—_Pradewing

e TRANSPORTATION LLC

3/25/2019

RE: HB3031
RE: SB947
Testimony of Heather Hayes, Operations Manager

Tradewinds Transportation LLC, Albany, Oregon

Chair Jones, Chair Barker, and Committee Members:

Thank you for the opportunity to submit my testimony. My family has been delivering goods via
truck since the early 1980’s. In 2002 we started Tradewinds Transportation with 20 trucks and
25 employees. Today, we run 90 truck and trailer combinations throughout the US and em-
ploy/contract 120 people.

Since 2015, we have travelled 34.1 million miles delivering goods to communities throughout the
US. In Oregon, trucking companies alone transport over 80% of the tons for freight that move
within our state and service over 80% of Oregon’s communities. The service that we provide is
to deliver the very goods our communities need to survive and the cost to deliver these goods is
the highest in the US.

Today Oregon is the leader of the highest highway use taxes on heavy trucks in the nation. At-
tached is a chart prepared by the American Transportation Research Institute showing costs for
all states. Also attached is a current chart of all state gasoline and diesel fuel taxes. In 2017,
Oregon passed HB2017 which increased Oregon’s weight mile tax an overwhelming 53% over
the next 8 years. Additionally, we have a new paid sick leave law, new state minimum wage
increases and new equal pay law. Currently, HB2020 is also on the table which, if passed, is
estimated to increase the cost of diesel by 15-20 cents per gallon, add to that the 1% payroll tax
increase of HB3031 and then SB947 which requires employers to pay 100% of wages for up to
48 weeks. These existing and proposed cost increases are specific to the State of Oregon and
they are having a detrimental impact on our industry. This is because the cost for me to operate
as a carrier is significantly more than that of my competitors in neighboring states.

Trucking is a 2-4% margin of profit business, nominal changes to our cost structure can have a
destructive impact on our business. In February 2019, we were offered an opportunity to be a
national carrier for The Home Depot. Unfortunately, on February 15, 2019 | had to turn down that
opportunity. After declining the bid, The Home Depot’s Logistics Manager, Harshil Patel, called
me from Atlanta, GA to encourage our management team to reconsider. We declined again and
then later a 3" time. Several mangers from The Home Depot reached out because they didn’t
understand why our rates would not compete. The Home Depot’s program required additional
insurance and billing costs, they were aware of the cost impact on carriers and encouraged us to
“just add the costs to our rates”. Being an Oregon based carrier that wasn’t possible. My high
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operating costs caused my base rate to be above The Home Depot’'s benchmark rates so there
wasn’t any room for additional costs. Simply said, the high cost of being an Oregon carrier was a
disadvantage and priced us out of the market.

Commercial carriers’ produce revenue by delivering goods. These goods must be transported by
a driver who carries a valid commercial driver’'s license. Our insurance requires that drivers have
at least 2 years’ experience to be hirable. The skillset for truck drivers is unique and the market
is extremely tight. The average cost to replace a truck driver is $7500.00 and temporary workers
for this market just do not exist. HB3031 and SB947 dramatically inflate this already high turnover
cost, will worsen equipment revenue loss and downtime. Since the cost of mandated paid wages
are not chargeable to my customers, HB3031and SB947 will result in significant financial losses
that cannot be recouped.

What are impacts of HB3031 and SB9477?

¢ HB3031 and SB947 will result in a loss of revenue to Oregon carriers.

e HB3031 and SB947 will force Oregon carriers to raise their rates placing them further
above the national market average.

o HB3031 and SB947 will force carriers to say no to new contracts and opportunities for
growth.

o HB3031 and SB947 will alter carrier costs, effect Oregon’s economy and ultimately the
cost of Oregon’s goods.

o HB3031 and SB947 will raise Oregon’s carrier costs heads and shoulders above any other
state in the nation making Oregon the most to expensive state to operate a truck.

¢ HB3031 and SB947 will deter Oregon local business.

To conclude, Tradewinds Transportation, and our industry, simply cannot afford any significant or
additional costs to continue to be a sustainable and efficient Oregon based employer and carrier.
Saying yes to HB3031 and SB947 is saying no to Oregon trucking business.

This concludes my testimony. | ask that you oppose both HB3031 and SB947.

Thank you.




Annual State Highway User Taxes
On A Typical 5-Axle Tractor-Semitrailer Combination
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North Carolina $1,623 26 0.351 12 $5,616 $7,239 $8,906 $16,145

North Dakota $1,018 43 0.230 37 $3,680 - - $4,698 $8,906 $13,604 43
Ohio $1,420 33 0.280 27 $4,480 - - $5,900 $8,906 $14,806 33
Oklahoma $1,001 45 0.190 46 $3,040 - - $4,041 $8,906 $12,947 48
Oregon $1,024 42 0.000 51 $0 0.205 $20,480 $21,504 $8,906 $30,410 i
Pennsylvania $2,091 19 0.741 1 $11,856 - $13,947 $8,906 $22,853 3
Rhode Island $1,056 41 0.330 16 $5,280 - - $6,336 $8,906 $15,242 29
South Carolina $820 48 0.208 141 $3.320 - = $4,140 $8,906 $13,046 47
South Dakota $1,467 30 0.300 21 $4,800 = - $6,267 $8,906 $15,173 3
Tennessee $1,461 31 0.254 31 $4,064 - & $5,525 $8,906 $14,431 38
Texas $1,085 40 0.200 44 $3,200 - = $4,265 $8,906 $13,171 45
Utah $2,872 10 0.294 24 $4,704 = = $7,576 $8,906 $16,482 20
Vermont $2,377 14 0.320 18 $5,120 - = $7,497 $8,906 $16,403 21
| Virginia $1,362 34 0.243 32 $3,888 - = $5,250 $8,906 $14,156 39
Washington $2,067 20 0.494 3 $7,904 = = $9,971 $8,906 $18,877 7
West Virginia $2,754 12 0.357 11 $5,712 - - $8,466 $8,906 $17,372 14
Wisconsin $2,610 13 0.329 17 $5,264 - - $7,874 $8,906 $16,780 18
Wyoming $2,998 6 0.240 33 $3,840 - - $6,838 $8,906 $15,744 25

' The fees listed here are those charged in each state for the full annual registration of a tractor-semitrailer combination with a gross combined weight of 80,000 pounds, based
in the state and operated by a for-hire motor carrier. Weight fees are included, but, unlike earlier versions of this chart, miscellaneous, nonapportioned fees are not included.

Semitrailer fees are annual fees, if the state charges one, even where a state also offers an option of multi-year plates for trailing equipment. Where no annual trailer
registration is offered, the state’s lowest multiyear fee is used.

In-lieu ad valorem fees are included for states that collect such a fee through IRP. Where the state charges an in-lieu fee for vehicles based elsewhere, and a property tax for
those bases with it, the property tax is used. For these purposes, the combination is assumed to have a purchase price of $145,000 ($115,000 for the tractor and $30,000 for the
semitrailer) and to be in its first year of operation.

2The diesel fuel tax rates listed represent the total state or provincial fuel tax paid by motor carriers in each jurisdiction. Local taxes are not included, except where they are
uniform statewide.

3 Federal taxes and fees include federal diesel tax paid on 16,000 gallons, heavy vehicle use tax on 80,000 pounds, excise tax paid on a combination unit with a purchase price
of $145,000 (amortized over 4 years) and excise tax paid on four new tires (assuming the other 14 are recapped).



Tax Rate in ¢/Gallon

State Gasoline Diesel Notes

North Carolina 35.1 35.1

North Dakota 23 23

Ohio 28 28

Oklahoma 19 19

Oregon 34 0 [D taxed through weight-distance tax

Pennsylvania 57.6 74.1  [includes petroleum tax

Rhode Island 33 33

South Carolina 20.75 20.75  [includes 0.75¢ clean-up fees paid at pump only

South Dakota 30 30 [includes 2¢ distributor tax, paid at pump only

Tennessee 26.4 254 [incl. 0.4¢ clean-up fee and 1¢ inspection fee,
[at pump only

Texas 20 20

Utah 29.4 294

Vermont 30.8 32 [includes 2% sales tax and a clean-up fee

Virginia 24.3 24.3  [includes 7.5¢ surtax on G, 3.5¢ D, paid on report only;
[0.6¢ clean-up fee paid at pump only

Washington 494 494

West Virginia 35.7 35.7  [includes 5% sales tax

Wisconsin 32.9 32.9  [includes clean-up fee

Wyoming 24 24 [includes clean-up fee, paid at pump only

U. S. 18.4 24.4  [includes Underground Storage Tank tax

G :gasoline D : diesel, special fuels

CANADA

Fuel Tax Rate in ¢ CN/Liter
Province Gasoline Diesel
Alberta 19.73 21.03  [includes a “carbon tax” component
British Columbia 22.28 23.95 [includes a “carbon tax” component
Manitoba 14 14
New Brunswick 15.5 21.5  [prov. sales tax add’l, paid at pump only
Newfoundland 20.5 21.5  [prov. sales tax add’l, paid at pump only
Nova Scotia 15.5 154 [prov. sales tax add’l, paid at pump only
Ontario 14.7 14.3
Prince Edward Island 13.1 20.2  [composite qtrly rate; rate at pump can

[change monthly

Quebec 19.2 202 [prov. sales tax add’l, paid at pump only
Saskatchewan 15 15
Northwest Territories 10.7 9.1
Yukon Territory 6.2 72

This chart was compiled by the American Trucking Associations. It represents the total state or provincial fuel
tax paid by motor carriers in each jurisdiction as of October 1, 2018. Local taxes are not included, except where
they are uniform statewide. “Paid at pump only” refers to amounts not included in fuel use taxes paid through
IFTA. “Paid on report” or “paid on report only” refers to amounts included in IFTA fuel use taxes.




State
Alabama

Alaska
Arizona

Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
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District of Columbia

Florida
Georgia
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Idaho
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Kentucky

Louisiana
Maine
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STATE AND PROVINCIAL MOTOR FUEL TAX RATES

Tax Rate in ¢/Gallon

Gasoline
19

8.95
19

21.8
50.023
22
43.8
23
23.5
345
26.3
17.263

32
33.5

48
31.7
25
30.4

20
31.45

35.3
24
40.175

28.5
18.4
17
32.25
289
23.81

23.825
414
18
41.25

FOR HEAVY VEHICLES
October 1, 2018
Diesel Notes

20.75 [includes 0.75¢ wholesale tax D,

[1 environmental fee G, D — all paid at pump only
8.95 [includes 0.95¢ environmental fee

27 [includes 1¢ clean-up fee, paid at pump only;
[1¢ credit on D available by application

22.8  [includes 0.3¢ clean-up fee paid at pump only

70 [includes 2.25% sales tax G, 13% D

20.5

439 [incl. 8.1% wholesale tax, G only, currently 14.3¢

22

23.5

34.37 [incl. 6% sales tax, unif. local tax, clean-up fees

30

15.263 [includes 0.263 clean-up fee; D plus 4% sales tax
[added at pump

32

36 [includes 6.25% sales tax paid on report; 1.1¢ clean-
[up fee paid at purnp only

48 [G includes 21¢ surtax, paid on report only

33.5  [includes 1¢ clean-up fee, paid at pump only

27 [includes 1¢ clean-up fee, paid at pump only

33.2  [includes 4.4¢ surcharge on G, 10.2¢ on D,
[paid on report only; includes 1.4¢ tank fee,
[paid at pump only

20

31.87 [includes 1.45¢ G and 0.67¢ D clean-up fees, paid
[at pump only

36.05

24

44.275 [includes 6% sales tax paid on report and 0.875¢
[clean-up fee paid at pump only

28.5

18.4  [includes 0.4¢ clean-up fee paid at pump only

17

30 [includes 0.75¢ clean-up fee paid at pump only

28.3  [includes clean-up fees, 0.9¢ G, 0.3¢ D, paid at pump only

27.81 [includes 0.75¢ inspection fee, paid at pump
[only, and clean-up fee

23.825 [includes 1.625¢ in clean-up fees paid at pump only

48.5  [includes petroleum tax

22 [includes 1¢ load fee paid at pump only

39.45 [includes 8¢ sales tax, and petroleum tax, paid on report;

[clean-up fees of 0.35¢ G and 0.3¢ D, paid at pump only



