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HB 2269 Employer Health Care Responsibility Act  
 

Despite Oregon’s health insurance coverage rate of 94 percent, too many Oregonians remain 
uninsured or underinsured and struggle to pay for coverage and out-of-pocket health care 
costs. At the same time, public programs are subsidizing employers that pay relatively low 
wages and do not provide health care coverage or whose workers cannot afford the coverage 
offered through their employer. HB 2269 ensures that larger businesses in Oregon take 
responsibility for contributing to the health of their workers. The bill is the fourth component of 
Governor Brown’s proposed Medicaid funding package, which takes a long-term approach to 
stabilizing funding for the Oregon Health Plan. 
 
Too many workers are ineligible for or not offered health coverage through their employers 
Of the 1 million workers in Oregon who are employed by large employers (companies with 50 
or more employees), approximately one in four are either ineligible or not offered health care 
coverage through their employer. Another 150,000 are offered but not enrolled in employer 
health care coverage. In the third quarter of 2017, approximately 90,000 Oregonians working 
part-time to full-time for large employers were enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan. These 
employees are most likely to work in industries such as health care, retail, food service and 
hotels.  
 
The Employer Health Care Responsibility Act requires large employers meet a minimum 
spending requirement for employee health care 
The Employer Health Care Responsibility Act requires large employers to spend 50 cents per 
work hour per employee for employee health care. For companies with 50 or more employees 
that do not provide health coverage, HB 2269 requires they support worker health by:  

1. Spending directly on workers through other health care services (i.e. paying directly for 
a procedure or office visit) or  

2. Paying into the Health Care Access Fund, which subsidizes the cost of the Oregon Health 
Plan or purchasing insurance from the Oregon Health Insurance Marketplace. 
 

The Health Care Access Fund would be split between the Oregon Health Plan ($120M) and a 
new program to increase affordability and access for employees purchasing insurance on the 
Marketplace ($329-$397M). Employers can contribute to the fund on behalf of any employee to 
comply with the spending requirement.  
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The health spending requirement is affordable for employers and makes a meaningful 
investment in programs that support workers’ health 
Less than 5 percent of all employers in Oregon have 50 or more employees, but they employ 61 
percent of all Oregonians.1  The spending requirement would apply to all employees working 
more than an average of eight hours per week over three months and is based on the number 
of hours worked by individual employees. The spending requirements are lower than the 
average cost of comprehensive (i.e., not catastrophic coverage only) health plans on the 
individual market. 
 

• For full-time employees who work 40 hours per week, the annual spending requirement 
would amount to $1,040, or less than $90 per month.  

• For employees who work 20 hours per week, the annual spending requirement is $520, 
or less than $45 per month.   
 

For comparison, the average annual employer contribution for health insurance in Oregon is 
about $5,000 or $417 per month. 
 
Exemptions and waivers of the large employer spending requirement provide some flexibility 
for employers and workers 
The intent of HB 2269 is to increase spending on behalf of workers who are not benefiting from 
health coverage through their employer. However, there is some flexibility for employers and 
workers in Oregon through exemptions and waivers.  
 
Exempt workers include those who: 

• Choose to waive their right to have their employers spend the minimum amount for 
their benefit.  

• Qualify as managers, supervisors, or other exempt employees and earn more than the 
applicable salary exemption amount. 

• Are covered by Medicare or TRICARE (the health care program serving Uniformed 
Service members, retirees and their families). In order to claim these exemptions, an 
employer must be able to document employee eligibility. 

• Are employed by a non-profit corporation for up to one year as trainees in a bona fide 
training program consistent with federal law. 

 
Many details related to the Employer Health Care Responsibility Act, including specific 
requirements related to employee exemptions and employer reporting requirements, will be 
developed publicly through a rulemaking process. 
 

                                                           
1 https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/most-oregon-employers-have-fewer-than-20-employees  
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