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Support HB 2703
Short-term Health Plans

Short-term Health Plans provide very limited benefits. They do NOT cover preventative
services or pre-existing conditions. But for some Oregonians, they are better than nothing.
In 2018, some 3,000 Oregonians purchased short-term plans.

Problem
While Oregon has dramatically lowered its uninsured rate, there are still some 230,000
(6%) individuals without insurance coverage. 80% of the uninsured had a gap in coverage
ranging from one month to one year.

Examples:

#1. A consumer misses the open-enrollment period at the beginning of a year. Current
Oregon law forces them to go without coverage for most of the year while they wait for the
next opportunity to sign up for insurance.

#2. A 40-year-old father of two loses insurance coverage mid-year due to non-payment
while going through a messy divorce. This is not a qualifying event, so he can’t purchase
regular insurance and short-term policies in Oregon can only cover three months.

#3. A 64-year old recent retiree needs to bridge the gap until they qualify for Medicare.
But they cannot afford the $1,000 per month premium to buy insurance on the
Marketplace. There is no good short-term option for them. Their only options are a three-
month short-term policy or to go without insurance.

Solution
Increase the length of short-term policies to 12 months.

Addressing DCBS Concerns
DCBS fears short-term policies might destabilize the individual market and that
consumers don’t always know what they are buying (i.e., what's not covered) with short-
term policies. To address those concerns, HB 2703:
e Limits purchase of short-term plans to one every three years.
e Expires all short-term plans, no matter when they are sold, on December 31 so the
policyholder can transition to the individual market.
e Requires agents to complete a certification training, approved by DCBS, before they
can sell short-term policies.
e Allows DCBS to clarify in rule the disclosure requirements for agents and carriers
selling short-term policies.
e Discourages agents from selling short-term plans by replacing commissions with a
one-time $75 fee.
e Sunsets the availability of 12-month short-term plans on December 31, 2021 during
which Health Underwriters will work with DCBS to strengthen the individual market.

Short-term health policies are a last resort for consumers who find themselves with no
other viable option. HB 2703 gives agents a tool to help bridge the gap until the next open

enrollment period.

Contact: Doug Barber, doug@Ilobbyoregon.com, 541-221-3072
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