HEALTH POLICY AND ANALYTICS ‘ ‘ e al‘th
Kate Brown, Governor
421 SW Oak Street
Portland, OR 97204

HB 2269 Employer Health Care Responsibility Act
Frequently Asked Questions

Despite Oregon’s health insurance coverage rate of 94 percent, too many Oregonians remain
uninsured or underinsured and struggle to pay for coverage and out-of-pocket health care
costs. At the same time, public programs are subsidizing employers that pay relatively low
wages and do not provide health care coverage or whose workers cannot afford the coverage
offered through their employer. HB 2269 ensures that larger businesses in Oregon take
responsibility for contributing to the health of their workers. The bill is the fourth component of
Governor Brown’s proposed Medicaid funding package, which takes a long-term approach to
stabilizing funding for the Oregon Health Plan.

How does the Employer Health Care Responsibility Act work?

The Employer Health Care Responsibility Act requires large employers (companies with 50 or
more employees) to spend 50 cents per work hour per employee on employees’ health care.
Under the Act, employers have the option of either spending directly on workers through group
health coverage or other health care services (i.e. paying directly for a procedure or office visit)
or paying an equivalent amount to a state Health Care Access Fund.

e Covered employees include those who have been working for at least 90 days, perform
eight or more hours of work per week on average, and do not meet any of the
exemption criteria.

e Firms with 50 or more employees in their first year of operation would be exempted for
their first year.

The Health Care Access Fund would be split between the Oregon Health Plan (5120M) and a
new program to increase affordability and access for employees purchasing insurance on the
Marketplace ($329-$397M). Employers can contribute to the fund on behalf of any employee
and can decide on an employee-by-employee basis whether they will use the Access Fund to
comply with the spending requirement.

Which employers will be most impacted by the spending requirement?

There are more than 100,000 private businesses in Oregon, and the vast majority are smaller
firms with few employees. Less than 5 percent of all employers in Oregon have 50 or more
employees, but they employ 61 percent of all Oregonians.? The biggest share of large

1 https://www.qualityinfo.org/-/most-oregon-employers-have-fewer-than-20-employees
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employers are in the health care and social assistance sector, followed by retail and
manufacturing.

There is no available employer-specific data that details which employees receive employer-
sponsored health coverage or other health care benefits. To better understand which work
sectors are most likely to have a higher percentage of employees who do not receive health
coverage or other health care benefits from their employer, we can look at employed Oregon
Health Plan (OHP) members. Analysis of large firms and employed individuals who are covered
by OHP shows that the largest sectors are health care, retail trade, accommodation and food
services, and administrative and support.

The work sectors most likely impacted currently employ OHP recipients
OHP recipients working 8+ hrs/week for large firms by sector, 3rd quarter of 2017
Health Care & Social Assistance NN 20,029
Retail Trade NN 18,980
Accommodation & Food Services IIIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGNG 13,619
Admin, Support, Waste Mgmt, Remediation Srvcs  IIIIIIINNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNNGGEGE 13,061
Manufacturing NN 3,155
Agriculture, Forestry, Fishing & Hunting I 2,872
Wholesale Trade [ 2,189
Transportation & Warehousing 1l 1,811
Other Services (except Public Administration) Il 1,610
Finance & Insurance M 1,556
Construction [ 1,466
Professional, Scientific, Technical Services Il 1,068
Arts, Entertainment, Recreation 1l 1,018
Real Estate, Rental, Leasing [l 965
Information M 814
Educational Services W 463
Mgmt of Companies & Enterprises 1 230
Utilities | 85

Mining, Quarrying, Oil/Gas Extraction 27

Who are the workers that will benefit from the spending requirement?

Of the 1 million workers in Oregon who are employed by large employers, approximately one in
four are either ineligible or not offered health care coverage through their employer. Another
150,000 are offered but not enrolled in employer health care coverage. In the third quarter of



2017, approximately 90,000 Oregonians working more than 8 hours a week for large employers
were enrolled in the Oregon Health Plan. These employees are most likely to work in industries
such as health care, retail, food service and hotels.

In addition to the data that shows which industries are most likely to employ OHP members, we
can also look at the type of jobs in Oregon that pay less than $12 an hour. In 2018 361,300 jobs
in Oregon paid $12 an hour or less. These low wage workers are likely to benefit from HB 2269.

Percent of Oregon Employees Making Less than $12 Per Hour by Occupation, 20182
Occupation Percent of Jobs in Occupation
Paying Less than $12/hr

Total, All Occupations 20%

Dishwashers 78%

Combined Food Prep and Serving Workers, Including 76%

Fast Food

Cashiers 70%

Counter Attendants, Cafeteria, Food Concession, and 70%

Coffee Shop

Wait Staff 69%

Cooks, Fast Food 67%

Bartenders 66%

Childcare Workers 60%

Maids and Housekeeping Cleaners 57%

Food Preparation Workers 55%

Personal Care Aids 55%

Retail Salespersons 51%

Packers and Packagers 48%

Janitors and Cleaners, Except Maids and Housekeeping | 37%

Cooks, Restaurant 34%

Stock Clerks and Order Fillers 32%

Laborers and Freight, Stock, and Material Movers, Hand | 30%

Will large non-profit organizations be required to comply with this policy?

All private employers with 50 or more employees are required to comply with this policy,
including non-profit organizations. Most non-profit organizations with 50 or more employees
are hospitals. Any employer with less than 50 employees, whether for-profit or non-profit are
exempt.

2 Johnson, Anna. (December, 2018). Occupations with the Most Jobs Paying Less than $12.00 per Hour. Oregon
Employment Department. Retrieved from https://oregonemployment.blogspot.com



How was the per hour spending requirement amount determined?

The 50 cent per hour spending requirement was designed to be a reasonable amount for large
employers while providing for meaningful investments in programs that support workers’
health.

How does the spending requirement compare to the cost of employer-sponsored health
insurance coverage?

The spending requirements are lower than the average cost of comprehensive (i.e., not
catastrophic coverage only) health plans on the individual market.

e For full time employees who work 40 hours per week, the annual spending requirement
would amount to $1,040, or less than $90 per month.

e For employees who work 30 hours per week for an entire year, the annual spending
requirement would total $780, or $65 per month.

e For employees who work 20 hours per week for an entire year, the annual spending
requirement is $520, or less than $45 per month.

For comparison, the average annual employer contribution for health insurance in Oregon is
about $5,000 or $417 per month.

Can employers raise revenue specifically to cover the cost of the spending requirement?

Employers may generate additional revenue to cover worker health care costs. Revenue raised
through surcharges specifically identified as going to pay for health care costs must be used for
these purposes. For example, a business adding a surcharge to customers’ bills to cover worker
health care costs must direct all revenue from the surcharge to the purpose intended. Excess
revenue at the end of the year must be reinvested in health care spending.

Which workers are exempt from the spending requirement?

The intent of HB 2269 is to increase spending on behalf of workers who are not benefiting from
health coverage through their employer. However, there is some flexibility for employers and
workers in Oregon through exemptions and waivers.

Exempt workers include those who:

e Choose to waive their right to have their employers spend the minimum amount for
their benefit.

e Qualify as managers, supervisors, or other exempt employees and earn more than the
applicable salary exemption amount.

e Are covered by Medicare or TRICARE (the health care program serving Uniformed
Service members, retirees and their families). In order to claim these exemptions, an
employer must be able to document employee eligibility.



e Are employed by a non-profit corporation for up to one year as trainees in a bona fide
training program consistent with federal law.

What if employees turn down the employer-sponsored coverage offered to them?

Employees turning down an offer of employer-based coverage does not, by itself, eliminate the
employer’s responsibility to contribute towards the health care costs of their employees.

Employees may voluntarily sign waivers to exempt the employer from the spending
responsibility, but employers may not require employees sign such a waiver. Employers may
also choose to meet the spending requirement in other ways for any employees who decline an
offer of health insurance coverage through the employer.

Employers may provide financial incentives, such as monthly stipends to help offset a worker’s
personal health care spending, for employees to sign waivers of their right to have their
employer contribute towards their health care costs. Employers may not coerce their
employees into signing a waiver.

What is the timeline for implementation of HB 2269?

The Department of Revenue will begin collecting spending requirement contributions on
January 1, 2020. The Marketplace subsidies for eligible employees will become available during
the 2021 Open Enrollment period.

Will HB 2269 cause employers to drop employees’ insurance coverage and instead contribute
to the Health Care Access Fund?

The intention of HB 2269 is to ensure large employers provide a minimum contribution for their
employees’ health care either directly through coverage or other benefits or indirectly through
the Health Care Access Fund. An employer’s benefits, including health care benefits, are an
important incentive to attract and retain workers. A new requirement to spend a minimum
amount per worker hour does not change the rationale as to why employers offer coverage. HB
2269 also does not change the ACA requirements related to insurance coverage.

How does HB 2269 interact with other health insurance legislation and requirements?

Health Insurance Premium Tax

If workers are enrolled in the employer’s offered health insurance, the premiums paid for those
employees would be subject to the premium tax. Because the spending requirement in HB 2269
is well below the typical cost of employer-sponsored coverage, employers’ contributions
toward health insurance likely exceed the spending requirement.

If an employer has any non-exempt workers who are not eligible or not enrolled in the
employer’s offered health insurance, the employer would be subject to the spending
requirement but would not pay a premium tax for these employees.



Affordable Care Act

The spending requirement is not related to the ACA’s employer mandate. Contributions to the
access fund are not intended to help employers meet federal requirements under the ACA. The
spending requirement is based on work hours and is not a penalty. The spending requirement
ensures employers contribute to their employees’ health care in some form but does not
require any particular form of contribution. The ACA’s employer mandate uses a full-time
equivalent concept to determine if an employer is subject to any penalty.

Which details will be determined through the rulemaking process?

Many details related to the Employer Health Care Responsibility Act will be developed publicly
through a rulemaking process. This includes details related to employer reporting
requirements, specific requirements related to employee-level exemptions, and other
programmatic details of the Health Care Access Fund.



