
HISTORY OF GEOLOGIST LICENSURE 
 
Thirty-one (31) states & one (1) territory require geologist licensure 
 
See list below and attached map. 
 
  State/Territory  Licensure Established 

1)   ARIZONA    1956   
2)   CALIFORNIA   1968   
3)   IDAHO    1971         
4)   DELAWARE   1972        
5)   MAINE    1973         
6)   GEORGIA    1975 
7)   OREGON   1977  Celebrated 40 years in 2017!  
8)   VIRGINIA    1981 
9)   NORTH CAROLINA  1984 
10) SOUTH CAROLINA  1986 
11) ARKANSAS   1988 
12) FLORIDA    1988 
13) KENTUCKY   1992 
14) PENNSYLVANIA  1993 
15) MISSOURI    1994 
16) WISONSIN    1994 
17) ALABAMA    1995 
18) MINNESOTA   1995 
19) ILLINOIS    1996 
20) PUERTO RICO   1996 
21) KANSAS    1997 
22) MISSISSIPPI   1997 
23) WYOMING    1997 
24) INDIANA    1998 
25) NEBRASKA   1999 
26) NEW HAMPSHIRE  2000 
27) WASHINGTON   2001   
28) TEXAS    2001   
29) UTAH    2002 
30) TENNESSEE   2008 
31) LOUISIANA   2011 
32) NEW YORK   2016 

      



The states and territory of Puerto Rico work together through the National 
Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) to provide for a defensible, 
national licensure examination.  ASBOG was formed as a non-profit organization 
in the mid-1980s, and Oregon started to participate with ASBOG in 1989.  Oregon 
was one of the first ten (10) states to support ASBOG as a means to improve the 
licensure examination.  Oregon has relied on the ASBOG examination as the 
standard for licensure since 1996.  Prior to this, OSBGE relied on an Oregon only 
examination.  With the ASBOG examination, individuals can use the exam results 
in every U.S. jurisdiction that requires licensure. 

Oregon Geologist Licensure 
OSBGE was established by action of the 1977 Oregon Legislature.  The statutory 
mission of OSBGE is to regulate the practice of geology to “safeguard the health 
and welfare and property of the people of Oregon.  These safeguards are in the 
fields of geology as related to engineering, groundwater, land use planning, 
mineral exploration and development, geologic hazards, the further development of 
the science of geology, and other geologic matters of concern to the people of the 
state.” (ORS 672.515) 
 
Oregon Revised Statutes for OSBGE:   ORS 672.505 to 672.991 
Oregon Administrative Rules for OSBGE:  OAR Chapter 809 
 
OSBGE is a six (6) member board:  

• Four (4) geologists and one (1) public member appointed by the Governor*  
• The “State Geologist” (i.e., Director of the Oregon Dept. of Geology & 

Mineral Industries) serve as an ex-officio member.   
*for 3-year terms but limited to 2 consecutive terms (i.e., 6 years) 

 
Oregon is one (1) of three (3) states with a Certified Engineering Geology (CEG) 
specialty.  Washington and California are the other states.  The licensure boards for 
the three states have a history of collaboration with respect to this specialty 
registration.  The need for the specialty registration in these states is based on the 
particular geologic conditions and hazards of the region. 
 
OSBGE is staffed with a Board Administrator (Executive Director) and a 
Registration Specialist.   
 
As of 04/10/2019, OSBGE has active licenses as follows: 

• 85 Geologists-in-Training (GIT), with 76% living in Oregon 
• 1083 Registered Geologists (RG), with 47% living in Oregon  
• 230 Certified Engineering Geologists (CEG), with 50% living in Oregon 



 





     85  Geologist-in-Training (GIT) 
 1083 Registered Geologist (RG) 
   230 RGs are also Certified Engineering Geologists (CEGs) 
 
 47% of RGs & 50% of CEGS reside in Oregon 
 76% of GITs reside in Oregon                                                          
        Data as of 04/10/2019 

Registrant Snapshot  

 

Oregon Geologist Snapshot 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Registration Standards  

EXAMINATION:  (offered twice/year , spr ing & fall) 
National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) exam 
 Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Section—must pass for GIT, RG 
 Practice of Geology (PG) Section—must pass for RG 
 RG must pass OR-WA or CA Engineering Geology exam for CEG. 
 
EDUCATION FOR EXAM/REGISTRATION: 
45 quarter hrs. (30 semester hrs.) of geology coursework from accredited      
college or university, with 80% upper division coursework as determined by 
OSBGE. Individual can sit for the FG Section if the education standard is met 
and then apply for the GIT if FG Section is passed. 
 
EXPERIENCE FOR EXAM/REGISTRATION:  
For the RG, a minimum of 7 years of geology experience is required: 
  4 years maximum for education (2 years granted for 45 quarter hrs.) 
       and 
  Minimum 3 years (full time) under supervision of qualified geologist  
        or  
  Minimum 5 years (full time) in responsible charge (e.g., work for  
 federal government, work in another state without registration.) 
 
An individual can sit for the PG Section if the education & experience standards 
are met. RG registration requires meeting the education, experience minimums 
& passage of the ASBOG FG & PG Sections. 
 
EXPERIENCE FOR CEG: (A) 3 years under  supervision of qualified engi-
neering geologist, (B) 5 years in responsible charge of engineering geological 
projects, or (C) 5 years experience from a combination of (A) and (B).  
 
(See OAR 809-030-0015 for alternative path for geology faculty.) 

https://www.oregon.gov/OSBGE/Pages/default.aspx
mailto:osbge.info@oregon.gov


OSBGE’s Mission  
 
Help assure the health, safety, and welfare of Oregonians with regard to the public practice of geology 
through: 

 Licensing of those engaged in the public practice of geology;  
 Response to complaints from the public and members of the profession;  
 Public education directed at appropriate regulatory communities;  
 Cooperation with closely related boards and commissions;  
 Attention to ethics; and  
 Systematic outreach to counties, cities, and registrants. 

 
                                  Highlights from the OSBGE Timeline 

 
1977  Authorizing statutes passed & signed by Governor Straub 
1978  OSBGE’s first year of meetings, registration grandfathering throughout the year 
1979  All registrations from here on based on meeting exam, education, and experience standards 
1984  Modern form of Code of Professional Conduct adopted in OSBGE rule 
1995  RGs added as eligible for Certified Water Rights Examiner registration via OSBEELS 
1996  Exam standard switched from OR exam to national ASBOG exam 
1999  Designated semi-independent agency (following pilot started in 1997) 
2001  Memorandum of Understanding—OSBGE and OSBEELS 
2012  OSBGE accepting CA engineering geology exam for CEG cooperative registration 
2014 Updated report guidelines and new professional practices guidance released 
2015  CA accepting OR-WA engineering geology exam for CEG cooperative registration 
2015 New Memorandum of Understanding—OSBGE and OSBEELS 
2017 40th Anniversary of OSBGE establishment by action of the Oregon Legislature 
2018  40th Anniversary of Geologist Registration in Oregon, first registrations issued in 1978 

Phone:  503-566-2837 

Fax:  503-485-2947 

E-mail:  osbge.info@oregon.gov 

We’re on the Web at  

https://www.oregon.gov/

osbge/pages/default.aspx 

 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/osbge/Pages/default.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/osbge/Pages/default.aspx
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