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Take the

first step

toward
a Better
Oregon.

Complete and return the enclosed
signature sheet for Initiative Petition 28.

Thank youl!




TEXT OF INITIATIVE PETITION 28:

Please keep this text with your signature sheet that you are circulating for easy reference if there are questions.

Section 1. ORS 317.090 is amended to read:
@) As used in this section:
(a) “Oregon sales” means:

(A) If the corporation apportions business income under ORS 314.650 to 314.665 for Oregon tax purposes, the
total sales of the taxpayer in this state during the tax year, as determined for purposes of ORS 314.665;

(B) If the corporation does not apportion business income for Oregon tax purposes, the total sales in this state that
the taxpayer would have had, as determined for purposes of ORS 314.665, if the taxpayer were required to
apportion business income for Oregon tax purposes; or

© If the corporation apportions business income using a method different from the method prescribed by ORS
314.650 to 314.665, Oregon sales as defined by the Department of Revenue by rule.
(b) If the corporation is an agricultural cooperative that is a cooperative organization described in section 1381 of

the Internal Revenue Code, “Oregon sales” does not include sales representing business done with or for
members of the agricultural cooperative.

(2) Each corporation or affiliated group of corporations filing a return under ORS 317.710 shall pay annually to the
state, for the privilege of carrying on or doing business by it within this state, a minimum tax as follows:

(a) If Oregon sales properly reported on a return are:

(A) Less than $500,000, the minimum tax is $150.

(B) $500,000 or more, but less than $1 million, the minimum tax is $500.

© $1 million or more, but less than $2 million, the minimum tax is $1,000.

(D) $2 million or more, but less than $3 million, the minimum tax is $1,500.

(E) %3 million or more, but less than $5 million, the minimum tax is $2,000.

(P $5 million or more, but less than $7 million, the minimum tax is $4,000.
(G) %7 million or more, but less than $10 million, the minimum tax is $7.500.
(H) $10 million or more, but less than $25 million, the minimum tax is $15,000.
) $25 million Wﬁ@%ﬁ%&ﬁﬁhﬁﬁ—%&mﬂﬁeﬁ the minimum tax is $30 000.

) More than $25 million, the

(K)
L

(b) If a corporation is an S corporation, the minimum tax is $150.

©)) The minimum tax is not apportionable (except in the case of a change of accounting periods), and is payable in
full for any part of the year during which a corperation is subject to tax.
Section 2. The amendments to the minimum tax made by Section 1 of this 2016 Act do not apply to any legally formed

and registered “benefit company,” as that term is defined in ORS 60.750. A legally formed and registered “benefit com-
pany” shall pay the minimum tax set forth in ORS 317.090(2) in effect prior to the passage of this 2016 Act.

Section 3. All of the revenue generated from the increase in the tax created by this 2016 Act shall be used to provide
additional funding for: public early childhood and kindergarten through twelfth grade education; healthcare; and, ser-
vices for senior citizens. Revenue distributed pursuant to this section shall be in addition to other funds distributed for:
public early childhood and kindergarten through twelfth grade education; healthcare; and, services for senior citizens.
Section 4. The amendments to ORS 317.090 made by Section 1 of this 2016 Act and Sections 2 and 3 of this 2016 Act
apply to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2017.

Section 5. If any provision of this 2016 Act is held invalid for any reason, all remaining provisions of this Act shall re-
main in place and shall be given full force and effect.
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Increases corporate minimum tax when sales exceed $25 million;
funds education, healthcare, senior services

Result of “Yes” Vote: “Yes” vote increases corporate minimum tax when sales exceed $25 million; removes
tax limit; exempts “benefit companies”; increased revenue funds education, healthcare, senior services.

Result of “No” Vote: “No” vote retains existing corporate minimum tax rates based on Oregon sales; tax limited to
$100,000; revenue not dedicated to education, healthcare, senior services.

Summary: Current law requires each corporation or affiliated group of corporations filing a federal tax return to pay annual
minimum tax; amount of tax is determined by tax bracket corresponding to amount of corporation’s Oregon sales; corporations with
sales of $100 million or more pay $100,000. Measure increases annual minimum tax on corporations with Oregon sales of more than
$25 million; imposes minimum tax of $30,001 plus 2.5% of amount of sales above $25 million; eliminates tax cap; benefit companies
(business entities that create public benefit) taxed under current law. Applies to tax years beginning on/after January 1, 2017.
Revenue from tax increase goes to: public education (early childhood through grade 12); healthcare; services for senior citizens.

A full and correct copy of the text of the initiative petition is available from chief petitioners.

" Gary Cobb Laura lllig Ben Unger
9805 N Lombard Street 741 E 20" Avenue 809 N Beech Street Suite C
Portland, OR 97203 Eugene, OR 97405 Portland, OR 97227 Learn more at abetteroregon.org

Instructions for Signers
1 Only active Oregon voters may sign a petition. Use a pen to sign your name, as you did when you registered to vote.
2 Provide the date you signed the petition, your printed name and residence address. Only you may complete this optional information.
3 It is against the law for signers to:
-» Sign another person’s name under any circumstances.
= Sign a petition more than one time.
= Sign a petition when you are not qualified to sign it.

To the Secretary of State of Oregon: | am an active Oregon voter and request this petition be placed on the ballot for approval or rejection
at the election listed.

Signature Date Signed mm/dd/yy

Print Name Residence Address street, city, zip code Sheet Number
Completed by Chief Petition

Fold on the dotted lines, tape closed. Do not staple.



