

DATE:	February 20, 2019
TO:	Joint Committee on Transportation
FROM:	Amy Joyce, Legislative Liaison
SUBJECT:	SB 666, Pacific Wonderland License Plate Surcharge

## **INTRODUCTION**

The Pacific Wonderland plate has been issued for nearly nine years. The current cost is a onetime \$100 surcharge. DMV would need to make small systems changes to accomplish the surcharge change in SB 666. This activity is not Highway Fund eligible.

## DISCUSSION

The 2009 legislature created the Pacific Wonderland license plates, back when a new specialty plate required legislative action. Initially the sale was capped at 40,000 sets. Later the cap was increased to 80,000 sets, and in 2018 the cap was eliminated. The surcharge was, and remains, \$100 at issuance. Unlike most other specialty plates, the surcharge is not assessed at every registration renewal. DMV retains its costs from the revenues collected, and the remainder is transferred.

By statute, two entities split the funds raised: the Oregon State Capitol Foundation and the Oregon Historical Society. In 2018, ODOT transferred about \$1.2 million total to those organizations.

To implement the bill, DMV would make changes to our systems, forms, web site, etc. Because this work is not eligible to be paid for with Highway Funds, another revenue source must be used. Typically, when small changes to existing plate programs have occurred, ODOT / DMV will use surcharge revenue to recoup those costs.

## SUMMARY

Changing the surcharge for the Pacific Wonderland license plate will result in costs that the agency cannot pay with Highway Funds. ODOT would use surcharge money to cover those costs.