joint Committee on Student Success have patiently listened as education advocates have described what kind of school system our kids deserve, how we should pay for it, and how best to ensure that schools are being held accountable for using the funds wisely.

I am very impressed and pleased with the direction the committee is going. OSBA fully supports HB3427 and we urge you to pass it for the following reasons:

- This is a step in the right direction toward fully funding the Quality Education Model, which defines the system our students deserve to be successful.
- The tax plan provides the right balance to ensure a sustainable investment in education. It is broad and stable, exempts groceries and most agricultural activity, and includes a modest income tax reduction for most Oregonians.
- This model for the Student Success Fund will allow for targeted investments to address the unique needs of each district's student population it is NOT a one-size-fits-all approach. It also creates a system of support and redirection if a district is not making progress toward its academic metrics as identified in plans submitted to the Oregon Department of Education.

This is the right plan at the right time. It embraces Oregonians' consistent support for a strong education system and their willingness to pay for it. I salute your work and thank you for your dedication to creating a better Oregon for future generations.

Jays 7 Morrison

Tass Morrison, President OSBA Board of Directors Member, North Santiam School Board

OFFICERS

President Tass Morrison North Santiam SD

President-elect Kevin Cassidy Baker SD

Vice President Scott Rogers Athena-Weston SD

Secretary-Treasurer Maureen Wolf Tigard-Tualatin SD

Past President LeeAnn Larsen Beaverton SD

DIRECTORS

Paul Anthony Portland PS

Jackie Crook South Coast ESD

Terry Deacon Linn Benton Lincoln ESD Sherry Duerst-Higgins Lane ESD/South Lane SD

Bill Graupp Oregon School Board Members of Color Caucus

Liz Hartman Lake Oswego SD

Kris Howatt Gresham-Barlow SD

Greg Kintz Vernonia SD

Melissa LaCrosse Jefferson SD

Erika Lopez Hillsboro SD

Patti Norris

Crook County SD Brandy Penner Newberg SD

Craig Prewitt Phoenix-Talent SD

Betty Reynolds West Linn-Wilsonville SD

Lori Theros Klamath Falls City Schools

Michelle Vo Corbett SD

EX-OFFICIO DIRECTORS

COSA/OASE Craig Hawkins OAESD Bob Moore State Board of Education Anthony Veliz

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Jim Green

DEPUTY EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR Mary Paulson