# HB 2080 Marine Board Motorboat Fees



#### **Director Larry Warren**

#### Issue:

- The Marine Board's current fee rates are not sufficient to support agency operations at the current service level.
- Costs for contracted services for marine law enforcement continue to rise.
- Costs for supplies and materials (aluminum, concrete, etc.) continue to rise.





#### **Marine Board Revenue**

#### 2017-19 MARINE BOARD REVENUES BY MAJOR SOURCE – TOTAL \$32,915,093 Excludes \$6,065,290 Beginning Balance





#### **Marine Board Expenditures**

#### 2017-19 MARINE BOARD EXPENDITURES BY MAJOR PROGRAM



## **Direction from the Board**

- The Marine Board approved \$1.3 million in cuts during the 2017-2019 biennium;
- And \$1.6 million in permanent reductions for the 2019-2021 biennium to minimize the impact of a fee increase to recreational boaters.



# Stakeholder Engagement

- Open Houses -Held across the state, summer 2018
- Video Series- Online town hall
- Press releases/Pubic Notices early on in the process
- Feedback- Expectation of service for any fee increase



Tenmile Lakes Dock Installation

#### Facilities Examples



Hyak Park Restroom Installation

Reedsport's Rainbow Plaza -Before Reedsport's Rainbow Plaza •After

## **Marine Law Enforcement**

- Conducted 31,778 boat inspections in 2018
- Issued 5,393 violations in 2018
- Respond to on-water emergencies
- Conduct classroom boating safety education
- Officers are skilled in operating drift, jet and propeller boats under varying water conditions





Following the national trend of decreasing boater registrations while boating activity has increased leads to:

- Decreasing registration revenue, gas tax revenue and lower US Coast Guard grant money
- Increased demand for services and aging infrastructure





## **Other States**

- Washington and California both have excise taxes along with registration fees
- Cost for average valued 19' boat over 12 years
  - \$2,830 in California
  - \$1,336 in Washington
  - \$771 in Oregon under proposed fees
- Money paid by boaters in other states doesn't always go back into boating services



Boat launch and boarding dock in Bellingham, WA.



- If a fee increase is approved, new rates would be implemented starting with 2020 boat registrations.
- Models show this fee increase sustaining the agency through 2025.
- While registrations are down, boating activity continues to increase. Failure to increase fees will result program cuts to marine law enforcement and boating facility grants.





Changing the fee rates will provide revenue to fund important services to recreational boaters: marine law enforcement (32 counties and Oregon State Police); boating facility grants (for parking, restrooms, docks, piling, boat ramps, etc.) and boating safety education.





This concept proposes to increase the registration cost per foot, one-time title fee, and boater education card.

\$5.95 per foot for motorboat registration (\$1.45 increase), \$75 new title or title transfer fee (\$25 increase), \$20 boater education card (\$10 increase)





## HB 2080 Amendment

- Coast Guard has federal authority over how boats are registered
- Doesn't allow the issuance of a registration to be conditioned on another permit
- Aquatic Invasive Species (AIS) fee is viewed as additional fee
- Amendment would allow us to meet US Coast Guard requirements and preserve the funding for AIS









