March 30, 2019
Dear Senators Prozanski, Thatcher, Bentz, Fagan, Gesler, Linticum and Manning Jr.:
Re: Senate Bill 978-1 Amendments; Sections 1-3

| oppose Senate Bill 978-1 amendments and | am requesting that you encourage a no vote for
the following reasons:

We are, first of all, citizens of the United States of America and the Constitution of the United
States follows us where ever we may go, including the federal Constitution’s Second
Amendment.

Those of us who reside within Oregon’s borders are residents of the State of Oregon and
Oregon’s Constitution Article 1 Bill of Rights, Section 27 clearly states “The people shall have
the right to bear arms for the defence [sic] of themselves, and the State...”

Throughout federal and Oregon State statutes, a person age 18 and older is defined as an
adult. Persons under the age of 18 are defined as a minor.

Sections 1 through 3 will allow arbitrary discrimination to deny or severely restrict legal adults
in the age group of 18 through 20 of their federal and state constitutional rights, not because of
their character, criminal history, mental health or illicit drug use, but simply because of their
age.

The vast majority of that age group are responsible residents of Oregon. Are we at that point in
history when our government wants to punish the many because of the one?

| find it irresponsibly unethical and alarming that an 18-20 year old adult can serve his or her
country in the military and sent overseas to kill people or die, yet has his or her right to own a
firearm is either denied or severely restricted.

That, in itself, is morally incomprehensible.

If Oregon is going to treat the age group of 18-20 year olds as children (“minors”), then why are
we letting them join the military? After all, sending children to war would be considered
reprehensible in any civilized society.

If the age group of 18-20 year olds are so irresponsible then why are we allowing them to vote,
let alone drive? Fatal car accidents are the number one killer of teenagers. If “we can just save
one life” is the mantra of the day then perhaps we should consider increasing the age for a
driver’s license. And increase the voting age to 21 as well.



Unfortunately, nothing can be done about handgun purchases for that age group because of
the federal Gun Control Act of 1968. However, the criminally inclined have no problem
circumventing that law.

There are other issues | am concerned about regarding the amendments to SB 978 of which |
will address later. For now, the proposed amendments to SB 978 should be removed. Too
many of them are seriously flawed, morally and ethically.

Michael Getty
119 South K
Lakeview, OR 97630

Michael Getty
gettym6@gmail.com
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March 30, 2019
Dear Senators Prozanski, Thatcher, Bentz, Fagan, Gesler, Linticum and Manning Jr.:
Re: Senate Bill 978-1 Amendments; Sections 4-13

| oppose Senate Bill 978-1 amendments and 1 am requesting that you encourage a no vote for the
following reasons:

We are, first of all, citizens of the United States of America and the Constitution of the United States
follows us where ever we may go, including the federal Constitution’s Second Amendment and United
States Supreme Court decisions.

Those of us who reside within Oregon’s borders are residents of the State of Oregon and Oregon’s
Constitution Article 1 Bill of Rights, Section 27 clearly states “The people shall have the right to bear
arms for the defence [sic] of themselves, and the State...”

SECTIONS 4 through 13 require that all firearms be locked up with a trigger lock and/or a cable lock or in
a locked container or in a gun room with a “tamper-resistant” lock, all of which must meet the minimum
specifications of the Oregon Health Authority, loss reporting and establishes penalties, liability.

All of the Sections 4-13 are in direct viclation of the District of Columbia et al. v. Heller United States Supreme
Court decision of June 26, 2008:

“Under any of the standards of scrutiny the Court has applied to enumerated constitutional rights, this
prohibition—in the place where the importance of the lawful defense of self, family, and property is most
acute—would fail constitutional muster. Similarly, the requirement that any lawful firearm in the home be
disassembled or bound by a trigger lock makes it impossible for citizens to use arms for the core lawful
purpose of seif-defense and is hence unconstitutional.” [emphasis added]

Obviously, any penalty and threat of liability within these sections are unenforceable. Itis
unconstitutional to require that firearms be locked in some manner in the home.

Besides, trigger or cable locks, padlocks and locked boxes can be easily circumvented with basic tools
such as drills, bolt cutters, lock picks, electric metal cutters and other manual tools. How does one
prove the firearms were properly stored if the thief(s) take the evidence of such with them?

Section 8 requires that loss or theft of a firearm shall be reported within 72 hours or face a penalty.
Reporting the loss or theft of a firearm should be voluntary. Lawful owners will report a loss in hopes of
gaining the firearm back and the satisfaction of seeing the thief prosecuted and punished.

Itis reprehensible to think that the victim of a crime can be held liable for a third party’s crime. Would a
reasonable person apply that to just about everything that can be used to harm or kill — even stolen cars.
| think not.

Sections 4-13 are nothing more than a high handed attempt to coerce lawful and responsible firearm
owners into submission to comply with an unconstitutional law.

Michael Getty

119 South K
Lakeview, OR 97630




March 30, 2019
Dear Senators Prozanski, Thatcher, Bentz, Fagan, Gesler, Linticum and Manning Jr.:
Re: Senate Bill 978-1 Amendments; Sections 14 — 21, 24 and Section 32

| oppose Senate Bill 978-1 amendments and | am requesting that you encourage a no vote for the
following reasons:

Sections 14 through 21 deal with undetectable and untraceable firearms and the possession thereof.

Section 17 {b) requires that a firearm must have a serial number. However, the federal government did

not require serialization of firearms until passage of the Gun Control Act of 1968. There may be millions
of firearms without serial numbers and the general public will be unaware of the requirement regardless
of any attempt to inform the public. {Yes, ignorance of the law is bliss).

This section must be changed to eliminate any penalty if an owner is found to possess a firearm without
a serial number manufactured prior to the passage of the Gun Control Act of 1968 and should be issued
only a warning and directive to have the firearm serialized by a gun smith. A reasonable time should be
allowed since many owners in eastern Oregon live 100 miles or more from a reputable gun smith. The
State Police can develop a validation form.

Sections 19 and 20 must be purged of any reference to penalties for unlawful storage since all of the
Sections 4 through 13 are in direct violation of the District of Columbia et al. v. Heller United States
Supreme Court decision of June 26, 2008:

“Under any of the standards of scrutiny the Court has applied to enumerated constitutional rights, this
prohibition—in the place where the importance of the lawful defense of self, family, and property is most
acute—would fail constitutional muster. Similarly, the requirement that any lawful firearm in the home be
disassembied or bound by a trigger lock makes it impossible for citizens to use arms for the core lawful
purpose of self-defense and is hence unconstitutional.” [Emphasis added]

Section 24 — | fail to see why there is a charge of $15 for the State Police for conducting a fingerprint
check while on duty unless the federal government’s NICS program charges them. There is no “extra
cost” while performing their duties. They are paid no matter what. They are not a for-profit
organizaticon.

The same applies to a county sheriff. Charges should be applied for the actual cost of the printed
permit. Most fingerprints are now done electronically and such machines have been in use for some
now and are needed primarily for the incarceration of inmates. Charges for a duplicate or renewal
license should be restricted to the actual cost of the laminated permit.

if the additional fees are approved then the public must be allowed a concession for the higher cost with
a five (5) year expiration term rather than the current four (4) years.

Section 32 declares an emergency. What is the emergency? There is no emergency. The use of the
emergency clause has been severely abused for the last two years.

‘ﬁfil Getty

119 South K
Lakeview, OR 97630




March 30, 2019
Re: Senate Bill 978
Dear Senators Prozanski, Thatcher, Bentz, Fagan, Gesler, Linthicum and Manning Jr.:

| oppose Senate Bill 978 amendments and | am requesting that you encourage a no vote for the
following reasons:

We are, first of all, citizens of the United States of America and the Constitution of the United States
follows us where ever we may go, including the Constitution’s Second Amendment.

Those of us who reside within Oregon’s borders are residents of the State of Oregon and Oregon's
Constitution Article 1 Bill of Rights, Section 27 clearly states “The people shall have the right to bear
arms for the defence [sic] of themselves, and the State...”

Senate Bill 978, as amended, denies the residents of Oregon their constitutional right of self-defense, as
well as restricting our federal constitutional right to bear arms.

Sections 26 through 29 of the amendment regarding concealed handgun licenses (CHL) essentially
revokes the power of the States’ preemption law to create statute through legislation and allows
bureaucrats, whether appointed, locally elected or unelected, to deny the residents of Oregon their
federal and state right to self-defense through an ordinance or policy.

It would create a legal nightmare.

According to the Oregon State Police, as of December 1, 2016, there were 249,260 CHLs in Oregon.
(Closer to 300,000 or more by now). At that time there were 76,378 CHLs in the Portland metropolitan
district, 20,467 in Lane County, 16,984 in Marion County, 11,415 in Linn County and 14,558 in Jackson
County.

Add the other three of the top ten; Deschutes has 13,202, Douglas 10,313 and Colombia has 8,810 CHLs.
That is a whopping 172,237 (69.1%) of the CHLs in Oregon and contains most of the colleges,
universities, schools and most populated cities and counties in Oregon.

Sections 26 through 29 have nothing to do with preservation of the public peace, health and safety.
There is no emergency. It is designed to be nothing more than a trap. | would go even further and call it
entrapment. Parents picking up their children at school should not be placed in fear of violating an
“ordinance or policy” and losing their constitutional right to keep and bear arms.

The right of self-defense does not stop at our front door. However, | believe that some restrictions
should apply such as the existing ones in place. | would also agree that higher education students, even
though qualified to have a CHL, should not carry within a classroom. However, everyone so qualified
should be allowed to carry on campus and grounds adjacent to or owned by the college, university or
school and statewide under existing law.

There are other issues | am concerned about regarding the amendments to SB 978 of which | will
address later. For now, the proposed amendments to SB 978 should be removed. Too many of them
are seriously flawed.

Micthael Getty

119 South K

Lakeview, OR 97630



