
Are you kidding me, paying an employee for up to 32 weeks for a Paid Family leave mandate on a small 
business????? Does Oregon want businesses here??? 

 

 I am shocked at how anyone that wrote this could even imagine how a business would not only incur 
mandatory minimum wage, sick pay, & following the new mandates for the Pay Equity Act - this all 
comes at a high cost to employers, but now you want me, a small business owner with 4 part time 
employees to pay up to 32 weeks salary for an employee to be out of the office, not performing their 
duties, but being paid??????????????????????????? 

 

There are only 56 weeks in a year, so its OK for a business to pay an employee 24-32 weeks (6-8 months) 
for not providing anything to the employer during this time?????  

 

How is an employer to cover this cost????? 

 

While working for a huge fortune 500 company for many years, prior to leaving the banking industry, I 
specifically sought a new  employer out because of their higher wages and better benefits than my 
current employer at the time. The bank offered me 4 weeks Paid leave to have my child and the 
telecommunications company offered me 6 weeks paid leave to have my child. I planned accordingly 
and took the position at the other firm for the 6 weeks paid maternity leave. I hear some folks say that 
this Paid Family leave should go in to law because it has been proven that bonding with your babies 
longer, makes them more secure and successful. Interesting that I had to drop both of my 6 weeks old 
infants in daycare and go back to work so I can pay for them. Neither of my children ever ended up in 
jail, they are both quite confident and lead very successful personal and professional lives. 6 weeks 
bonding with their mother - they did quite well! 

 

This HB 3031 is expecting a). for an employer to be mandated to pay this outrageous time off period, b). 
we have no guarantee that employee will return to our company so a huge risk to pay them, then lose 
the employee and all the training that went in to them prior to their “family leave” and c). the employer 
is to foot all this cost???? 

 

Please tell me I have gravely misunderstand this HB3031 and you really don't expect any employer to 
offer this time of unsustainable financial expense???? 

 



6 week consideration is one thing, 24-32 weeks is like a paid employment benefit similar to 
“unemployment” benefits when an employee unexpectedly loses their job, is laid off and must use 
temporary assistance through the State while they seek new employment.  

 

If people are wanting to have children, they MUST PLAN and SAVE THEIR OWN MONEY TO HAVE THEIR 
CHILDREN. Why on earth would it make any sense to anyone that these folks are "entitled" to get free 
money for doing nothing????? 

 

Oregon really isn't business friendly and I know our friends in Washington are, so please, DO NOT 
ALLOW THIS EXPENSIVE TACTIC TO GET SOMETHING FOR NOTHING WHICH COULD ULTIMATELY SHUT 
DOWN MY BUSINESS! 

 

Does Oregon want any businesses to remain in Oregon?????? 
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