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79th OREGON LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY--2018 Regular Session

HOUSE AMENDMENTS TO
HOUSE BILL 4129

By COMMITTEE ON HUMAN SERVICES AND HOUSING

February 19

On page 1 of the printed bill, line 2, delete “192.556,”.

Delete lines 12 through 28 and insert:

“ SECTION 2. (1) The Health Licensing Office may issue a residential care facility ad-

ministrator license to an applicant who:

“(a) Is at least 21 years of age;

“(b) Has earned at least a high school diploma or its equivalent;

“(c)(A) For at least two of the last five years has been employed in a professional or

managerial capacity in a health or social service related field, or has a combination of expe-

rience and education deemed sufficient by the office; or

“(B) Has earned at least a bachelor’s degree in a health or social service related field;

“(d) Has completed at least 40 hours of training approved by the office by rule;

“(e) Pays a licensure fee; and

“(f) Passes an examination described in section 3 of this 2018 Act.

“(2) When issuing a license under this section, the office shall consider the qualifications

for employment under ORS 443.004.

“ SECTION 3. (1) The Long Term Care Administrators Board shall:

“(a) Approve at least one examination for licensure as a residential care facility admin-

istrator; and

“(b) Ensure that the examinations are easily and frequently accessible to applicants.

“(2) An applicant for licensure under section 2 of this 2018 Act shall pay an examination

or reexamination fee established by the Health Licensing Office under ORS 676.576.

“(3) The board shall adopt rules to:

“(a) Determine the subjects, scope and content of the examinations;

“(b) Ensure the examinations are specific to Oregon law and administrative rules;

“(c) Determine a passing score for each examination approved by the board; and

“(d) Ensure the integrity of the examination process.”.

On page 2, delete lines 1 and 2.

On page 3, line 40, after “care” insert “or care for persons with disabilities”.

On page 5, after line 28, insert:

“ SECTION 12. The Long Term Care Administrators Board may not carry out a discipli-

nary action against an individual who holds a license under ORS 678.710 to 678.820 unless at

least one board member who represents the type of license held by the individual attends all

board meetings related to the disciplinary action.”.

Delete lines 32 through 45.

Delete pages 6 and 7.
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On page 8, delete lines 1 through 38.

On page 19, delete lines 41 through 45 and delete page 20 insert:

“ SECTION 27. (1) Not later than January 1, 2019, the Health Licensing Office and the

Long Term Care Administrators Board shall ensure that the members of the board meet the

professional representation membership requirements established in ORS 678.800, as

amended by section 9 of this 2018 Act.

“(2) Not later than December 31, 2021, each member of the board who is subject to the

requirements of section 28 of this 2018 Act must hold a residential care facility administrator

license.

“(3) Not later than December 31, 2019, the board shall approve the examinations for

licensure as a residential care facility administrator described in section 3 of this 2018 Act.

“ SECTION 28. (1) Not later than July 1, 2019, an individual who is employed in Oregon

as a residential care facility administrator, as defined in ORS 678.710, shall apply to the

Health Licensing Office on a form created by the office for a residential care facility admin-

istrator license. The office may issue a license under this section to an applicant who:

“(a) Is at least 21 years of age;

“(b) Has earned at least a high school diploma or its equivalent;

“(c) Has met the requirements for training and continuing education established by the

office by rule for the lesser of the three years immediately preceding the date of application

or the duration of employment in Oregon as a residential care facility administrator;

“(d) Is in good standing with the office, and any residential care facility for which the

person has been responsible has not been subject to conditions imposed by the Department

of Human Services while the person was responsible for the residential care facility; and

“(e) Pays the licensure fee established by the office by rule.

“(2)(a) The office may issue a provisional residential care facility administrator license

to an individual who applies for licensure under this section and who is employed in Oregon

as a residential care facility administrator but who does not meet all the requirements of

subsection (1)(c) and (d) of this section. An individual described in this subsection must earn

a passing score on an examination described in section 3 of this 2018 Act on or before De-

cember 31, 2021.

“(b) At its discretion and for good cause, the office may waive the requirements of sub-

section (1)(a) to (d) of this section.

“(3) The office may issue a provisional residential care facility administrator license to

an individual who is employed in a state other than Oregon as a residential care facility ad-

ministrator, or similar role, but who meets the requirements of section 2 (1)(a) to (e) of this

2018 Act. An individual described in this subsection must earn a passing score on an exam-

ination described in section 3 of this 2018 Act on or before December 31, 2021.

“(4) An individual who applies for a provisional license under subsection (2) or (3) of this

section must pay the provisional licensure fee established by the office by rule.

“(5) When issuing a license or a provisional license under this section, the office shall

consider the qualifications for employment under ORS 443.004.

“(6) An individual issued a license or a provisional license under this section shall:

“(a) Submit to the office sufficient proof that the individual has completed a tuberculosis

screening with a satisfactory result; and

“(b) Meet the requirements for training and continuing education established by the of-
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fice by rule.

“(7) A provisional residential care facility administrator license issued under this section

is not renewable and expires on the earlier of December 31, 2021, or the date upon which the

holder is issued a license under section 2 of this 2018 Act.

“(8) Not later than January 1, 2022, an individual who holds a provisional residential care

facility administrator license and who is employed in Oregon as a residential care facility

administrator must obtain a residential care facility license under section 2 of this 2018 Act.

“(9) Licenses and provisional licenses issued under this section are subject to the pro-

visions of ORS 678.790.

“(10) Moneys collected under this section shall be paid into the General Fund and credited

to the Health Licensing Office Account established under ORS 676.625.

“(11) The office may adopt rules to carry out the requirements of this section, and may

consult with the department in establishing any standards under this section.

“ SECTION 29. Section 27 of this 2018 Act is repealed on January 2, 2020.

“ SECTION 30. Section 28 of this 2018 Act is repealed on January 2, 2022.

“ CAPTIONS

“ SECTION 31. The unit captions used in this 2018 Act are provided only for the conven-

ience of the reader and do not become part of the statutory law of this state or express any

legislative intent in the enactment of this 2018 Act.

“ OPERATIVE DATE AND EMERGENCY CLAUSE

“ SECTION 32. (1) Sections 2 to 4 and 12 of this 2018 Act and the amendments to ORS

401.651, 431A.850, 433.045, 441.057, 441.406, 676.108, 676.150, 676.350, 676.400, 676.565, 676.595,

676.850, 676.992, 678.710, 678.720, 678.740, 678.770, 678.810, 678.820 and 743B.454 by sections 5,

6, 7, 8, 10, 11 and 13 to 26 of this 2018 Act become operative on July 1, 2019.

“(2) The amendments to ORS 678.800 by section 9 of this 2018 Act become operative on

January 1, 2019.

“(3) The Health Licensing Office and the Long Term Care Administrators Board may take

any action before the operative date specified in subsection (1) of this section that is neces-

sary to enable the office and the board to exercise, on and after the operative date specified

in subsection (1) of this section, all of the duties, functions and powers conferred on the of-

fice and the board by sections 2 to 4 and 12 of this 2018 Act and the amendments to ORS

401.651, 431A.850, 433.045, 441.057, 441.406, 676.108, 676.150, 676.350, 676.400, 676.565, 676.595,

676.850, 676.992, 678.710, 678.720, 678.740, 678.770, 678.800, 678.810, 678.820 and 743B.454 by

sections 5 to 11 and 13 to 26 of this 2018 Act.

“ SECTION 33. This 2018 Act being necessary for the immediate preservation of the public

peace, health and safety, an emergency is declared to exist, and this 2018 Act takes effect

on its passage.”.
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