
Dear Chair Barker, 
 
This bill would require up to 32 weeks of paid leave each year. During this time, Oregon employers 
would be required to maintain the position for the full duration of a worker’s leave while finding 
temporary, skilled workers to replace those on leave. This is an added cost to businesses. HB 3031 also 
doesn’t require leave to be taken concurrently with Oregon Family Leave Act, which means that 
employees still could qualify for unpaid leave after using up the 32 weeks of paid leave. This provision 
increases the uncertainty and risk for local businesses. 
 
HB 3031 would create a costly new government-run, mandatory leave program that would be funded by 
all public- and private-sector employers and employees through a new payroll tax. The tax would be 
levied on all employers, regardless of whether or not they already provide employers with a family leave 
benefit.  
This is a bad bill for Oregon business and I urge you vote NO on it. 
 
Thank You 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Timm Slater 
1731 14th St 
North Bend, OR 97459 
bobntimm@frontier.com 
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