
 
3.005 NATURAL GAS AND PROPANE VEHICLES 
Oregon Statutes: 319.535 
Sunset Date: 12-31-2020 
Year Enacted: 2014 
 
 

Total 
2017-19 Revenue Impact: Less than $100,000 
2019-21 Revenue Impact: Less than $100,000 

NOTE: The revenue impact estimate includes the effect of the sunset. 
 
DESCRIPTION:  Organizations and people who use natural gas or propane as fuel in a motor vehicle 

may pay an annual special use license fee in lieu of a per-gallon tax. 

Upon receipt of a complete and valid application, the Department of Transportation 
will issue a decal to be displayed on the motor vehicle in a conspicuous place. This 
decal allows participants to fuel their vehicle at any commercial fueling station that 
dispenses propane and/or compressed natural gas. It serves as proof to the seller of 
fuel that the driver is exempt from paying the per-gallon tax. Because the 
legislation enacting this statute did not explicitly set a sunset for this tax 
expenditure, ORS 315.037(3) establishes the sunset as six years after the first 
effective tax year. In this case, the last effective tax year is 2020. 

 

PURPOSE:  The statutes that allow this expenditure do not explicitly state a purpose. Presumably, 
the purpose is to encourage the use of propane and natural gas as motor vehicle fuel. 

 

WHO BENEFITS:  Businesses or individuals who use natural gas or propane as fuel in a motor vehicle 
and pay an annual special use license fee in lieu of a per-gallon tax. Approximately 
10 businesses per year use this program, with a total of approximately 50 vehicles 
per year in the program. 

 

IN LIEU:  The special use fuel license fee is equal to a base amount multiplied by the use fuel 
tax rate in effect at the time of payment, divided by 12. The base amount is 
determined by the combined weight of the motor vehicle. 

Combined Weight Base Amount Current Annual Fee 
Up to 10,000 pounds $60 $170 
10,001 to 26,000 pounds $300 $850 
Over 26,000 pounds $400 $1,133.33 

The combined weight is defined in ORS 801.199 as the total empty weight of all 
vehicles in a combination plus the total weight of the load carried on that 
combination of vehicles. 

 

EVALUATION:  provided by the Oregon Department of Transportation 

There are a few users of this tax expenditure, with typical revenue of several 
thousand dollars per year. 
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