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WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Modifies the mandatory reporting law for child abuse by excluding from the definition of "abuse" consensual sexual
contact between a child over the age of 14 and a person under the age of 21, unless there is a difference of three or
more years in age; includes provisions related to child abuse investigations conducted on school premises; and

modifies definitions of "adult", "community health program", and "sexual abuse" for the purposes of abuse reporting
for adults with mental illnesses or development disabilities.

Modifies the definition of “abuse” for mandatory reporting of child abuse to not include consensual sexual contact or
intercourse between a child over age 14 and a person under age 21 if: the person is not three or more years older
than the child and sexual contact is not the result of force, intimidation, or coercion.

Authorizes the Department of Human Services (DHS) or law enforcement agency to conduct abuse investigations on
school premises. Requires DHS or law enforcement agency conducting the investigation to present adequate
identification to school staff members. Requires school staff members to cooperate with investigation and, at a
minimum, allow DHS or law enforcement agency conducting the investigation access to the child and a private space
to interview the child. Prohibits school administrators and staff from notifying any person of the investigation, other
than DHS, law enforcement, and school employees necessary to enable the investigation. Clarifies that information
obtained during the investigation is not part of the child's school record.

Expands definition of “adult” within abuse reporting for adults with mental illness or developmental disabilities to
include a person who is receiving mental health treatment in a community program, facility, or state hospital for
treatment of substance use disorder or mental illness. Includes in the definition of “community program” providers
whose services are paid for, directly or indirectly, by the Oregon Health Authority. Clarifies the definition of "sexual
abuse" to include any sexual contact between a recipient of mental health or substance use disorder treatment and
the provider of the treatment.

Declares emergency, effective upon passage.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

e (larification needed for child abuse investigations on school premises

e lack of abuse reporting for adults with severe and persistent mental health illnesses or adults receiving
treatment for substance use disorders

Mandatory reporting of consensual sexual contact between teenagers

Concerns about the age for mandatory reporting of sexual contact

Potential decrease in voluntary discussions between teenagers and adults regarding sexual activity
Need for broad mandatory reporting to avoid missing potential child abuse cases

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

Changes the age for consensual sexual contact from 12 years of age to 14 years of age for exclusion of specified
provisions in "abuse" definition.
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BACKGROUND:

School teachers and employees are required under Oregon law to report suspected child abuse and neglect for any
person who is under 18 years of age (ORS 419B.005). An Oregon school district recently instructed teachers and staff
to report any sexual contact between students as child abuse, understanding the mandatory reporting law to assert
that children and youth under the age of 18 cannot consent to sexual activity. "Sexual contact" is defined in Oregon
law as any touching of the sexual or other intimate parts of a person or causing such a person to touch the sexual or
intimate parts of the actor for the purpose of arousing or gratifying the sexual desire of either party (ORS 163.305). In
regard to sexual offenses, Oregon law considers a person under 18 years of age incapable of consenting to a sexual
act (ORS 163.315). Oregon law provides a defense for certain consensual sexual offenses, if the individual was less
than three years older than the other person and the lack of consent was due solely to the age of the other person
(ORS 163.345). Senate Bill 1540-MRB modifies the mandatory reporting law for children by excluding from the
definition of "abuse" consensual sexual contact between teenagers over the age of 14 and under the age of 21,
unless there is a difference of three or more years in age.

Senate Bill 101, passed during the 2017 legislative session, made changes to child abuse investigations conducted by
DHS and law enforcement agencies on school premises. Senate Bill 1540-MRB clarifies the authority DHS and law
enforcement agencies have to conduct child abuse investigations on school premises. The measure requires school
staff members to cooperate with investigations by allowing DHS or the law enforcement agency conducting the
investigation access to the child and a private space to interview the child. Senate Bill 1540-MRB also prohibits school
administrators and staff from notifying any person other than DHS, law enforcement, and school employees
necessary to enable the investigation. The measure additionally clarifies that information obtained during the
investigation is not part of the child's school record.

Oregon Health Authority has received complaints of abuse occurring within residential treatment programs but is
unable to investigate specific abuse allegations and only able to examine complaints as licensing violations. Adults
receiving treatment for severe and persistent mental health illnesses and adults receiving treatment for substance
use disorders lack protections under Oregon law regarding abuse reporting for adults with mental illness or
development disabilities. Senate Bill 1540-MRB includes adults with persistent and severe mental illnesses and adults
with substance use disorders who are receiving services or treatment within the definition of "adult" for the purpose
of mandatory abuse reporting and investigations. Senate Bill 1540-MRB also clarifies the definition of "sexual abuse"
to include any sexual contact between a recipient of mental health or substance use disorder treatment and the
provider of the treatment.
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