Oregon State Marine Board

Agency Overview



SERVING OREGON'S BOATERS SINCE 1959.



Serving Oregon's recreational boating public through education, enforcement, access and environmental stewardship for a safe and enjoyable experience.



Guiding statutes in ORS 830, 704

Oregon State Marine Board

- Created in 1959
- ~\$33 million biennial budget
- No general fund –Motorboat registration/title fees support over 46% of agency programs
- Receive fuel tax and federal funding (Coast Guard, US Fish and Wildlife Service, Clean Vessel Act and Boating Infrastructure grant programs)
- Oversight by a five-member governing Board of volunteer citizens with recreational boating backgrounds



2019 Marine Board Bills

- 1. SB 47 Waterway Access Account
- 2. HB 2076 Aquatic Invasive Species Program Updates
- 3. HB 2077 Rental (Livery) Business Registration
- 4. HB 2078 Boater Education Cards
- 5. HB 2079 Boating Safety Laws
- 6. HB 2080 Agency Fees



Waterway Access Account -SB 47

- Non-motorized boaters want more access to the water.
- Water-based recreation tourism is becoming one of the state's new economic industries.
- The Marine Board is ready to meet the needs of the non-motorized boating community and help identify opportunities for water-related investments that result in rural economic growth that helps businesses and improve infrastructure, while also assisting with long-term local waterway management planning.



Waterway Access Account –SB 47

- Marine Board provides a 75% match to public entities in facility grants for boat ramps, parking, restrooms and docks, along with technical/design assistance and help with permitting –primarily for motorized access facilities
- The Waterway Access Account would allow OSMB to fund construction and maintenance for nonmotorized access which will help disperse congestion and reduce conflict through improved facility design.



Waterway Access Account –SB 47

- Grants would also be awarded to public bodies and non-profit entities to develop safety education courses or purchase boating equipment
- Program aims to reduce barriers in underserved communities who want to participate in recreational boating.
- Replaces and combines with the Aquatic Invasive Species Permit. Proposed fees: \$5 weekly permit, \$17 annual, and \$30 two-year permit. 1/3 fees go to dedicated AIS program and 2/3 into Waterway Access Account.







Aquatic Invasive Species Program —HB 2076

- "Pull the Plug," requirement for boats with water storage compartments to allow them to drain while at the facility and while in transit.
- Bill also grants authority for law enforcement to require boaters who bypass a mandatory inspection station to return to the station if it's within 5 miles.



Boat Rental (Livery) Businesses – HB 2077

 Requires boat rental businesses to register with the Marine Board and create a conduit for sharing boating safety information and equipment requirements to the public renting watercraft.





Boater Education Card – HB 2078

 Remove 60-day exemption for obtaining a boater education card. Out-of-state boaters required to carry proof of their state's boater education requirement. Removes exemption from carrying a boater education card for commercial anglers.





Boating Safety -HB 2079



- Allow courts and the Marine Board to suspend boater education card for convictions of reckless boating for one year or boating under the influence of intoxicants for 1-3 years.
- Updates the definition of "reckless" to one that is used in the motor vehicle code.
- Changes the fine for "no life jacket" violations from a class B to a class D violation (\$265 fine to \$115).



Agency Fees – HB 2080



- The number of people participating in recreational boating is up, but the number of motorized registered boats is down.
- Agency federal funding is matched based on registration volume.
- Ninety percent of the agency's revenue goes toward special payments to marine law enforcement and boating facility grants. The demand for services is increasing and costs of contract services and supplies are increasing. Changing the fee rates will allow the agency to continue funding important services for the next few biennia.



Agency Fees – HB 2080

The Marine Board approved \$1.3 million in cuts during the 2017-2019 biennium in addition to \$1.6 million in permanent cuts for the 2019-2021 biennium to reduce the fee increase impact to motorized boaters.

Proposed Fee Increases: \$1.45 per foot (33%), from \$4.50 to \$5.95 for motorboat registrations. New title or title transfers from \$50 to \$75. Boater education card from \$10 to \$20 and \$8 to \$16 for a replacement card.





Other Agency Key Issues

Derelict Vessels

- \$150,000 of recreational boaters funds each biennium go to remove derelict vessels. Cost recovery efforts began in 2017 and has recovered \$4,259.87 for the Salvaged Vessel Subaccount
- 45 boats were removed from state waterways in the 2017-2019 biennium. 22 from Multnomah County with 5 being seized by DSL
- Congestion in the Portland Metro Area
 - Wakes
 - Impact to non-boaters
 - Docks
- Law Enforcement Partners -Funding



