

February 12, 2019

Chair Williamson, Vice-Chair Gorsek, Vice-chair Sprenger and members of the House Judiciary Committee:

On behalf of the Oregon Task Force on School Safety we write in strong support of HB 2051 that will strengthen the confidentiality of our statewide student safety tip line – SafeOregon.

To encourage its use, the intent of the Legislature was for students to use the tip line confidentially and anonymously. To support this intention, the current law needs to be strengthened so that the identity of students or others making reports to the tip line can be protected from public records requests. Without this change, the release of tips or portions of tips may in some instances also inadvertently disclose the identities of the tipsters and victims, putting them at greater risk and discouraging use of the tip line.

Since its inception in January 2017, well over 521,081 students have been served by the tip line. The tip line is important to student safety and we need to encourage its use. Students and others using the tip line need the assurance that their identities will be protected. HB 2051 will strengthen this assurance.

On behalf of the Oregon Task Force on School Safety, thank you for the opportunity to share our support for this important proposed legislation.

Sheriff Craig Roberts, Chair	Dr. Dave Novotney, Vice-chair
Oregon Task Force on School Safety	Oregon Task Force on School Safety
Representing,	Representing,
Oregon State Sheriffs' Assoc.	Oregon Assoc. of Education Service Districts

OTFSS online: www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/Task-Force-on-School-Safety.aspx

CHAIR Sheriff Craig Roberts Clackamas County Sheriff's Office / Oregon State Sheriffs' Association

VICE-CHAIR Dave Novotney, Ph.D. Superintendent, Willamette Education Service District / Oregon Association of Education Service Districts TASK FORCE MEMBERS Representative Jeff Barker House District 28 • Lindsey Capps Education Policy Advisor, Governor's Office • Charan Cline Superintendent, Yamhill Carlton School District Caryn Connolly Oregon Education Association • Eriks Gabliks Director, Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training • Colt Gill Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction, Oregon Department of Education Susan Graves Safety Coordinator, Lincoln County School District / Oregon School Employees Association • Superintendent Travis Hampton Oregon State Police Peggy Holstedt Director of Policy Services, Oregon School Boards Association • Senator Rob Wagner Senate District 19 • Scott Magers Oregon Fire Chiefs Association • Heidi Moawad Public Safety Policy Advisor, Governor's Office Cherryl Ramirez Executive Director, Association of Oregon Community Mental Health Programs • Chief Geoff Spalding Astoria Police Department / Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police