HISTORY OF GEOLOGIST LICENSURE

Thirty-one (31) states & one (1) territory require geologist licensure

See list below and attached map.
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The states and territory of Puerto Rico work together through the National
Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) to provide for a defensible,
national licensure examination. ASBOG was formed as a non-profit organization
in the mid-1980s, and Oregon started to participate with ASBOG in 1989. Oregon
was one of the first ten (10) states to support ASBOG as a means to improve the
licensure examination. Oregon has relied on the ASBOG examination as the
standard for licensure since 1996. Prior to this, OSBGE relied on an Oregon only
examination. With the ASBOG examination, individuals can use the exam results
in every U.S. jurisdiction that requires licensure.

Oregon Geologist Licensure

OSBGE was established by action of the 1977 Oregon Legislature. The statutory
mission of OSBGE is to regulate the practice of geology to “safeguard the health
and welfare and property of the people of Oregon. These safeguards are in the
fields of geology as related to engineering, groundwater, land use planning,

mineral exploration and development, geologic hazards, the further development of
the science of geology, and other geologic matters of concern to the people of the
state.” (ORS 672.515)

Oregon Revised Statutes for OSBGE: ORS 672.505 to 672.991
Oregon Administrative Rules for OSBGE: OAR Chapter 809

OSBGE is a six (6) member board:
e Four (4) geologists and one (1) public member appointed by the Governor*
e The “State Geologist” (i.e., Director of the Oregon Dept. of Geology &
Mineral Industries) serve as an ex-officio member.
*for 3-year terms but limited to 2 consecutive terms (i.e., 6 years)

Oregon is one (1) of three (3) states with a Certified Engineering Geology (CEG)
specialty. Washington and California are the other states. The licensure boards for
the three states have a history of collaboration with respect to this specialty
registration. The need for the specialty registration in these states is based on the
particular geologic conditions and hazards of the region.

OSBGE is staffed with a Board Administrator (Executive Director) and a
Registration Specialist.

As of 12/31/2018, OSBGE has active licenses as follows:
e 84 Geologists-in-Training (GIT)
e 1076 Registered Geologists (RG)
e 226 Certified Engineering Geologists (CEG)
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PR






°*1**} Oregon Geologist Snapshol

www.oregon.gov/OSBGE
osbge.info@oregon.gov

Registrant Snapshot
I 84 Geologist-in-Training (GIT) |
l 1076 Registered Geologist (RG)

226 RGs are also Certified Engineering Geologists (CEGs) I

! B
47% of RGs & 50% of CEGS reside in Oregon |

I 76% of GITs reside in Oregon
I Data as of 12/31/2018

Registration Standards

| EXAMINATION: (offered twice/year, spring & fall)

National Association of State Boards of Geology (ASBOG) exam
I ¢ Fundamentals of Geology (FG) Section—must pass for GIT, RG
I ¢ Practice of Geology (PG) Section—must pass for RG

I An RG must pass the OR-WA or CA Engineering Geology exam for the CEG.

[ EDUCATION FOR EXAM/REGISTRATION:
45 quarter hrs. (30 semester hrs.) of geology coursework from accredited
college or university, with 80% upper division coursework as determined by
| OSBGE. You can sit for the FG Section if you meet the education standard.

I EXPERIENCE FOR EXAM/REGISTRATION:
|A minimum of 7 years of geology experience is required:
¢ 4 years maximum for education (2 years granted for 45 quarter hrs.)

I and

I ¢ Minimum 3 years (full time) under supervision of qualified geologist
or

| ¢ Minimum 5 years (full time) in responsible charge (e.g., work for

federal government, work in another state, etc.)

IAn individual can sit for the ASBOG PG Section if the education & experi-
ence standards are met. Registration requires meeting the education, expe-
| rience minimums & passage of the ASBOG FG & PG Sections!

| EXPERIENCE FOR CEG: (A) 3 years under supervision of qualified engi-
Ineering geologist, (B) 5 years in responsible charge of engineering geological
projects, or (C) 5 years experience from a combination of (A) and (B).

(See OAR 809-030-0015 for alternative path for geology faculty.)


https://www.oregon.gov/OSBGE/Pages/default.aspx
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We’re on the Web at
https://www.oregon.gov/
osbge/pages/default.aspx

Oregon State Board of
Geologist Examiners

707 13th Street SE, Suite 114
Salem, OR 97301

Phone: 503-566-2837
Fax: 503-485-2947

E-mail: osbge.info@oregon.gov

OSBGE’s Mission

Help assure the health, safety, and welfare of Oregonians with regard to the public practice of geology
through:

Licensing of those engaged in the public practice of geology;

Response to complaints from the public and members of the profession;

Public education directed at appropriate regulatory communities;

Cooperation with closely related boards and commissions;

Attention to ethics; and

Systematic outreach to counties, cities, and registrants.

Highlights from the OSBGE Timeline

Authorizing statutes passed & signed by Governor Straub

OSBGE’s first year of meetings, registration grandfathering throughout the year

All registrations from here on based on meeting exam, education, and experience standards
Modern form of Code of Professional Conduct adopted in OSBGE rule

RGs added as eligible for Certified Water Rights Examiner registration via OSBEELS
Exam standard switched from OR exam to national ASBOG exam

Designated semi-independent agency (following pilot started in 1997)

Memorandum of Understanding—OSBGE and OSBEELS

OSBGE accepting CA engineering geology exam for CEG cooperative registration
Updated report guidelines and new professional practices guidance released

CA accepting OR-WA engineering geology exam for CEG cooperative registration
New Memorandum of Understanding—OSBGE and OSBEELS

40th Anniversary of OSBGE establishment by action of the Oregon Legislature

40th Anniversary of Geologist Registration in Oregon, first registrations issued in 1978
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