OREGON SENTENCING GUIDELINES

Michael Schmidt, JD Executive Director

Kenneth Sanchagrin, JD PhD Research Director

Oregon Sentencing Changes Timeline Measure 11 Identity Measure Theft 57 Repeat Sentencing Justice Property Guidelines Reinvestment Offender 1995 2005 2015 1985 1990 2000 2010 Community Safety and Measure 57 Measure 57 **Corrections Act** Savings Act Suspended Reinstated (SB 1145)

The Oregon Sentencing Guidelines Grid

Crime Seriousness	Α	В	С	D	Ε	F	G	Н	I	Prob Term	Max Depart	PPS
11	225- 269	196- 224	178- 194	164- 177	149- 163	135- 148	129- 134	122- 128	120- 121			
10	121-	116-	111-	91-	81-	71-	66-	61-	58-	5		
	130 66-	120 61-	115 56-	110 51-	90 46-	80 41-	70 39-	65 37-	60 34-	Years		3
9	72	65	60	55	50	45	40	38	36			Years
8	41- 45	35- 40	29- 34	27- 28	25- 26	23- 24	21- 22	19- 20	16- 18			
7	31- 36	25- 30	21- 24	19- 20	16- 18	180 90	180 90	180 90	180 90	3 Years		
6	25- 30	19- 24	15- 18	13- 14	10- 12	180 90	180 90	180 90	180 90		18 Mos.	
5	15- 16	13- 14	11- 12	9-10	6-8	180 90	120 60	120 60	120 60		12 14	2 Years
4	10- 11	8-9	120 60	2 Years	12 Mos.							
3	120 60	120 60	120 60	120 60	120 60	120 60	90 30	90 30	90 30			
2	90 30	1½	6 Mos.	1 Year								
1	90 30	Years										

The presumptive grid block for any felony conviction is the intersection where the crime seriousness ranking and the criminal history classification meet. Grid blocks in the shaded area represent the range of presumptive imprisonment and post-prison supervision (PPS). Non-shaded grid blocks are presumptive sentences of probation (Prob. Term) with local custodial sanctions in days (upper number) and maximum jail days without a departure (lower number).

In grid blocks 4-C and 4-D, for offenders sentenced under 2011 Oregon Laws ch 598 (SB 395), the upper number of sanction units shall be 180, and the lower number of sanction units shall be 90. Offenders sentenced under 2011 Oregon Laws ch 598 shall serve a mandatory minimum term of incarceration of 90 days without reduction for any reason.

The probation term of 5 years applies to levels 9-11, the term of 3 years applies to levels 6-8, 2 years applies to levels 3-5, and 1 $\frac{1}{2}$ years applies to levels 1-2.

Criminal History Categories

Oregon Administrative Rule 213-004-0007 defines criminal history categories.

Α	The criminal history includes three or more person felonies in any combination of adult convictions or juvenile adjudications.
В	The criminal history includes two person felonies in any combination of adult convictions or juvenile adjudications.
с	The criminal history includes one adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony; and one or more adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a non-person felony.
D	The criminal history includes one adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony but no adult conviction or juvenile adjudications for a non-person felony.
E	The criminal history includes four or more adult convictions for non-person felonies but no adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony.
F	The criminal history includes two or three adult convictions for non-person felonies but no adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony.
G	The criminal history includes four or more adult convictions for Class A misdemeanors; one adult conviction for a non-person felony; or three or more juvenile adjudications for non-person felonies, but no adult conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony.
н	The criminal history includes no adult felony conviction or juvenile adjudication for a person felony; no more than two juvenile adjudications for non-person felonies; and no more than three adult convictions for Class A misdemeanors.
I	The criminal history does not include any juvenile adjudication for a felony or any adult conviction for a felony or Class A misdemeanor.

Sentencing Guidelines (1989)

OREGON SENTENCING DEPARTURES

AGGRAVATING FACTORS

MITIGATING FACTORS

- (A) Deliberate cruelty to victim.
- (B) The offender knew or had reason to know of the victim's particular vulnerability, such as the extreme youth, age, disability or ill health of victim, which increased the harm or threat of harm caused by the criminal conduct.
- (C) Threat of or actual violence toward a witness or victim.
- (D) Persistent involvement in similar offenses or repetitive assaults. This factor may be cited when consecutive sentences are imposed only if the persistent involvement in similar offenses or repetitive assaults is unrelated to the current offense.
- (E) Use of a weapon in the commission of the offense.
- (F) The offense involved a violation of public trust or professional responsibility.
- (G) The offense involved multiple victims or incidents. This factor may not be cited when it is captured in a consecutive sentence.
- (H) The crime was part of an organized criminal operation.
- (I) The offense resulted in a permanent injury to the victim.
- (]) The degree of harm or loss attributed to the current crime of conviction was significantly greater than typical for such an offense.
- (K) The offense was motivated entirely or in part by the race, color, religion, ethnicity, national origin or sexual orientation of the victim.
- (L) Disproportionate impact (for Theft I under ORS 164.055, and Aggravated Theft I under ORS 164.057).

- (A) The victim was an aggressor or participant in the criminal conduct associated with the crime of conviction.
- (B) The defendant acted under duress or compulsion (not sufficient as a complete defense).
- (C) The defendant's mental capacity was diminished (excluding diminished capacity due to voluntary drug or alcohol abuse).
- (D) The offense was principally accomplished by another and the defendant exhibited extreme caution or concern for the victim.
- (E) The offender played a minor or passive role in the crime.
- (F) The offender cooperated with the state with respect to the current crime of conviction or any other criminal conduct by the offender or other person. The offender's refusal to cooperate with the state shall not be considered an aggravating factor.
- (G) The degree of harm or loss attributed to the current crime of conviction was significantly less than typical for such an offense.
- (H) The offender's criminal history indicates that the offender lived conviction-free within the community for a significant period of time preceding his or her current crime of conviction.
- (I) The offender is amenable to treatment and an appropriate treatment program is available to which
 the offender can be admitted within a reasonable period of time; the treatment program is likely to be
 more effective than the presumptive prison term in reducing the risk of offender recidivism; and the
 probation sentence will serve community safety interests by promoting offender reformation.
- (J) The offender's status as a service member as defined in ORS 135.881.

BALLOT MEASURE 11

- In 1994, Oregon Voters passed Ballot Measure 11, which:
 - Created mandatory minimum prison sentences for 16 violent or sexual offenses, and
 - Created a mandatory waiver for juveniles 15 years of age or older who committed those 16 crimes.
- Since 1994, the Legislature amended Measure 11:
 - Adding six crimes to those carrying mandatory minimum prison sentences,
 - Increasing certain sentences, and
 - Allowing certain offenders convicted of "second degree" or less serious offenses to be eligible for an "opt out" of Measure 11 if they meet certain criteria.
- Laws related to Measure 11 and the subsequent changes can be found in ORS 137.700, ORS 137.707, and ORS 137.712.

COMMUNITY CORRECTIONS ACT SB 1145 (1995)

- Senate Bill 1145 created a new relationship between the State and Counties in the area of community corrections. Following SB 1145, counties assumed responsibility for adults convicted of a felony:
 - On parole,
 - On probation,
 - On post-prison supervision,
 - Sentenced to 12 months or less of incarceration, or
 - Sentenced to 12 months or less for violating a condition of parole or post-prison supervision.
- The distinction between state and county responsibility for an adult who has been convicted of a crime is based on the length of incarceration, not the labels of misdemeanor and felony.
 - Twelve months or less county jail.
 - Twelve months of more DOC.

REPEAT PROPERTY OFFENDER RPO 1996



- In a special session in 1996, the Legislature passed HB 3488, creating the Repeat Property Offender Law (ORS 137.717).
- The RPO created sentences of 13 months for certain property offenders with a goal of having adult property offenders spend time in state prison versus Oregon's jail system.

MEASURE II "OPT OUT" SB 1049

- In 1997, SB 1049 allowed for an "opt out" of the mandatory minimum sentence if certain criteria are met for "second degree" offenses (ORS 137.712).
- The criteria for the "opt out" sentence are different depending on the crime. The judge must make all of the required findings on the record by a preponderance of the evidence.
- Additionally, a probation sentence can be granted if the court finds:
 - There is a substantial and compelling reason,
 - A sentence of probation would be more effective at reducing the risk of offender recidivism, and
 - A sentence of probation would better serve to protect society.

IDENTITY THEFT

- In 1999, the Oregon Legislature created the crime of Identity Theft in response to the rapidly expanding use of other peoples' identities for the purpose of fraud.
- A person commits this Class C felony if the person, with intent to deceive or defraud, obtains, possesses, transfers, creates, utters, or converts to the person's own use the personal identification of another person.
- Personal identification is defined broadly in statute to include almost any identification (including name, date of birth, driver's privileges, personal identification number, or photograph) of a real or imaginary person.

MEASURE 57

Passed (2008)

Passed by the Voters, this ballot measure:

- Broadened the definition of a repeat property offender,
- Required fewer convictions for an adult to qualify for prison,
- Restricted judge's discretion regarding RPOs, and
- Increased sentence lengths.

Suspended (2009)

Measure 57 was suspended via HB 3508 due to budgetary issues tied to the Great Recession.

Both the repeat property and the repeat drug portions were suspended for sentences imposed after February 15, 2010.

Reinstated (2012)

The partial suspension ended in 2012 and again applied to crimes committed on or after January I, 2012.

JUSTICE REINVESTMENT HB 3194 (2013) AND HB 3078 (2017

- HB 3194 Stated Goals:
 - Reduce Recidivism
 - Reduce Prison Utilization
 - Increase Public Safety
 - Hold Offenders Accountable

• HB 3078:

- Expanded Family Sentencing Alternative Program
- Expanded STTL to 120 days
- Removed ID Theft and Theft 1 from M57
- Established JRI downward departure program with \$7M of supplemental funding



GUIDELINE WEIRDNESS

The last time guideline sentencing was examined by the CJC it was found that guideline sentences accounted for 43% of prison intakes, but only governed 24% of the impact of the prison time imposed in 2009.

-Longitudinal Study of the Application of MII and Mandatory Minimums in OR – 2011

- Fail to Appear in Court CS4 vs. Attempt to Elude in Vehicle CS2
- Animal Abuse 1 CS6 vs. Bribing a Witness CS6
- Perjury CS6 vs. Possession / Manufacturing Destructive Device CS6
- Incest CS6 vs. Escape II CS6

SENTENCING OUTSIDE OF OREGON

MICHIGAN BACKGROUND

- While Michigan uses a grid-based guidelines approach, it allows for more specificity during sentencing.
 - Rather than a single grid, Michigan utilizes different grids for each crime severity level.
 - By using multiple grids, the sentence is determined by three factors, the severity of the crime, the defendant's prior record, and specific factors unique to the case in question.



STATE OF MICHIGAN Sentencing Guidelines Manual Prepared by the Michigan Judicial Institute

Online Version Current Through 1/23/19

These changes will appear in the 2019 hard-copy volume of the Michigan Sentencing Guidelines Manual, which is produced by Thomson Reuters.

MICHIGAN SENTENCING GRIDS

40-59

Points

IV

60-79

Points

V

80-99

Points

VI

100 +

Points

Sentencing Grid for Class A Offenses-MCL 777.62 Includes Ranges Calculated for Habitual Offenders (MCL 777.21(3)(a)-(c)) PRV Level OV в C D E F Α Level 75+ Points 0 Points 1-9 Points 10-24 Points 25-49 Points 50-74 Points 0-19 Points п 20-39 Points ш

[†] Certain fourth habitual offenders may be subject to a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years' imprisonment. See MCL 769.12(1)(a)

Sentencing Grid for Class D Offenses—MCL 777.65 Includes Ranges Calculated for Habitual Offenders (MCL 777.21(3)(a)-(c))

						PRV	Level						
OV Level	-	A pints	-	B Points		C Points		D Points		E Points	75+ I	F Points	Offender Status
		6*		9*		11*		17*		23		23	
I	0	7*		11*	0	13*		21		28	10	28	HO2
0-9 Points	0	9*	0	13*	0	16*	0	25	5	34	10	34	HO3
Points		12*		18*		22		34		46		46	HO4 [†]
		9*		11*		17*		23		23		38	
п	0	11*	0	13*	0	21	5	28	10	28	19	47	HO2
10-24 Points	0	13*	0	16*	0	25	5	34	10	34	19	57	HO3
Fonds		18*		22		34		46		46		76	HO4 [†]
		11*		17*		23		23		38		57	
ш	0	13*	0	21	5	28	10	28	19	47	29	71	HO2
25-34 Points	0	16*	0	25	5	34	10	34	19	57	29	85	HO3
1 Onto		22		34		46		46		76		114	$HO4^{\uparrow}$
		17*		23		23		38		57		67	
IV 35-49	0	21	5	28	10	28	19	47	29	71	34	83	HO2
Points	0	25	5	34	10	34	19	57	29	85	54	100	HO3
1 Cliffs		34		46		46		76		114		134	HO4 [†]
		23		23		38		57		67		76	
V 50-74	5	28	10	28	19	47	29	71	34	83	38	95	HO2
Points	5	34	10	34	15	57	29	85	54	100	50	114	HO3
		46		46		76		114		134		152	HO4 [†]
VI		23		38		57		67		76		76	
VI 75+	10	28	19	47	29	71	34	83	38	95	43	95	HO2
Points	10	34	19	57	29	85	54	100	50	114		114	HO3
· Cullo		46		76		114		134		152		152	HO4 [†]

[†] Certain fourth habitual offenders may be subject to a mandatory minimum sentence of 25 years' imprisonment. See MCL 769.12(1)(a)

Intermediate sanction cells are marked by asterisks, straddle cells are shaded, and prison cells are unmarked.

The statutory persontage increases for habitual offenders are rounded down to the nearest whole month

The statutory percentage increases for habitual offenders are rounded down to the nearest whole month. The cell range may be less than the maximum possible minimum sentence by a fraction of a month.

CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION · STATE OF OREGON

Offende

Status

HO2

HO3

HO4[†]

HO2

HO3

HO4

HO2

HO3

 $HO4^{\dagger}$

HO2

HO3

 $HO4^{\dagger}$

HO2

HO4[†]

HO2

HO3

HO4

375/L

468/L

562/L HO3

750/L

450/L

562/L

675/L

900/L

375/L

468/L

562/L

750/L

MICHIGAN PRIOR RECORD VARIABLES

- Prior High Severity Felonies
- Prior Low Severity Felonies
- Prior High Severity Juvenile Adjudications
- Prior Low Severity Juvenile Adjudications
- Prior Misdemeanors
- Relationship to the Justice System
- Subsequent or Concurrent Felony Convictions

	PRV 1 Prior High Severity Felony Convi MCL 777.51 All 'prior convictions' must satisfy the 10-year (
Pts	The offender has:	Instructions
75	3 or more prior high severity felony convictions. MCL 777.51(1)(a).	Λ "prior high severity felony conviction" is a conviction for any of the following crimes, if the conviction was entered before the
50	2 prior high severity felony convictions. MCL 777.51(1)(b).	sentencing offense was committed*: • a crime listed in class M2, A, B, C, or D (or a felony
25	1 prior high severity felony conviction. MCL 777.51(1)(c).	under federal law or the law of another state that corresponds to a crime listed in class M2, A, B, C, or D)
0	No prior high severity felony convictions. MCL 777.51(1)(d).	 (for offenses committed on or after January 9, 2007**) a felony that is not listed in <i>any</i> crime class (or a felony under federal law or the law of another state that does not correspond to a crime listed in <i>any</i> class) that is punishable by a maximum term of imprisonment of 10 years or more. MCL 777.51(2). The language 7 the consider are intered lative the standard offense ac correlation?
	PRV 2 Prior Low Severity Felony Convi	-** See 2006 PA 655, effective Japany 9, 2007.
	MCL 777.52	ctions
Pts	MCL 777.52	
Pts 30	MCL 777.52 All 'prior convictions' must satisfy the 10-year	pap requirements of MCL 777.50. Instructions A "prior low severity felony conviction" is a conviction for any of the following crimes, if the conviction was entered before the
	MCL 777.52 All 'prior convictions' must satisfy the 10-year (The offender has: 4 or more prior low severity felony	pap requirements of MCL 777.50. Instructions A "prior low severity felony conviction" is a conviction for any of the following crimes, if the conviction was entered before the sentencing offense was committed*: • a crime listed in class E, F, G, or II (or a felony under
30	MCL 777.52 All 'prior convictions' must satisfy the 10-year of The offender has: 4 or more prior low severity felony convictions. MCL 777.52(1)(a). 3 prior low severity felony convictions.	A "prior low severity felony conviction" is a conviction for any of the following crimes, if the conviction was entered before the sentencing offense was committed": • a crime listed in class E, F, G, or H (or a felony under federal law or the law of another state that corresponds to a crime listed in class E, F, G, or H)
30 20	MCL 777.52 All 'prior convictions' must satisfy the 10-year (The offender has: 4 or more prior low severity felony convictions. MCL 777.52(1)(a). 3 prior low severity felony convictions. MCL 777.52(1)(b). 2 prior low severity felony convictions.	pap requirements of MCL 777.50. Instructions A "prior low severity felony conviction" is a conviction for any of the following crimes, if the conviction was entered before the sentencing offense was committed*: • a crime listed in class E, F, G, or II (or a felony under federal law or the law of another state that

MICHIGAN OFFENSE VARIABLES

- Aggravated Use of a Weapon/Lethal Potential of Weapon
- Physical Injury to the Victim
- Psychological Injury to Victim or Victim's Family
- Offender's Intent to Kill or Injure
- Aggravated Physical Abuse
- Number of Victims
- Exploitation of Vulnerable Victims
- Contemporaneous Criminal Acts
- Pattern of Criminal Behavior
- Offender's Role



MICHIGAN THE SENTENCE AND JUDICIAL DISCRETION

- The sentence falls between the minimum and maximum.
- After hearing recommendations and arguments from the parties, the judge decides where in the range the sentence falls.
- Departures beyond the minimum and maximum require finding "substantial and compelling reasons" that must be stated on the record.



FEDERAL SENTENCING GRID

- The Federal Grid is much more expansive than Oregon's, particularly regarding Offense Level.
- For offense levels, some characteristics of an offense are considered (although not as detailed as in Michigan).
- For Example:
 - Assault is a level 4 offense.
 - However, assault is a level 7 if physical contact occurred or if a dangerous weapon was possessed and its use was threatened.
 - Score will be increased 2 levels of serious bodily injury occurred and 4 levels of the injury was sustained by an child or intimate partner.



CONCLUSION THE FUTURE OF THE OREGON GUIDELINES

- This year, the Oregon guidelines are 30 years old.
- In the intervening three decades since the creation of our guidelines, many different models and approaches have been developed across the country.
- If we were to examine those outside models and assess whether revisions to the Oregon guidelines would be necessary, what would it take?

