

February 23, 2018

- TO: Representative Mitch Greenlick, Chair Members of House Healthcare Committee
- FR: Kate Ropp, MD, President Oregon Society of Anesthesiologists Sabrina Riggs, Lobbyist, Oregon Society of Anesthesiologists sabrina@daltonadvocacy.com

RE: Support SB 1549A, -A8 Amendments

Thank you for the opportunity to submit testimony on SB 1549A on behalf of The Oregon Society of Anesthesiologists (OSA), which is a professional association dedicated to promoting the highest level of safety and value for our patients and the highest quality of anesthesia care in Oregon through access to physicians in the medical specialty of anesthesiology.

The Oregon Society of Anthologists is supportive of the bill as currently written, particularly of Sections 4-7 which house the balance billing agreement, and of the -A8 amendments which simply remove the mandate that DCBS consults with the licensing boards.

As you may be aware, the OSA was an active participant in the interim workgroup that was convened after the passage of HB 2339A last year. Following many hours of workgroup meetings and subsequent negotiations, we were able to reach a delicate consensus on out-of-network reimbursement requirements. This agreement is contained in the current version of the bill, and states that an out-of-network physician who is banned from balance billing a patient will be reimbursed at 100% of the median in-network commercial amount, as found in the 2015 All Payers All Claims, and adjusted for CPI-U inflation annually.

While we have always been supportive of the patient protections that a balance billing ban offers, it was very difficult for our physicians to reach the agreement specific to a reimbursement methodology. To do so, we had to make several fairly severe concessions. Nevertheless, an agreement, though not ideal, was reached that we believe protects physicians, networks, and most importantly, patients.

The OSA respectfully urges the committee to adopt the -A8 amendments and move the bill to the floor.