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April 10, 2019 
 
TO:  House Committee on Business and Labor 
 
FR:  Laurie Egan, MNAA 
        949 Sagrada Circle N. 
        Keizer, OR  97303 
 
       Coalition of Oregon Real Estate Appraisers 
       6700 SW 105th Ave, Suite 200 
       Beaverton, OR  97008 
 
       National Association of Appraisers 
       7113 San Pedro Ave, Suite 508 
       San Antonio, TX 78216 
        
RE:  SB 109 A, Oregon Appraisers and Evaluations 
 
Dear Chair Barker and Members of the Committee, 
 
My name is Laurie Egan and I am a Certified Residential Appraiser residing in Keizer, Oregon. I have been a member 
of the appraisal profession for over 30 years and owned an Oregon‐based appraisal firm for over two decades 
before moving into the Collateral Risk and Regulatory Compliance world of banking.  I presently serve as an officer 
of the Coalition of Oregon Real Estate Appraisers (COREA) representing Oregon appraisers across the state.  I also 
serve as  Immediate Past President and Association Manager of The National Association of Appraisers  (NAA) 
representing appraisers across the country.  As a little history, HB 3079 was sponsored by Rep. Paul Holvey at the 
request of the Coalition of Oregon Real Estate Appraisers and was subsequently incorporated into SB 109.  I write 
today in support of SB 109 A.   
 
Background 
Under Title XI of  the Financial  Institutions Reform, Recovery and Enforcement Act of 1989  (FIRREA), Congress 
mandates that all appraisals for federally related real estate transactions be prepared by state licensed or certified 
appraisers.  In order to protect federal financial and public policy  interests as well as to satisfy safe and sound 
lending practices, FIRREA also requires that appraisals be prepared in accordance with the Uniform Standards of 
Professional Appraisal Practice (USPAP).   
 
FIRREA also grants authority to the Federal agencies  (e.g. FDIC, OCC, et al) charged with oversight of financial 
institutions to identify categories of real estate transactions that do not require the services of an appraiser and 
therefore do not require the corresponding valuation products to be prepared  in compliance with USPAP. The 
Agencies determined that residential transactions with a transaction value of less than $250,000, and amended 
to include business loans secured by real estate under $1,000,000, would not require an appraisal (performed by 
a state  licensed or certified appraiser  in accordance with USPAP) and  that an “evaluation” could be obtained 
instead. An evaluation  is an opinion of market value which may be prepared by non‐appraisers and that  is not 
required to be prepared in compliance with USPAP.  USPAP compliant appraisals require a much higher standard 
of care and diligence than non‐USPAP compliant evaluations. 
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Additionally,  on  November  20,  2018,  the  Federal  Deposit  Insurance  Corporation  (FDIC)  issued  proposed 
rulemaking that would increase the $250,000 residential threshold (referred to as the de minimis) to $400,000, 
which will undoubtedly increase the utilization of (non‐appraiser prepared) evaluations by financial institutions.  
 
The Issue 
In Oregon, real estate appraisers are required to be licensed or certified by the Oregon Appraiser Certification and 
Licensure Board and are required to comply with USPAP when developing and reporting all opinions of value.  The 
issue is that “evaluations” are not USPAP compliant therefore, due to technical language in Oregon statute, the 
very  individuals most qualified  to provide “evaluation” services  (Oregon  licensed and certified appraisers) are 
specifically barred  from doing  so. Evaluations are  therefore being performed exclusively by non‐appraisers  in 
Oregon. 
 
In  light of  the  last  financial  crisis, one  can  certainly debate  the merits  and/or prudence  of  the utilization of 
evaluations in lieu of appraisals, however, this is not the issue we are addressing.  We believe Oregon’s citizens 
and  financial  institutions would  be  best  served  and  protected  by  allowing  appraisers  to  perform  evaluation 
services and we simply wish to  introduce “house‐keeping”  language  into Oregon  law which would remove the 
(likely unintentional) exclusion of state licensed and certified appraisers from providing these services.   
 
The Solution 
The solution is really quite simple:  correct technical language in Oregon statute in order to allow Oregon licensed 
and certified appraisers to conduct evaluations outside of the confines of USPAP.  With little opposition, similar 
legislation has been  enacted  in  several  states  including North Carolina,  Florida, Georgia,  Illinois,  Indiana  and 
Tennessee which does just that.  SB 109‐1 amended to incorporate HB 3079 accomplishes the same.    
 
We are not opposed to qualified non‐appraisers performing evaluations, however, we strongly feel that it is in the 
best interest of Oregonians that those most qualified to perform evaluations (appraisers) not be prohibited from 
doing so.  It is my hope that you concur and will support SB 109 A.   
 
Thank you for your consideration of my comments and please do feel free to contact me with any questions.   
 
Laurie Egan, MNAA 
Oregon State Certified Residential Appraiser 
Officer 
Coalition of Oregon Real Estate Appraisers 
Immediate Past President/Association Manager 
National Association of Appraisers 
Constituent 
House District 25; Senate District 13 
503‐781‐4857 
laurie@eganoffice.com 


