

January 31, 2019

House Committee on Energy and Environment Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE, Room 347 Salem, OR 97301

Chair Ken Helm and Members of the Committee:

The Association of Oregon Recyclers (AOR) is a trade association focused on advancing waste prevention and recycling in Oregon. AOR's diverse membership includes more than 200 businesses, governments, nonprofits and individuals working together on the common goal of achieving a system of sustainable materials management in Oregon.

<u>AOR supports HB 2772</u> which establishes a product stewardship program for household hazardous wastes. Household hazardous wastes come in many forms and are attributed to harmful effects on human health and the environment. These materials can be harmful to our most vulnerable residents, children, and to workers who collect and handle municipal solid waste.

When not managed properly, household hazardous wastes can pollute our water and air. HB 2772 will result in more convenient household hazardous waste collection programs that that will increase public safety and health and environmental quality for Oregonians. AOR sees producer responsibility as a key aspect of sustainable materials management. Existing collection programs are not getting all these hazardous materials out of the waste stream. More efforts are needed and having producers contribute to solving the problem is essential.

AOR urges your support for this important piece of legislation.

Sincerely,

Alison Briggs-Ungerer Chair, Association of Oregon Recyclers

Chair: Alison Briggs-Ungerer Briggs-Ungerer Consulting, LLC

Past Chair: Pete Chism-Winfileld City of Portland

Secretary: Galen McAllister Garten Services

Treasurer: Laura Leebrick Rogue Disposal

Conference Chair: Kristin Leichner Pride Disposal

Education Chair: Gregg Hayward City of Gresham

Fundraising Chair: Alex Bertolucci Washington County

Legislative Chair: Pam Peck Metro

Marketing Chair: Joel Schoening Oregon Beverage Recycling Coopeative

Markets Chair: Vinod Singh Far West Recycling

Membership Chair: Jennifer Stefanick Master Recycler