

February 6, 2019

Chair Wagner, Vice-Chair Thomsen and members of the Senate Education Committee:

On behalf of the Oregon Task Force on School Safety we write in strong support of SB 52 – Adi's Act – that will require school districts to adopt a policy on student suicide prevention.

Our school safety Task Force is comprised of 16 policy makers from the Governor's Office, Legislature, education, law enforcement, fire and rescue and public mental health. In existence since 2014, our members work collaboratively to research and seek informed school safety strategies, learn what is happening in other states and share collective expertise in support of making key recommendations to the Oregon Legislature to improve school safety statewide.

In this Legislative Session, the Task Force proposes creation of a statewide School Safety and Prevention System within the Oregon Department of Education to address 3 critical areas: youth suicide prevention and wellness promotion, bullying and harassment prevention, and preventing or mitigating threats of violence (SB 584/HB 2327).

Equipping schools with technical assistance and training that supports early identification and intervention strategies for students at risk of suicide and self-harm is a critical piece of our bicameral legislation to create a Statewide School Safety and Prevention System. *The first step in this comprehensive approach is to ensure that all school districts have a student suicide prevention policy based on national best practices.*

We are united in Oregon's movement to help <u>all</u> young people embrace life. The Oregon Task Force on School Safety unanimously supports SB 52 (Adi's Act) as an important next step.

Thank you for the opportunity to share our support for this important proposed legislation.

Sheriff Craig Roberts, Chair

Oregon Task Force on School Safety Representing, OSSA Dr. Dave Novotney, Vice-chair

Oregon Task Force on School Safety Representing, OAES

OTFSS online: www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/Task-Force-on-School-Safety.aspx

CHAIR Sheriff Craig Roberts Clackamas County Sheriff's Office / Oregon State Sheriffs' Association

VICE-CHAIR Dave Novotney, Ph.D. Superintendent, Willamette Education Service District / Oregon Association of Education Service Districts TASK FORCE MEMBERS Representative Jeff Barker House District 28 • Lindsey Capps Education Service District / Oregon Association of Education Service Districts Caryn Connolly Oregon Education Association • Eriks Gabliks Director, Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training • Colt Gill Deputy Superintendent of Public Instruction, Oregon Department of Education Susan Graves Safety Coordinator, Lincoln County School District / Oregon Association • Senator Rob Wagner Senate District 19 • Scott Magers Oregon Fire Chiefs Association • Heidi Moawad Public Safety Policy Advisor, Governor's Office Cherryl Ramirez Executive Director, Association of Oregon Community Mental Health Programs • Chief Geoff Spalding Astoria Police Department / Oregon Association of Chiefs of Police