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The Honorable Representative Jennifer Williamson, Chair
House Judiciary Committee, Members

Re: Testimony re: HB 2044
Dear Chair Williamson and Members of the Committee:

The Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers Association (OCDLA) is a private, hon-partisan, non-
profit bar association of attorneys who represent juveniles and adults in delinquency,
dependency, criminal prosecutions, appeals, civil commitment, and post-conviction relief
proceedings throughout the state of Oregon. The Oregon Criminal Defense Lawyers Association
serves the defense and juvenile law communities through continuing legal education, public
education, networking, and legislative action. OCDLA promotes legislation beneficial to the
criminal and juvenile justice systems that protects the constitutional and statutory rights of those
accused of crime or otherwise involved in delinquency and dependency systems as well as to the
lawyers and service providers who do this difficult work. We also advocate against issues that
would harm our goals of reform within the criminal and juvenile justice systems.

Thank you for the opportunity to submit the following comments regarding HB 2044.

Over the years (through my predecessor Gail Meyer and now myself), OCDLA has participated
in both the original Sex Offender Level Classification workgroup hosted by the Board of Parole
and Post Prison Supervision (BPPPS) and in their subcommittee on SONL reclassification and
relief. OCDLA maintains a very positive relationship with the Board, and we appreciate them
asking for our input and listening and responding to our concerns.

Under the current SONL law, once a person is classified under the level system, they have 60
days from the date they receive notice of their classification to file a petition to challenge their
classification level. HB 2044 seeks to change the timeline from when the person receives notice
to “The petition may be filed no later than 60 days after the notice of the classification is
provided to the person or, if the notice is mailed, no later than 60 days after the notice is sent.”



It is common knowledge that one of the many collateral consequences associated with the
requirement of sex offender registration is homelessness. Our concern with this bill is that due to
many registrant’s inability to regularly monitor or receive their mail, a large swath of registrants
will miss out on the important procedural ability to challenge their classification. Since the bill
revises the 60-day timeline from when the notice is sent or mailed, it fails to take into account
actual receipt which is really important in this type of process, especially for people who don’t
have a way to get mail.

We are also concerned that 60 days is an incredibly quick turnaround for even people who
actually receive notice—the petition process requires substantive documents be filed to challenge
the classification, and 60 days is tight as most people who wish to challenge their classification
will likely want or need to obtain a lawyer, gather information, and file substantive
documentation.

I have had conversations with members of the Board and the Governor’s office about the
homelessness issue, and they have expressed their willingness to modify their current draft to
make sure homeless registrants don’t lose their ability to object to their classification due to lack
of notice. We discussed creating language that creates a process for how the board intends to
provide the notice to homeless registrants and language that allows the board to waive the
timeline and allow a petition after the 60 days for good cause, and good cause should be defined
to include homelessness and lack of actual notice.

We appreciate the Board’s willingness to work with us on this bill, and we will make ourselves
available to work on an amendment. For the reasons outlined above, OCDLA strongly urges this
committee to consider an appropriate amendment prior to voting on this bill. Thank you for your
consideration.
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