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SB 164 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY
House Committee On Business and Labor

Prepared By: Jan Nordlund, LPRO Analyst
Meeting Dates: 4/17

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:
Makes employer's failure to comply with rules of the defined contribution plan of the Oregon Retirement Savings
Board an unlawful practice. Allows Board to request investigation by the Commissioner of Bureau of Labor and
Industries (BOLI) under specified conditions. Authorizes employee to submit complaint to BOLI no earlier than two
years after employer is required to register with plan. Authorizes BOLI to investigate requests from Board and
complaints from employees. Authorizes Commissioner to assess civil penalties of up to $100 per eligible
employee, not to exceed aggregate amount of $5,000 in a year. Requires BOLI to inform Board of final orders
issued. Takes effect 91st day following adjournment sine die. 

Minimal fiscal impact

No revenue impact

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:
No amendment.

BACKGROUND:
In 2015, the Legislative Assembly created the seven-member Oregon Retirement Savings Board (Board), chaired
by the State Treasurer. In 2017, the Board created OregonSaves, a defined contribution retirement plan. 

Employers with 20 or more employees are required to automatically enroll their employees in OregonSaves if the
employer does not offer a qualified retirement plan. Employees enrolled in OregonSaves make post-tax
contributions to a Roth IRA which is administered by the Oregon State Treasury. Employers do not contribute to
OregonSaves accounts.  

Currently, no enforcement process exists for ensuring compliance with Board plans. Senate Bill 164-A authorizes
BOLI to enforce the Board's rules governing retirement plans using BOLI's contested case process. The Board can
request BOLI investigate if, after making three attempts using different forms of communication, the Board has
reasonable grounds to believe the employer remains in violation. BOLI can accept complaints from employees no
earlier than two years following the date by which an employer is required to register with OregonSaves. 

Senate vote: 23-7

Senate Workforce Committee: 5-0


