Dear Chair Barker,

HB 3031 creates a new costly government-run, one-size-fits-all mandatory leave program that would be
funded by all public- and private-sector employers and employees through a new payroll tax.

HB 3031 is one of the most aggressive family leave taxes under consideration in the country! It would
provide 32 weeks of paid leave, well above the 6 and 12 weeks adopted by other states.

A national think tank found that a benefit of this size would cost Oregonians more than $1.5 billion in
new paycheck taxes each biennium!

Currently, only six other states and D.C. have enacted family and medical leave programs. Although the
majority of these states require the program to be funded only through employee contributions, HB
3031 requires that the employer pay 50 percent of cost.

Unlike the Oregon Family Leave Act (OFLA), which governs workplaces of 25 or more, HB 3031 applies to
employers with just ONE employee! This will harm our smallest employers.

HB 3031 will be mandatory for employers of ALL sizes. The bill offers no exemptions for small
businesses or for employers that already offer more generous leave programs.

Every employer will be required to maintain the position for the full duration of a worker's leave while
finding temporary, skilled workers to replace those on leave. That's an added cost that isn't
acknowledged in HB 3031.

HB 3031 fails to align with the federal Family & Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and OFLA, which could result
in potential "stacking" of leave and greater uncertainty for Oregon employers.

Closing:

Oregon businesses are still scrambling to comply with the state's paid sick leave law, minimum wage
increases, predictive scheduling law, overtime mandate, and the new and complex equal pay law. Now
is NOT the time to pass aggressive family and medical leave mandates that would further burden local
businesses.

Please vote 'NO' on HB 3031
Sincerely,

Sherry DuFault

104 W 10th St

The Dalles, OR 97058
sherdufault@gmail.com
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