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February 23, 2018 

The Honorable Chair Barker, Vice-Chair Olson and Vice-Chair Williamson 
HOUSE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE 
Oregon State Capitol 
Salem, OR 97310 

RE: SB 1538 

Dear Chair Barker, Vice-Chair Olson, Vice-Chair Williamson, and members of the 
Committee 

My name is Carl Myers. I am the Presiding Municipal Court Judge for the Cities 
of Keizer and Jefferson. I appear today on behalf of the Oregon Municipal Judges 
Association and the Oregon Justice of the Peace Association for whom I serve as 
legislative consultant. 

My colleagues at the local court level and I handle a significant portion of the 
cases involving possession, use or abuse of alcohol or cannabis by persons under the 
age of 21 years, but not younger than 18 years and subject to juvenile court jurisdiction. 
Currently, we are required to suspend the license of those defendants convicted of 
alcohol and marijuana use or possession. We find that mandatory suspension 
inappropriate in many such cases. 

SB 1538A removes the mandatory suspension to make the suspension 
discretionary with the court. We believe that to be helpful in managing those cases. 
However, the bill (See page 15 of the A engrossed Bill, beginning on line 39) does not 
now allow the court to suspend a convicted person’s license unless the offense involved 
the operation of a motor vehicle or the person was previously subject to a formal 
accountability agreement (FFA) out of a juvenile court for a same offense. It is important 
to recognize that Justice Courts and Municipal Courts will not know if the person has 
entered into an FFA as those are sealed juvenile records. So we are forced to deal with 
those cases as first-time convictions. 

We support the proposed -11 amendment to SB 1538 because it will allow our 
courts to get better compliance for first time marijuana or alcohol users, particularly 
those persons being convicted for the first time and the offense does not involve use of 



February 23, 2018 
Page 2 

a motor vehicle, which is the situation in many of our cases of this type. Without the 
threat of a license suspension many young people have no desire to go through any 
evaluation or treatment program. 

I have attached a list of comments from our judges about the importance of 
retaining the ability to suspend licenses in all drug and alcohol cases involving 18, 19 
and 20 year old offenders. We will not suspend in all cases. In most cases, just the 
threat of license suspension is sufficient to get the attention of the young person. 

If you have any questions, please contact me. 

Sincerely, 

A. Carl Myers 
OMJA/OJPA 
Legislative Consultant 

ACM/prm 
Attachment 
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SB 1538:  Section 26 (3) 

Allow judges to retain discretion to suspend driving privileges for ages 18-20 when 
convicted of MIP Marijuana or MIP Alcohol: 

It is simple: It is illegal to use/possess alcohol or marijuana under 21. 

By softening the law and lowering our standards, we are condoning the epidemic of drug and alcohol abuse. 

This is a war we must fight starting with our youth…if judicial power to modify behavior is taken away, we are allowing 
the epidemic to get further out of hand. 

Allow an impact on the first offense to prevent second offenses. 

Change thinking and behavior about drugs and alcohol the first time a violation is committed. 

It is our responsibility to teach young people the difference between right and wrong. 

The consequence of suspending driving privileges works as a teaching tool. 

There is a methamphetamine/heroin epidemic nationwide. 

Many drug addicts will tell you the start of their drug use was smoking pot regularly at a young age, never dealing 
with real life problems while their brains were still developing 

Many alcoholics will tell you they started drinking in their early teens. 

Reinforce driving is a privilege. 

The driver’s license suspension makes a big impact on 18-20 year olds who are learning adult responsibilities. 

DMV allows hardship licenses during the 90 day suspension period for a first offense. 

Judges are a good source to guide 18-20 year olds into making good decisions. 

Even if cited as a violator on foot, there will be a car close by: 

Cars and substances do not mix. Personal injury and death often result. 

Once substances are consumed, violators lose the ability to make good decisions and drive causing unintended 
results, or 

Violators get into a car as a passenger with an intoxicated driver and become an unintended victim. 

Eliminating the discretionary license suspension eliminates judges’ ability to address underlying substance abuse 
issues on a case by case basis and reduces judges’ teachable moments. 

If the object is to effect change in behavior, the driving privilege suspension is by far the most effective tool to effect 
that change for 18 to 20 year olds.  

Waiting until the 2nd or subsequent conviction is waiting too long to make a change. 

Our counties are being buried alive in the consequences of rampant and nearly incurable substance abuse. Why 
would we not want to retain the most effective tool available for changing behavior in young adults—while we 
can? 

If we cannot be effective at changing patterns of behavior upon the very first conviction, we are almost surely 
guaranteed more second offenses, more youth with continued substance abuse issues, and more chronic 
substance abusers. 

If we are at all cognizant of the epidemic of substance abuse, the devastation it is causing, and the challenges and 
cost of trying to treat addictions after the fact, why would we not keep any means by which we could affect a 
level of prevention? 


